Chevron Left
Вернуться к The Technology of Music Production

Отзывы учащихся о курсе The Technology of Music Production от партнера Музыкальный колледж Беркли

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 843
Рецензии: 272

О курсе

Learn about the music production process—including recording, editing, and mixing—and the tools available to you to create contemporary music on your computer. With the recent introduction of high-quality-low-cost software and hardware, the tools of music production are now available to the masses. Albums are made in bedrooms as well as studios. On the surface this is liberating. Anyone can make an album for the low cost of a couple pieces of gear and a software package. But, if you dig deeper, you will find that it is not so easy. Producing music requires knowledge, dedication, and creativity. Knowledge is where this course comes in. No matter what kind of music you are making, there is a large set of tools that you will need to use. Each lesson of this course will demonstrate a different set of music production tools, loosely following along the music production process of recording, editing, and mixing. We will start with some background on the nature of sound and how we perceive it. We will then examine the components necessary to record audio into a computer, so that you understand the devices that sound must travel through in a music production process. Once recorded, sound must be organized along a timeline, a process known as editing. It allows us to give the impression of perfect performances and create many of the sounds we hear in contemporary music. The contemporary editing tool is the Digital Audio Workstation (DAW), a piece of software that stores and organizes all the assets of a musical project. We will focus on the editing tools that are essential in contemporary music production and that all DAWs provide. After editing, sounds must be combined or mixed together, so we look to the mixing board—a very creative place if you know how to use it. We will explore the basic functionality of both hardware and software mixing boards, including volume, pan, mute, solo, busses, inserts, sends, and submixes. The mixing process, however, includes more tools than the mixing board provides on its own. Sound must also be processed, modified from its recorded state to fit the context of the music. We will look at compression, equalization, and delay, and examine the many audio effects that are offshoots of these devices and how they are used in a musical context. In the end, the music production process relies on your creativity. Creativity is a product of the mind and will stay there, unexpressed, until the right tools are used in the right way to share it with the world. If you have an idea in your head, it will take numerous steps, each with an important tool, to reach your audience. You bring the dedication and creativity, and this course will bring you the knowledge to make that happen....

Лучшие рецензии

JJ
7 февр. 2021 г.

This course gave me a working knowledge of the many parameters of a DAW. I really have a base knowledge to continue my studies and not get frustrated with mental blocks in navigation of the software.

PV
25 июня 2017 г.

WOW, Awesome course Loudon! I'm learning lots of stuff I never knew, very much in depth and it takes me to the source of things I already knew but ignored where they generated from. Love it!

Фильтр по:

251–271 из 271 отзывов о курсе The Technology of Music Production

автор: helloNickyLouis

22 авг. 2016 г.

This is a great introduction to the fundamentals of music production, while you won't end up as a pro after completing this course, you'll have basic knowledge to work your way up!

автор: Hielmi A

6 июня 2017 г.

Overall I felt this to be an excellent course, covering many aspects of Music Technology, in sufficient detail for students to gain a basic all round understanding of the subject.

автор: Austin W

18 дек. 2018 г.

A well established & detailed class about music tech its very much opened my mind to the DAW and how it can apply for my own sound design. :^J

автор: Francis G

8 мар. 2018 г.

Great foundational course. Lectures and content well curated and presented. Coursework is lacking imagination somewhat

автор: EMMANUEL O T

9 мар. 2021 г.

Very great course , will recommend it to everybody who wants to learn more about music production tech.

автор: Gustavo D d A

17 сент. 2020 г.

An excellent course. Just need to talk a little bit about mastering to be absolutely perfect. Congrats

автор: aditya

18 июля 2020 г.

A great and detailed explanation of the basics of sound and instruments required for music production.

автор: Dhruv D

20 мая 2017 г.

Great stuff! But can go a bit more into depth about music production itself.

автор: Eugene

29 апр. 2019 г.

Presentations are annoying. Information is wonderful.

автор: JUAN S L D

17 окт. 2018 г.

Good course. Lack of help in the discussion Forums.

автор: Deborah

4 дек. 2016 г.

i guess it was great - but so technical and hard!!!

автор: Daniel S

5 дек. 2018 г.

Definitely lots of helpful material!

автор: James c

24 июля 2020 г.

Highly Recommended

автор: Obed Á

9 нояб. 2020 г.

very interesting,

автор: Wellington J

15 янв. 2017 г.

Vey informative

автор: Sarang A

12 авг. 2020 г.

Amazing course

автор: Jairo B

28 мар. 2017 г.

good course!!!

автор: AKANKSHYA P

19 мая 2021 г.

It was a quite beautiful journey full of experiences for learning new things grasping the knowledge and concepts from the instructor and completing and submitting the assignments on time.

автор: Francisco T O C

21 мая 2020 г.

It is a great course, broad and practical at the same time. You might have some trouble getting the key concepts out form the instructor´s speech, but the overall course is great.

автор: Alexandr B

20 окт. 2020 г.

Thought it would be deeper and more interesting things or hints, however it's just a technical course, to understand the basis of stuff i use everyday :)

автор: Michael G

14 янв. 2021 г.

I believe that this was an extremely informative course, but the presenter could have spoken less than he did. I felt he was too verbose.

Mr. Stearns would be very helpful in a classroom; he speaks at length about these concepts, and he would definitely benefit from the in-person aspect of these lessons. However, his lessons often would include him talking at length about these concepts, but never really *saying* anything. I would find myself reading the transcript rather than the video, because there was no visual stimulation or practical examples for these lessons.

If anything, I believe a course like this would much benefit from more real-world examples. Maybe having more examples in a DAW, or plugging in a guitar and showing how each effect changes the instrument's tone rather than just showing a pre-recorded song and saying "This thing does this thing".

Despite all of the negativity I wrote on this review, however, this course really did help me pursue my passion for music. I did learn a lot about audio design, but it took me longer than I expected I did. If I ever came off as rude during this review, please forgive me. It was not my intention.