Chevron Left
Вернуться к Technical Support Fundamentals

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Technical Support Fundamentals от партнера Google

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 23,467
Рецензии: 5,710

О курсе

This course is the first of a series that aims to prepare you for a role as an entry-level IT Support Specialist. In this course, you’ll be introduced to the world of Information Technology, or IT. You’ll learn about the different facets of Information Technology, like computer hardware, the Internet, computer software, troubleshooting, and customer service. This course covers a wide variety of topics in IT that are designed to give you an overview of what’s to come in this certificate program. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: ● understand how the binary system works ● assemble a computer from scratch ● choose and install an operating system on a computer ● understand what the Internet is, how it works, and the impact it has in the modern world ● learn how applications are created and how they work under the hood of a computer ● utilize common problem-solving methodologies and soft skills in an Information Technology setting...

Лучшие рецензии

DH

Nov 14, 2019

I loved how useful all of the information in this course was. I love how much the instructors really seemed to be so in love with their careers. Its the most fun I've had learning in a very long time.

AH

Oct 04, 2018

Starting from scratch, I feel like I've gained a great basic understanding of IT support. It was informative, and it has motivated me and left me hungry for more. I am pumped to start the next course!

Фильтр по:

4776–4800 из 5,732 отзывов о курсе Technical Support Fundamentals

автор: Jamie L K

Dec 24, 2019

This course was extremely rudimentary in nature, but it's what to be expected from an introductory course. Given that purpose, I think this course would be well-suited for someone who knows nothing beyond casual use of a computer. The labs are really cool and let you get hands-on experience on both Windows and Mac operating systems. Overall, great course content.

The only thing taking away from this course, and the reason for my 4-star review, is a lack of 'diversity thinking' in its design. It's a bit obvious that this course was designed from a cishet male perspective, but if you look past those details, it's not too bad. Just learn the relevant content and press forward. If the designers of this course wanted to improve IT entry for gender minorities, it may behoove them to revise subtle and overt biases in this course.

автор: Rachel M

Apr 20, 2018

This covered a lot of material and was a good introduction. The video quality and content organization was definitely much better than other online courses I've worked on. That being said, the labs were glitchy and some of the evaluations were so basic that I didn't feel like they were actually doing much of anything to test my understanding. I would also recommend adding examples for the peer graded assignment--the responses were all over the place and it's difficult to give an evaluation when there's nothing to use as a baseline.

I'm a little over halfway through the second course in the specialization now and while it's a steep learning curve between the two, I'm enjoying the networking course quite a bit more because I feel more challenged by the content than the interface while I'm doing the evaluations.

автор: Jo A P F

Mar 05, 2018

I learned so much over the last 6 weeks. I recommend that the certification description include information about building a computer. If you want the students to really do this they need to have this information upfront. Please consider offering a package with the components and any interested student has the option of doing this exercise. I believe a breakout group could be created for the students who want to complete this exercise. It connects them as a team and offers them the opportunity to share their information and experience with future students. I have other thoughts on making this type of exercise a robust experience. I look forward to the course module on networking. Thanks You

автор: Jonathan L

Jun 08, 2019

The final lab was a challenge. Not so much the lab itself but accessing it. There is a video you must watch explaining how to access it but, upon trying to enter the lab, it was totally different. Once I figured that out, the lab itself was pretty vague in that they gave you examples THEN asked you to perform tasks. They should tell you right at the beginning that you will be given examples THEN instructions. At first, I didn't get past the examples thinking they wanted me to perform the tasks verbatim. Because of all of the miscommunications, it took me 6 tries (I had to get Coursera to reopen for me).A little bit painful thus only 4 stars.

автор: Irvin T

Oct 03, 2019

This is a very good introductory course. It was a good review for many things I have forgotten through the years and actually sparked an interest in learning things technology I have not felt in some time. I have always been more a self learner so probably will not be pursuing any other Coursera courses in near future but I will keep an eye on what they have to offer as I see and converse with others in the IT field, or who just those who want to be more 'tech savvy'.

I am presently working on exploring Microsoft Access and SharePoint to see if I can develop some things which might make my present job easier for me (and my co-workers).

