Chevron Left
Вернуться к Technical Support Fundamentals

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Technical Support Fundamentals от партнера Google

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 51,603
Рецензии: 13,421

О курсе

This course is the first of a series that aims to prepare you for a role as an entry-level IT Support Specialist. In this course, you’ll be introduced to the world of Information Technology, or IT. You’ll learn about the different facets of Information Technology, like computer hardware, the Internet, computer software, troubleshooting, and customer service. This course covers a wide variety of topics in IT that are designed to give you an overview of what’s to come in this certificate program. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: ● understand how the binary system works ● assemble a computer from scratch ● choose and install an operating system on a computer ● understand what the Internet is, how it works, and the impact it has in the modern world ● learn how applications are created and how they work under the hood of a computer ● utilize common problem-solving methodologies and soft skills in an Information Technology setting...

Лучшие рецензии

BM

Jul 31, 2018

I am working in IT and wanted to do a refresher on the fundamentals and this course is really worth it. Good job Google and thank you for an affordable solution to getting my refresher and certificate

AK

Mar 04, 2020

You were such a hit. Thanks for this course and the next five more! On behalf of our entire organization, thanks again for taking the Conference to a whole new level of education and professionalism!!

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 10,000 отзывов о курсе Technical Support Fundamentals

автор: Gordon O

Feb 23, 2019

This course has been fantastic so far and truly proved to go beyond my initial expectations, particularly with how engaging it has been. The videos offer a much-needed break from the monotonous reading of text I am familiar with in other courses and being able to look at a real person and listen to them is an entirely different way to learn that will benefit people of various learning styles. The material is really interesting and to the point, while covering a variety of topics in the field. I especially enjoyed this last Module in Week 6 where we dove into some of the finer points of actually landing a job through resume building and interview prep. This is ultimately what myself and I suspect most of the other students are looking for by taking this course so I found this section to be extremely helpful. I wish I had finished this part before my interview last week! I'm very much looking forward to continuing on to the next course. Can't wait!

автор: Ciro G

Aug 06, 2020

Overall I feel this was a great introduction to the fundamentals of IT. I personally have quite a bit of knowledge growing up tinkering with computers and software and have grown up to become my family and friends on-call IT support, and in some occasions even helping out at work. Having this experience made me cringe a bit at first, since it was very basic stuff that I've grown to take for granted. However, I decided to take a step back and view it from the perspective of someone like my mom who has little to no knowledge of computers and other IT subjects. This made me see the value of the course, and allowed me to push through that initial few weeks. What surprised me is how much I learned myself from the networking and software troubleshooting subjects. This opened my eyes and got me even more excited about entering the world of IT Support. Great job! and great way to end the course with some resume and interview tips and guidance!

автор: Ws B

Aug 20, 2020

Which statement is true about the Internet and the World Wide Web?The Internet is the World Wide Web.The World Wide Web is the only way to access the Internet.The Internet is a way to access the World Wide Web.The World Wide Web is a way to access the Internet.

This question under Networking has 3 answers that I believe to be wrong and the one I chose was labeled wrong.

1 The first states the internet is the www. This is false

2. The second states that you can access the internet through the WWW. The opposite is true and what I chose. WWW is info. Internet is the network

3. The last states the internet is the only way to access the www which is false because you can use Email or messaging. Maybe this was the answer that was supposed to be true but in essence it isn't. perhaps I am confused but this wasn't how the program explains these concepts. Could I get some instruction on what i may be seeing wrong?

автор: Noe K

May 16, 2020

I rediscovered the IT world, I was able to improve values ​​and acquired new skills in the way of analyzing the problem, giving treatment, and above all it reminded me and helped me to understand that the IT world is vast, we don't know everything but that with commitment we arrive at the objectives. Without forgetting that it is not enough to be an excellent professional in the field, but above all you need to know how to take care of, care for the client as new work will come.

Redescobri o mundo da TI, pude melhorar valores e adquiri novas qualodades na forma de analisar o prblema, dar tratamento, bem como acima de tudo lembrou-me e ajudou-me a entender que o mundo da TI é vasto, nao sabemos tudo mas que com empenho chegamos aos objectivos. Sem esquecer que não basta ser um excelente profissional no campo, mas acima de tudo precisa saber cuida, tratar do cliente pois dai advirão os novos trabalhos.

автор: Deleted A

Oct 25, 2018

I took this course twice. The first time I scored a 99% and moved on to the bits and bytes of computer networking. Once in the class, I realized that although these courses are self paced, I did not give myself the time I needed to really learn and absorb the knowledge. So I actually went back and took the fundamentals certification all over again. Now again, moving onto the bits and bytes of computer networking with a stronger foundation. These certs are good for entry level and remedial education for veteran techs. The proverbial 'they' did a great job putting these courses together ... hitting a lot of wickets that are missed in other venues such as skillsoft's A+ Net+ & Sec+ where you learn facts often entirely devoid of the contextual knowledge of how to apply what you are memorizing. To each their own, but if you are looking to have a cert series you will actually use ... look no further! ;)

автор: Oluremi I

Sep 16, 2020

It is amazing to see how fast I can quickly learn about the basic fundamental in IT Support Professional Certificate course. I am really thrilled, that what seems like a magic in computer system was simplified through this course in a way that boost my confidence. Without mincing words, I can take the many skills I acquired such as; computer architecture, networking, trouble shooting, documentation and customer service to the next level.

