Chevron Left
Вернуться к The Technology of Music Production

Отзывы учащихся о курсе The Technology of Music Production от партнера Музыкальный колледж Беркли

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 810
Рецензии: 259

О курсе

Learn about the music production process—including recording, editing, and mixing—and the tools available to you to create contemporary music on your computer. With the recent introduction of high-quality-low-cost software and hardware, the tools of music production are now available to the masses. Albums are made in bedrooms as well as studios. On the surface this is liberating. Anyone can make an album for the low cost of a couple pieces of gear and a software package. But, if you dig deeper, you will find that it is not so easy. Producing music requires knowledge, dedication, and creativity. Knowledge is where this course comes in. No matter what kind of music you are making, there is a large set of tools that you will need to use. Each lesson of this course will demonstrate a different set of music production tools, loosely following along the music production process of recording, editing, and mixing. We will start with some background on the nature of sound and how we perceive it. We will then examine the components necessary to record audio into a computer, so that you understand the devices that sound must travel through in a music production process. Once recorded, sound must be organized along a timeline, a process known as editing. It allows us to give the impression of perfect performances and create many of the sounds we hear in contemporary music. The contemporary editing tool is the Digital Audio Workstation (DAW), a piece of software that stores and organizes all the assets of a musical project. We will focus on the editing tools that are essential in contemporary music production and that all DAWs provide. After editing, sounds must be combined or mixed together, so we look to the mixing board—a very creative place if you know how to use it. We will explore the basic functionality of both hardware and software mixing boards, including volume, pan, mute, solo, busses, inserts, sends, and submixes. The mixing process, however, includes more tools than the mixing board provides on its own. Sound must also be processed, modified from its recorded state to fit the context of the music. We will look at compression, equalization, and delay, and examine the many audio effects that are offshoots of these devices and how they are used in a musical context. In the end, the music production process relies on your creativity. Creativity is a product of the mind and will stay there, unexpressed, until the right tools are used in the right way to share it with the world. If you have an idea in your head, it will take numerous steps, each with an important tool, to reach your audience. You bring the dedication and creativity, and this course will bring you the knowledge to make that happen....

Лучшие рецензии

JJ
7 февр. 2021 г.

This course gave me a working knowledge of the many parameters of a DAW. I really have a base knowledge to continue my studies and not get frustrated with mental blocks in navigation of the software.

PV
25 июня 2017 г.

WOW, Awesome course Loudon! I'm learning lots of stuff I never knew, very much in depth and it takes me to the source of things I already knew but ignored where they generated from. Love it!

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 260 отзывов о курсе The Technology of Music Production

автор: Gabriel C

30 июня 2017 г.

This course is incredible. It really brings the student much closer to a good headstart by teaching the fundamental information about the DAW and the fundaments of sound, so that a student doesn't get lost like it often happens to beginners who go start by downloading a DAW and watching a couple of punctual youtube videos. I recommend it to EVERY beginner.

автор: Vedyakova A K

29 июня 2020 г.

It was extremely interesting - to plunge into the world of technology and science related to sound processing. You should have some understanding of how sound recording works before you start this course. However, this course has a lot of additional materials, and you can always ask a question on the topic on the forum.

автор: Tamer S A

14 авг. 2016 г.

amazing..it is the right start for anyone who wants to pursue a career in recording, production, sound engineering..I was lost in many resources earlier, but I always had the feeling that they start from the mid-point..this one felt like starting from scratch..excellent work..thanks Berklee and coursera

автор: Ray C

26 янв. 2021 г.

This is a great course to get started with a deep overview of music production. The six weeks cover a broad range of material, from understanding sound itself to applying these principles in electronic musical contexts. I really feel that I took big steps forward into learning how to make my own music!

автор: Boni Y

18 нояб. 2019 г.

Great course laying out the foundations on the technology of music production. I am really happy to have taken this course and I believe the knowledge provided and suggestions for further research is unparalleled. It is a great start of your development as a music producer. Highly recommended.

автор: Taif I

4 янв. 2020 г.

I really don't know where to start and i want to be brief , but what i am going to say or actually do , is take every course from berklee , right now i'm taking a course in basic music theory.

Thank you Loudon , you are great and you put your heart into this , i enjoyed every video you made .

автор: Santosh D

10 сент. 2020 г.

I studied by myself, but I could still not find the suitable group for study & for discussions. But I am very happy with the result. Though my weakness prevails, there is still a hope that I could find a suitable group so that I don't face any problem in my communication while doing jobs.