автор: Hugo E G L

Nov 08, 2019

It has been a pleasant experience, and the information will be, without a doubt, useful. Still, I would recommend paying more attention to the time in which the videos were being recorded. I understand that we are all humans, and as such, we er, but I was quite distracting that many of the points in which the videos stopped were to clarify an error made, and this did not happen in a single video, but multiple ones. On the whole, a good job, but that is something that I have not seen in other courses perhaps, because they would not admit the mistakes, or maybe because they did not make any.

автор: Russell C

Oct 26, 2018

Overall I think this course is amazing. Speaking as someone who has finished a associates degree in computer information systems, I feel like this course does a better job of teaching the same IT knowledge at a fraction of the cost. The only real downside is the lack of extra classes like oral communication and whatever other electives you would normally mix in. I would have given it 5 stars but I ran into some major technical issues with qwiklabs not connected as well as not properly grading assignments but after waiting a few days everything started functioning properly again.

автор: Elias P

Jun 12, 2018

There was some interesting content, and it took things from the ground up. They tried hard to give a personal touch and make a learning community, and give it a personal touch.Coming from intermediate-level experience, I found it frustratingly slow paced, but it states up front that it is a beginner level course. I suppose that that is being rather impatient as I finished it in less than 24 hours. I have high hopes for this sequence. I think that it is well made, and I think that I will really enjoy later courses as it ventures into territory that is more novel to me.

автор: Kathryn G

Jun 02, 2018

Well put together course. Does what it is intended to do. Instructors are professional. I think it would be very useful to have a rewind 5 or 10 second button for the videos. Additionally, for some learners, such as myself, it is easier to have a more reading friendly format for the courses. The transcript is good, but if you only read it and don't watch the videos, you can miss out on some key pictures and diagrams that really clarify the material. Solution I see to this is perhaps having slides or inputting the pictures into the transcript. Overall, fantastic.

автор: Eric H

Oct 02, 2018

I would always have two options for Peer graded assignments, especially if the last assignment for the course is peer graded as I would have loved to continue on in the course while waiting for it to be graded.

two ways this could have been done, one is to allow for continuation of the course while waiting for the peer graded assignment (I think you allow for this but it isn't easily shown), the other one is to allow another option that doesn't require waiting for peers to do it.

overall though, great first course, enjoyed reviewing the fundamentals/basics

автор: Luke L

Apr 29, 2018

The course is interesting and informative, but in some areas lacked in depth instructions that left the user guessing on what to do and how to do it. For a novice user or even someone that's had some use with computers this wouldn't be a problem. This certificate, however, says it is for all people, even those with absolutely no experience with computers. With that in mind, I believe every assignment should clearly be marked with a how to, so even first time users know what they are doing. Very good course so far though and I like it a lot.

автор: Justin K

Sep 28, 2019

I liked everything except the whole social justice angle to many things. I know Google is a very "liberal" organization that is trying to re-engineer society and everything, but come on dude. The one question I had to answer was about a woman being told that the male customer wanted to talk to her male counterpart. You guys want to me to stick up for the woman? Why not just make the customer happy anyway? Isn't the customer always right? It's nobodies job anywhere to correct people or society, except maybe at google.

автор: Charles H

Apr 09, 2018

I think it was a good course overall, I already knew most of the lessons that were taught. Even though I knew most of the lessons before hand I still found these lessons as great refreshers here and there. I also learned some new stuff along the way. The only complaint that I would have is the, instructors or teachers of this course felt very scripted in the way they talked. At some points it got hard to listen to them because the teachers had no emotion it seemed like. Either than that the content was good in this course.

автор: Dale S

Apr 01, 2018

Overall good. The videos could be improved by using less of a pure face-to-face lecture format, and taking advantage of more graphic displays and animations to help the student visualize things. In addition, it would be helpful to slow down through some of the more technical sections, and provide a better context for what the various acronyms mean, and to explain in a little more detail what’s going on. The additional context provides the learner a better way to assimilate the new information in a more useful way.

автор: Richard L W

Jan 28, 2018

Some icons look very similar and can be confusing, for example the Preview and Submit icon for submitting the final Effective Documentation paper, the PBJ sheet. I found it very confusing when the image seems to be the very same one I was just looking at. I would suggest at least change the color of the next icon to something besides the very same blue. I kinda figure some of this may be intentional to help weed out those just playing with the course versus those very serious about learning more than they began with.

