Chevron Left
Вернуться к The Technology of Music Production

Отзывы учащихся о курсе The Technology of Music Production от партнера Музыкальный колледж Беркли

4.8
Оценки: 448
Рецензии: 133

О курсе

Learn about the music production process—including recording, editing, and mixing—and the tools available to you to create contemporary music on your computer. With the recent introduction of high-quality-low-cost software and hardware, the tools of music production are now available to the masses. Albums are made in bedrooms as well as studios. On the surface this is liberating. Anyone can make an album for the low cost of a couple pieces of gear and a software package. But, if you dig deeper, you will find that it is not so easy. Producing music requires knowledge, dedication, and creativity. Knowledge is where this course comes in. No matter what kind of music you are making, there is a large set of tools that you will need to use. Each lesson of this course will demonstrate a different set of music production tools, loosely following along the music production process of recording, editing, and mixing. We will start with some background on the nature of sound and how we perceive it. We will then examine the components necessary to record audio into a computer, so that you understand the devices that sound must travel through in a music production process. Once recorded, sound must be organized along a timeline, a process known as editing. It allows us to give the impression of perfect performances and create many of the sounds we hear in contemporary music. The contemporary editing tool is the Digital Audio Workstation (DAW), a piece of software that stores and organizes all the assets of a musical project. We will focus on the editing tools that are essential in contemporary music production and that all DAWs provide. After editing, sounds must be combined or mixed together, so we look to the mixing board—a very creative place if you know how to use it. We will explore the basic functionality of both hardware and software mixing boards, including volume, pan, mute, solo, busses, inserts, sends, and submixes. The mixing process, however, includes more tools than the mixing board provides on its own. Sound must also be processed, modified from its recorded state to fit the context of the music. We will look at compression, equalization, and delay, and examine the many audio effects that are offshoots of these devices and how they are used in a musical context. In the end, the music production process relies on your creativity. Creativity is a product of the mind and will stay there, unexpressed, until the right tools are used in the right way to share it with the world. If you have an idea in your head, it will take numerous steps, each with an important tool, to reach your audience. You bring the dedication and creativity, and this course will bring you the knowledge to make that happen....

Лучшие рецензии

PV

Jun 26, 2017

WOW, Awesome course Loudon! I'm learning lots of stuff I never knew, very much in depth and it takes me to the source of things I already knew but ignored where they generated from. Love it!

JS

Feb 26, 2019

The absolute perfect course for beginner producers who want to learn the basics and fundamentals of the tech involved in contemporary productions. Highly highly recommend.

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 132 отзывов о курсе The Technology of Music Production

автор: Paul M

May 04, 2017

Excellent course. Lots of information and very fast paced. The instructor is very experienced and knows what he is talking about.

автор: Gabriel C

Jun 30, 2017

This course is incredible. It really brings the student much closer to a good headstart by teaching the fundamental information about the DAW and the fundaments of sound, so that a student doesn't get lost like it often happens to beginners who go start by downloading a DAW and watching a couple of punctual youtube videos. I recommend it to EVERY beginner.

автор: Yuriy G

Jun 12, 2017

The best classes till now. Very interesting and good teacher. Thank you very much

автор: Luisa A

Oct 05, 2016

This is probably one of the best courses I have ever taken. Although time was a limiting factor, a broad range of essential topics was covered thoroughly (given the time), and I really feel that I learnt a lot about hardware, software, sound engineering, and production skills. I also learnt a lot of terminology, which I was finding very confusing during my efforts to teach myself, and feel like I had a good foundation upon which to continue my learning and improve my skills.

автор: Albert M

Jul 12, 2016

Addicted to it. Applies to a wide range (from begginers to advanced users) and the interaction with other students is great in the forums.

автор: Iordanis / Ι Σ

Apr 25, 2017

Great course ! It was very helpful !

автор: Yousuf N

Jan 25, 2018

Amazing step forward in the field.

автор: Andrea b

Apr 06, 2018

Mr Stearns was awesome!

автор: 王維煜

Nov 12, 2016

excellent teaching, thanks!

автор: Vasil Z

Nov 03, 2017

The amount and quality of information and learning included in this course is something that no can afford to lose. Very recommended.

автор: Emma R ( P

Feb 02, 2018

Amazingly helpful and demonstrated in a no nonsense methodical set of online lectures. Excellent.

автор: CARLOS W A

Apr 02, 2018

It is a wonderful course. The instructor has a complete understanding of all the topics and a fluid way of transmitting the knowledge. I learned a lot about Technology and clarified doubts about what I already knew. Thank you very much!!

автор: Caron Y

Oct 28, 2016

Excellent, very clear and useful. Thank you a lot Loudon.

автор: Pablo S L B

Jun 21, 2017

It´s fantastic. It teaches you a lot of technical stuff that will help you if you´re starting. Loudon also is quite communicative and explains most of the things quite clearly. I really love it.

автор: Juanjo R C

Jun 30, 2018

Sin duda, es un pedazo de curso, bien documentado y con explicaciones perfectas.

автор: Jimmy T

Oct 04, 2016

really awesome!

автор: Benjamin H

Nov 16, 2017

This was a great course. I really liked that the material was presented at a conceptual level instead of just being a walk through of how to get a particular pieces of software to do x, y, or z (the next course in the Music Production specialization does that). The presentations as projects were a very good idea since just watching the lectures, though informative, don't require me to engage deeply with the material. The presentation projects meant I really needed to learn a topic but without requiring that I be producing a particular track.

автор: Erick H

Jan 04, 2018

what an awesome professor, valuable information.

thank you guys

автор: Diego F E

Aug 28, 2016

Increidble teacher and teaching. This course is absolutely gold!

автор: Gabriel M P

Oct 30, 2016

Very clear, and easy to understand. I really loved.

автор: Yang H

Sep 11, 2016

This course is great! As a beginner interested in music production, this course taught me many basics that I had no opportunity to learn! I gained a basic understanding of music production without paying a single dollar! Thank you cousera and Berklee for offering the opportunity! I recommended this course to my friend and any one interested in music should definitely try this course.

автор: Félix M

Sep 08, 2016

This course is amazing since it teaches you a lot of useful techniques that can be used in the most popular DAWs. It totally changes the way you perceive sound.

автор: Juan C E D

Jul 24, 2017

Absolutely fantastic content and interaction, it helped me a lot since I was new to editing and mixing process.

автор: Christian S

Jul 29, 2016

Extremely informative. Definitely going to pay for the certificate

автор: Matten B

Sep 26, 2017

excellent course