Definitely, the knowledge and the skills created a new career path for me. I found the course very interesting and hope to build on it. My goal for this course is to stay on top of the latest information technology, and use it to help solve problems as they evolve. My greatest passion is to help users do the unthinkable.

Thank you for giving me the privilege to be a part of the winning team. I am proud of my Certificate!!!

автор: Katelyn R

Dec 10, 2019

I just finished the first week of the course and I am hooked. I am excited to be paving the roadway for my career with this course where I learn all the basic fundamentals of technical support. The material matter is up to date and very informational. I am soaking it all up and am loving the variety of videos and quiz exercises. I just wish they had more activities in to break up some of the longer video portions. I am able to maintain my focus, but for other users I can see how it might come off as intimidating. I would also maybe label the Quiz portions something different. Some users see the word "Quiz" and clam up. This could be completely avoided if these portions were labeled as "Week _ Exercise". This way more users would be likely to continue the course and add to the successful passing rate of this very user friendly program.

автор: John C

Jun 10, 2020

I have just finished through the first course. I found it very encouraging. It was not too hard, but gave a good starting introduction to concepts in IT Tech Support. I look forward to learning in greater detail about all of the subjects and skills involved. I had enough initial experience with computers that the first course was super easy and I was able to finish several weeks early. There were still parts that were new to me especially in terms of networking. I really liked how I could work at my own comfortable pace, which meant I could work ahead and get things done, and also could review and retake tests to learn from any mistakes I made and rethink things. I felt like I was being efficient about heading towards my goal. I look forward to the next courses, which I know will be more challenging, but also therefor more rewarding.

автор: April S

Nov 18, 2019

This is the first online course I've taken, so I don't have anything to compare it to, but I was pleasantly surprised. I've always been hesitant to take online courses, because I felt like I'd be missing out on the real classroom experience and not actually learn as much as I should. But after seeing a Google sponsored course, I decided to give it a try and have no regrets!

At first I felt like this so course was so long, but I now appreciate how in depth the instructors go into the topics discussed. And the labs are so helpful that I don't feel I'm missing out on anything. Everything is so detailed and laid out step by step.

As someone with no IT experience whatsoever, I know I still have a lot to learn, but I definitely feel like I've made so much progress just in this first course, and I'm excited to see it through to completion!

автор: reshad n

Jul 03, 2020

hi, thanks to googlers and coursera that made this course ever.

that's what i learnt form the course who forced me to learn supplementary readings, and let me get everything with simplified methods from googlers.

-Building computer from scatch

-solid understanding of hardware

-bits and bytes, differences between 3 MB/S and 3 Mb/S and too many such things

-How CPU,Ram,Peripherals, Motherboard,I/O, works, and their compatibility with one another

-Installing Linux,Windows

installing, updating and removing Software to the Remote device

-Remote Control with RDP and SSH

-Using QWIKBLABS

-TroubleShooting, Customer Service, too many supplementary readingg

-Versioning

-Advices From GOOGLERS: CIO, Engineers, IT Support Specialists, Software Engineers,

-Soft Skills

-Interview skills

THANKS TO GOOGLE TEAM AND COURSERA ORGANIZATION FOR BEING HERE.

автор: Tuck W Y

Sep 23, 2020

The course gives great insight for entry in IT Support.Although some resources and videos are insufficient in explaining the depth of some subjects,but I took initiative to check in forums in corresponding week lessons for more futher details and videos that shared by the fellow learners,if there is none,I will search Google and probably watch a few videos on Youtube about the certain topics,especially it is about iPv4 vs iPv6 ,CPU architectures,RAM & ROM,Network protocols and the lists goes on.It is great in explaining some concepts in analogy way,and it makes me more easier to absorb some fundamentals knowledge of IT.It is best if it could given some more resources in supplemental readings and more videos on explaining it,but since it is targeted for IT's entry level,it is good enough for the beginning.

автор: Ellen K

Sep 13, 2020

5 stars overall, but even great classes can improve. Would be good to let people in the labs know about deleting previous instances of ppk/putty.exe; would be good to start timer when product had loaded; i encountered that one glitch where the thing i was supposed to uninstall was not in the computer to begin with. I was afraid to install and then uninstall, lest it mark me down for trying an install when I was supposed to be un-installing. In places the transcript really needs proofing - it can be unclear or even misleading - and just for me personally - i would have loved to understand more deeply each concept in the path toward building modern computers - so much so that I could not just assemble one but design one myself. Maybe that's too much to ask of a first class. Overall I loved it though.