автор: Alex M

Mar 12, 2020

I thought the first 5 weeks of the course were very interesting, especially the week 2 and week 3. Week 2 has made me buy a second hand computer so that I can take it apart and week 3 made my download Ubuntu so that I can install Linux on my laptop and learn how to run commands. Week 6 was a little boring for me but only because most of my jobs have been customer based so I had already been in alot of the situations before. There were some great tips for those who haven't been in a customer facing job before.

автор: Christopher J

Mar 19, 2020

The course is straightforward and covers what it promised to cover. It really shows you the basics of IT support and is a good course to take to have a taste of what IT is about and if it is right for you. My only suggestion is to have a final assessment to make sure the material is truly learned and not just something your short term memory stores and then forgets a week later. However, it is also the user's responsibility to make sure they are learning diligently and not like a cramming-college student.

автор: Erika H

Sep 30, 2018

I love this course. It makes everything easy to understand. The only thing that could be better in my opionon, is the coursera / qwiklab integration. No matter how many times I did my labs and followed ALL the steps and the instructions on how to get a grade posted to coursera (including hitting the red end lab button), The grade would not post. I had to contact support to get both labs to post a grade for me. That was resolved very quickly though!! Overall, these courses are awesome for newbies to tech :)

автор: Miroslav P

Dec 05, 2019

Course is well organise, easy to navigate and use. I am not IT professional, just interested in learning IT so I find definitely course interested. I will continue doing the next course but honestly I don 't think that the course will kick off my IT career as it said at the beginning. I am giving 4 stars because I think some questions are very easy and even with option to repeat the quizes as many times as you want. The questions just change order and this is just too easy. Thank you for the knowledge.

автор: Sarah B

Jun 27, 2018

This is a good introductory course to IT. I really enjoyed it. Some of the lessons are presented in a wordy manner. I wish they would focus on what you need to know versus all the extra stuff. There was so much much " but we will learn that later on". The Peer review can be frustrating as there is no instructor. You have to rely that that peer is understanding the information and accurately grading you. If they do not understand the material and give you a bad review, you risk failing the course.

автор: CHRISTIAN M W

Feb 26, 2019

This was good for someone that has no IT knowledge. It gets your feet wet. I didn't find to much of it to be beneficial as I've been working in IT for 3 years but it would be a good starting point. I spent about an hr a day doing it and got the course done in a week. I would recommend google update there videos with some the incinerate things they teach. A Window that pops up correcting what was said shouldn't be there. People pay to use this service. They should get a video that is correct.

автор: Kyle H

Feb 01, 2018

I feel that the quizzes were a bit bare-bones. Also the question interruptions were far too easy to warrant interruption. They would usually say that a certain noun and within seconds of hearing the description of the noun they'd give you the description and ask for the noun. It was somewhat distracting, but maybe it helped me remember it.

Other than that this is definitely a good course for beginners. It outlines all of the basics of computing and its interaction with the outside world.

автор: Nicole S

May 16, 2018

I wish the quizzes were longer with more questions so that I could better gauge how well I'm learning and retaining all the information. I also wish the assignments were a bit more involved. However, I know we're just learning the very basics right now, and am hoping that the following course assignments will be more in-depth. Overall, I think the information is being presented in a way that makes it very easy to understand for even the most novice of computer users. Thank you!

автор: Julius P

Nov 12, 2018

Great Introduction course, but I felt that the section where we learn to build a PC should've been more concise in instructions and other helpful tools/tips when building your own PC. Although part of this course is of course extra curricular and you can access additional tools and information online, I thought it would've been helpful. Also to make the discussion pages more of a mandatory thing, I think it could potentially help students engage and socialize with each others.

автор: Keith H

Feb 05, 2018

I think this course is great for beginners and people that have been in the IT industry. For the beginners it teaches the basic fundamentals. For the people that have been in the IT industry doing a refresher and the section on Customer Service is a great tool to learn the skills. The course is well laid out and easy to understand, There are some areas that need improvement as in grading other work and submitting feed back. Feedback area was hard to see in the Chrome browser.