Chevron Left
Вернуться к The Technology of Music Production

Отзывы учащихся о курсе The Technology of Music Production от партнера Музыкальный колледж Беркли

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 637
Рецензии: 198

О курсе

Learn about the music production process—including recording, editing, and mixing—and the tools available to you to create contemporary music on your computer. With the recent introduction of high-quality-low-cost software and hardware, the tools of music production are now available to the masses. Albums are made in bedrooms as well as studios. On the surface this is liberating. Anyone can make an album for the low cost of a couple pieces of gear and a software package. But, if you dig deeper, you will find that it is not so easy. Producing music requires knowledge, dedication, and creativity. Knowledge is where this course comes in. No matter what kind of music you are making, there is a large set of tools that you will need to use. Each lesson of this course will demonstrate a different set of music production tools, loosely following along the music production process of recording, editing, and mixing. We will start with some background on the nature of sound and how we perceive it. We will then examine the components necessary to record audio into a computer, so that you understand the devices that sound must travel through in a music production process. Once recorded, sound must be organized along a timeline, a process known as editing. It allows us to give the impression of perfect performances and create many of the sounds we hear in contemporary music. The contemporary editing tool is the Digital Audio Workstation (DAW), a piece of software that stores and organizes all the assets of a musical project. We will focus on the editing tools that are essential in contemporary music production and that all DAWs provide. After editing, sounds must be combined or mixed together, so we look to the mixing board—a very creative place if you know how to use it. We will explore the basic functionality of both hardware and software mixing boards, including volume, pan, mute, solo, busses, inserts, sends, and submixes. The mixing process, however, includes more tools than the mixing board provides on its own. Sound must also be processed, modified from its recorded state to fit the context of the music. We will look at compression, equalization, and delay, and examine the many audio effects that are offshoots of these devices and how they are used in a musical context. In the end, the music production process relies on your creativity. Creativity is a product of the mind and will stay there, unexpressed, until the right tools are used in the right way to share it with the world. If you have an idea in your head, it will take numerous steps, each with an important tool, to reach your audience. You bring the dedication and creativity, and this course will bring you the knowledge to make that happen....

Лучшие рецензии

PV

Jun 26, 2017

WOW, Awesome course Loudon! I'm learning lots of stuff I never knew, very much in depth and it takes me to the source of things I already knew but ignored where they generated from. Love it!

RR

May 27, 2020

When you overpass the barrier and fear of a field is because you have a good teacher behind.\n\nLoudon makes the difference. He is clear and knowledgeable when he explains.\n\nThanks

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 197 отзывов о курсе The Technology of Music Production

автор: Ivonne C

Oct 31, 2016

It is a really good course that covers the basics of music production and a lot of the lessons involve a lot of further practice to learn them thoroughly. The material is something that you can keep coming back to until you understand how to apply it to your work.

автор: Daniel W

Jan 11, 2018

From the start it's all the main points you need and have to know. Coursera & Berklee have taken what usually costs hundreds of thousands of dollars and years to accomplish and gave the rest of us that same chance. This class is absolutely killer!

автор: Diego B

Sep 05, 2019

I'm just finishing week 2, and I can see this is what I was missing to advance in my production.

Covering from the simplest hardware, passing thourgh all of the relevant configurations of DAW software, this completes all the pieces I was missing.

автор: Carlos A

Apr 02, 2018

It is a wonderful course. The instructor has a complete understanding of all the topics and a fluid way of transmitting the knowledge. I learned a lot about Technology and clarified doubts about what I already knew. Thank you very much!!

автор: Todd C

Jan 09, 2017

This course is packed with information about the basics of many of the musical elements you need to consider when producing. I think even experts would learn a thing or two from this course because it covers such a wide range of topics.

автор: Amena F

Feb 14, 2018

Super course, very informative, dives deep into lots of techniques and the science behind them to give a full understanding of the concepts - perfect for people starting out and also those with some experience in music production.

автор: Carolyna L (

Aug 23, 2018

Great course! Fabulous instruction. Taught in such detail and in a way that is easily understood. Thank you for demystifying much of what I thought I'd need a house engineer to assist me with for all time.

Cheers,

Carolyna Lovely

автор: Steven S

Dec 12, 2017

I was able to learn technical concepts such as filters and compressors and be challenged by very specific quizzes! I liked being able to showcase beats in the class and see how classmates reviewed concepts as well. Nice!

автор: Jaison C

Feb 19, 2020

Loudin is very easy to follow, he seems naturally conversational so it seems less daunting to approach so much information. There is enough in this one course to get someone off to a great start in making music.

автор: Katie S

Jun 01, 2020

Loved this class! Filled up my notebook from all the information that was given in this course! Amazing class I've finished this 6 week class in less than 2 weeks I wanted to learn more about Music Production.

автор: LeAttol ( E L

Aug 23, 2017

Loudon Stearns at First Impression Seems like a person Rushing You through a course. But In Contrast; He's a very hard Teacher to Please. Which is good because You Learn More. I've Learned a lot. ThankYou

автор: Pablo S L B

Jun 21, 2017

It´s fantastic. It teaches you a lot of technical stuff that will help you if you´re starting. Loudon also is quite communicative and explains most of the things quite clearly. I really love it.

автор: Marc

Apr 14, 2017

This is everything I've ever dreamed of

This course is all you need to listen to song mixes and be able to replicate everything you hear in a DAW, if you can listen closely enough

Highly recommend

автор: Restrepo

May 27, 2020

When you overpass the barrier and fear of a field is because you have a good teacher behind.

Loudon makes the difference. He is clear and knowledgeable when he explains.

Thanks

автор: AFONSO F G L R

May 01, 2020

The course has good material and a lot of information for 6 weeks. That's a good moment for review if you already know about the subjects, or introduce for beginners.

автор: David O

Jul 13, 2017

This was an amazing course. Totally loved the way Loudon delivered it. I will definitely go back and re-do some of the material that was definitely more in-depth.

автор: Anyela P B

Apr 10, 2020

This course is indeed the best introduction to the world of music production you can have !! It helped me a lot to improve and take my music to the next level !

автор: Nihan G

Nov 16, 2017

Very intensive and detailed course about technology. You will not find a how to's but you will definitely have a new understanding of sound and the terminology.

автор: Félix M

Sep 08, 2016

This course is amazing since it teaches you a lot of useful techniques that can be used in the most popular DAWs. It totally changes the way you perceive sound.

автор: Maria d L L A

May 01, 2017

Overall a great course to be introduce to music production! The teacher is great and it covers a lot of material in a very short time. I totally recommend it!

автор: Ricardo P O

May 30, 2018

One of the best courses that I have taken. By the end, it gets a little bit complicated about Synthesis of Sound but the knowledge you learn is excellent.

автор: Kumar G M

Oct 21, 2017

Yup a 5 star course . It teaches you from A2Z I mean from basics to advance . Definitely give it try even if you have experience of 4 yrs .

автор: Albert M

Jul 12, 2016

Addicted to it. Applies to a wide range (from begginers to advanced users) and the interaction with other students is great in the forums.

автор: Vasil Z

Nov 03, 2017

The amount and quality of information and learning included in this course is something that no can afford to lose. Very recommended.

автор: Paul M

May 04, 2017

Excellent course. Lots of information and very fast paced. The instructor is very experienced and knows what he is talking about.