Chevron Left
Вернуться к The Technology of Music Production

Отзывы учащихся о курсе The Technology of Music Production от партнера Музыкальный колледж Беркли

4.8
Оценки: 447
Рецензии: 133

О курсе

Learn about the music production process—including recording, editing, and mixing—and the tools available to you to create contemporary music on your computer. With the recent introduction of high-quality-low-cost software and hardware, the tools of music production are now available to the masses. Albums are made in bedrooms as well as studios. On the surface this is liberating. Anyone can make an album for the low cost of a couple pieces of gear and a software package. But, if you dig deeper, you will find that it is not so easy. Producing music requires knowledge, dedication, and creativity. Knowledge is where this course comes in. No matter what kind of music you are making, there is a large set of tools that you will need to use. Each lesson of this course will demonstrate a different set of music production tools, loosely following along the music production process of recording, editing, and mixing. We will start with some background on the nature of sound and how we perceive it. We will then examine the components necessary to record audio into a computer, so that you understand the devices that sound must travel through in a music production process. Once recorded, sound must be organized along a timeline, a process known as editing. It allows us to give the impression of perfect performances and create many of the sounds we hear in contemporary music. The contemporary editing tool is the Digital Audio Workstation (DAW), a piece of software that stores and organizes all the assets of a musical project. We will focus on the editing tools that are essential in contemporary music production and that all DAWs provide. After editing, sounds must be combined or mixed together, so we look to the mixing board—a very creative place if you know how to use it. We will explore the basic functionality of both hardware and software mixing boards, including volume, pan, mute, solo, busses, inserts, sends, and submixes. The mixing process, however, includes more tools than the mixing board provides on its own. Sound must also be processed, modified from its recorded state to fit the context of the music. We will look at compression, equalization, and delay, and examine the many audio effects that are offshoots of these devices and how they are used in a musical context. In the end, the music production process relies on your creativity. Creativity is a product of the mind and will stay there, unexpressed, until the right tools are used in the right way to share it with the world. If you have an idea in your head, it will take numerous steps, each with an important tool, to reach your audience. You bring the dedication and creativity, and this course will bring you the knowledge to make that happen....

Лучшие рецензии

PV

Jun 26, 2017

WOW, Awesome course Loudon! I'm learning lots of stuff I never knew, very much in depth and it takes me to the source of things I already knew but ignored where they generated from. Love it!

JS

Feb 26, 2019

The absolute perfect course for beginner producers who want to learn the basics and fundamentals of the tech involved in contemporary productions. Highly highly recommend.

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 132 отзывов о курсе The Technology of Music Production

автор: Zachary M

Oct 19, 2016

This is the course to take if you don't know what phantom power is, how attack on a compressor works, or what a high-pass filter does. It gives a solid overview on all the major recording mixing components, and explains why you'd use them, and shows you examples of how.

автор: Matteo T

Jan 11, 2017

I would like to thank Coursera, Berklee and Mr. Loudon Stearns for this really informative course on the technology of music production. I enjoyed the course a lot and I learned a ton of things about the fundamentals of sound, of the mixing process and on synthesis. Highly recommended!

автор: Matthew A

Feb 23, 2017

This is rich, fully packed with the exact knowledge needed to succeed in music industry.

автор: LeAttol ( E L

Aug 23, 2017

Loudon Stearns at First Impression Seems like a person Rushing You through a course. But In Contrast; He's a very hard Teacher to Please. Which is good because You Learn More. I've Learned a lot. ThankYou

автор: David O

Jul 13, 2017

This was an amazing course. Totally loved the way Loudon delivered it. I will definitely go back and re-do some of the material that was definitely more in-depth.

автор: Steven S

Dec 12, 2017

I was able to learn technical concepts such as filters and compressors and be challenged by very specific quizzes! I liked being able to showcase beats in the class and see how classmates reviewed concepts as well. Nice!

автор: Purnima S

Oct 11, 2017

Amazing course for absolute beginners......Loudon is the perfect teacher

автор: Roshan K

Nov 15, 2017

It was an eye opening course. Thank You!

автор: scott f

Feb 18, 2018

excellent class learned alot

автор: Daniel W

Jan 11, 2018

From the start it's all the main points you need and have to know. Coursera & Berklee have taken what usually costs hundreds of thousands of dollars and years to accomplish and gave the rest of us that same chance. This class is absolutely killer!

автор: Marc

Apr 14, 2017

This is everything I've ever dreamed of

This course is all you need to listen to song mixes and be able to replicate everything you hear in a DAW, if you can listen closely enough

Highly recommend

автор: Дмитрий М

Sep 18, 2017

Thank you Loudon for the company and for the hard work preparing and shooting this course. Hope to see ya in person one day.

автор: Pedro J R D

Jan 05, 2018

I loved this course, it touched all the key areas of music production

автор: Justin E

Aug 23, 2017

Very Good!It‘s so helpful for me!

автор: Dan C

Jul 07, 2018

This is a great course! Loudon is a great teacher and speaker. He has great pacing in his lessons. Ton's of great information packed into this one course! I also really like the idea of the assignments making us teach a topic back to the class. It is a great way to master a topic.

автор: James D

Feb 23, 2018

Loudon is awesome - very thorough and clear, and enthusiastic!

автор: Kumar G M

Oct 21, 2017

Yup a 5 star course . It teaches you from A2Z I mean from basics to advance . Definitely give it try even if you have experience of 4 yrs .

автор: Patricia C V

Jun 26, 2017

WOW, Awesome course Loudon! I'm learning lots of stuff I never knew, very much in depth and it takes me to the source of things I already knew but ignored where they generated from. Love it!

автор: Fernando A V M

Oct 18, 2017

Definitivamente uno de los mejores cursos online.

автор: Ковальчук И И

Apr 11, 2018

For those who want to understand the basics of sound movement in the environment and digital media.

For those who want to understand how the DAW system is arranged.

For those who just started working in sequencers.

For a beginner musician who wants to write quality music.

The course is very huge, but everything is explained very well.

There was never a misunderstanding of the material, everything was always chewed up to the smallest detail.

If something is not clear, there are comrades with topics on the forums.

For me, this course has removed all fears and I look at my software and all the equipment that I have.

I do not have a job of English, but despite this, even with Google translator, everything is very clear.

Now it is clear how this can be used, and most importantly, understanding what and when it will be appropriate, how to make the sound cleaner, more pleasant and atmospheric.

Many thanks to the team for the work done!

автор: Hanna K

Apr 10, 2017

very informative. I really liked this lecture series.

автор: Vinicius C

Aug 21, 2017

Really gave me tools to understand and express myself in digital music production.

автор: Fran

Jan 22, 2018

WOW Course!!!

автор: Jon B

May 20, 2018

Good teacher =)

автор: Juan C M E

Feb 01, 2018

¡WONDERFUL!