автор: Gustavo S d S

29 июля 2020 г.

O curso apresenta conteúdo sobre tecnologia de produção musical, desde ligação de equipamentos, básicos relacionados ao som, até softwares de edição/produção (DAWs). Os testes são interessantes e há material complementar, com atividades de avaliação em grupo (peer assignment). Recomendado!

автор: Matteo T

11 янв. 2017 г.

I would like to thank Coursera, Berklee and Mr. Loudon Stearns for this really informative course on the technology of music production. I enjoyed the course a lot and I learned a ton of things about the fundamentals of sound, of the mixing process and on synthesis. Highly recommended!

автор: Dan C

7 июля 2018 г.

This is a great course! Loudon is a great teacher and speaker. He has great pacing in his lessons. Ton's of great information packed into this one course! I also really like the idea of the assignments making us teach a topic back to the class. It is a great way to master a topic.

автор: Zachary M

19 окт. 2016 г.

This is the course to take if you don't know what phantom power is, how attack on a compressor works, or what a high-pass filter does. It gives a solid overview on all the major recording mixing components, and explains why you'd use them, and shows you examples of how.

автор: Arturo F C F

4 мая 2019 г.

I found the technical info really useful, especially because understanding what's going on physically while recording, gives you a more accurate sense of what needs to be done to improve the settings timing, leaving you with more time of fun instead of frustration.

автор: Ivonne C

31 окт. 2016 г.

It is a really good course that covers the basics of music production and a lot of the lessons involve a lot of further practice to learn them thoroughly. The material is something that you can keep coming back to until you understand how to apply it to your work.

автор: Kecco R

20 июля 2020 г.

A very interesting introduction to the technology of Music Production. Loudon Stearns will guide you very wisely through a very diversified path giving an exhaustive overview talking about from the nature of sound to the final mix in a recording process. Boss!

автор: Daniel W

11 янв. 2018 г.

From the start it's all the main points you need and have to know. Coursera & Berklee have taken what usually costs hundreds of thousands of dollars and years to accomplish and gave the rest of us that same chance. This class is absolutely killer!

автор: Diego B

5 сент. 2019 г.

I'm just finishing week 2, and I can see this is what I was missing to advance in my production.

Covering from the simplest hardware, passing thourgh all of the relevant configurations of DAW software, this completes all the pieces I was missing.

автор: Samuel P K

3 сент. 2020 г.

Loudon Stearns is an excellent teacher and the videos are high quality. This course would probably fill in some knowledge gaps for producers at any level. It does a great job of getting the point across without watering down the material.

автор: Wilfredo A

2 апр. 2018 г.

It is a wonderful course. The instructor has a complete understanding of all the topics and a fluid way of transmitting the knowledge. I learned a lot about Technology and clarified doubts about what I already knew. Thank you very much!!

автор: Todd C

8 янв. 2017 г.

This course is packed with information about the basics of many of the musical elements you need to consider when producing. I think even experts would learn a thing or two from this course because it covers such a wide range of topics.

автор: John F

26 июля 2020 г.

Simply the best recording course online. I’ve watched countless YouTube videos and this just can’t be beat. It puts all the basics together in such a perfect way. I feel prepared to go as far as I want to go with music production now.

автор: Amena F

14 февр. 2018 г.

Super course, very informative, dives deep into lots of techniques and the science behind them to give a full understanding of the concepts - perfect for people starting out and also those with some experience in music production.

автор: Carolyna L (

23 авг. 2018 г.

Great course! Fabulous instruction. Taught in such detail and in a way that is easily understood. Thank you for demystifying much of what I thought I'd need a house engineer to assist me with for all time.

Cheers,

Carolyna Lovely

автор: Steven S

12 дек. 2017 г.

I was able to learn technical concepts such as filters and compressors and be challenged by very specific quizzes! I liked being able to showcase beats in the class and see how classmates reviewed concepts as well. Nice!

автор: Jaison C

18 февр. 2020 г.

Loudin is very easy to follow, he seems naturally conversational so it seems less daunting to approach so much information. There is enough in this one course to get someone off to a great start in making music.

автор: Katie S

1 июня 2020 г.

Loved this class! Filled up my notebook from all the information that was given in this course! Amazing class I've finished this 6 week class in less than 2 weeks I wanted to learn more about Music Production.