автор: David E T

Apr 17, 2019

I found that this course was pretty much what I needed. At first, I didn't think I would be able to take the course. When it was presented last year, I really wanted to get into the course because I felt that it could offer me more background information that what I had received in school. But I thought it was real expensive. So, I shied away from it. But, when an opportunity presented itself for me to get involved, I jumped at the chance.

I have completed my first module. I'm looking forward to the next module so I can go onward to completing the course and get myself into the field. I do hope this certification will help me.

One thing, how come Coursera don't have a course dealing with CompTIA A+, Network + and Security +? Many would benefit from this. Something to look at.

Thanks,

Dave Thomas

автор: Naomi

Sep 23, 2019

This course was amazing. I love how lots of information was broken down into lots of short videos to make learning fun and flexible! I look forward to the rest of the courses! Thank you, tech support, for all of your help so far. Thank you, classmates, for posting your technical difficulties with solutions for everybody to learn from while going through this course. I love how the presenters in the video shared their back stories. I love how we were assessed along the way so that we could go right back and re-watch the videos to re-learn the material. And, I absolutely loved the fact that the entire course is self-paced , as well as being able to re-take the assessments until achieving a 100% test score! I look forward to receiving my certificates of completion for each of the 5 courses!

автор: Wan M A B Y

Oct 31, 2018

I like it very much. Coming from a mid-to-late 20's growing up in an environment to see how computers evolved throughout the years, I would say this course definitely helped me pick back some stuff from high school and even taught me new things. I think Google does a great job in helping to educate the public. I love computers but I never thought that I would take this course since I studied something else during college. Now, I think I will go for a career in the IT industry because what this course taught me is that the field of technology is very broad and depth. Almost every company would require somebody who practices and is literate in IT. I will most probably continue with the specialization courses because I think it will be useful in the Real-World scenario.

IT and Google rocks!

автор: Sofiya G

Mar 27, 2020

This is a good course for those who were training for CompTIA A+, as there are the fundamentals of Hardware, Software, and Networking. It seems like a vendor-neutral professional certification because here we can use both Linux and Windows GUI and CLI interfaces. It has a good Lab, and I did it several times from different computers: I have iMac with Linux Ubuntu on it, Windows Microsoft, MacBook Pro. (I used a USB flash drive to copy the keys and to move it to the other PC's Download folders). And I used all the computers to do the Lab Tasks. All the steps to complete the task were really easy and clear. I recommend this course for those who want to obtain skills in using Microsoft Remote Desktop (on Windows and Linux) and Remmina (on Linux Ubuntu). Thank you for this Lab experience!

автор: Justin M

Oct 16, 2019

I'd like to thank Google and Coursera for the opportunity to enroll in this Technical Support Fundamentals course. I am very grateful. This course is very practical for an entry-level role in an IT business environment. As a Management Information Systems (MIS) major, I am very pleased with the information provided here and I suggest anyone with minimal knowledge in IT to enroll. Much of this coursework was a recap of what I studied, such as network infrastructure, data integrity, security, troubleshooting, and binary code. Exposure to Linux and how to run commands was especially noteworthy.

Again, this is a very practical course which utilizes fundamental information technology concepts into concise, easy-to-follow labs and modules. Highly recommended! Thank you.

автор: Anthony " O

Oct 26, 2019

I'm so happy that I started this journey. It's exciting and feeding a passion to learn more about technology. The presenters have been amazing and inspiring. Every aspect of this course has been targeted and strategically built to help everyone succeed. I found myself reviewing notes when needed and paying attention to items called out in the videos as key. The supplemental reading was interesting and I often found myself learning a lot about how the history of technology has impacted today and the processes that are still used (and often expanded upon). I'm looking forward to more! It feels like the rush of an amazing quest game, only leveling-up is hitting those 100% graded assignments and the benefits are personal growth; a win-win!

автор: Cody T

Nov 14, 2018

I really enjoyed going through this first course out of the Google IT Support Professional Certificate. There was a lot of things that I had already knew about just from my personal life and growing up. But there was also some great knowledge that I learned from this introductory course. Overall, the course did have some bugs here and there, however, the course was a great introduction into the field of IT. I cannot wait to continue with this certificate program and continue to learn more and eventually at the end of this certificate program land a new job in the IT world to show my passion and change my career.

Thank you Google & the professors that put this program for people like me to use in order to get into the IT field.

автор: Kel L

Jul 16, 2018

I think this was a great course to start with for this particular certificate. It places the ground work for IT support. This course explains why IT Support is so important to businesses and why there is a need to have people in these kind of support positions. Most end users are intimidated when it comes to computers and tend to shy away from using them unless they really have to. Being able to simplify or fix something for an end user and explain it in terms they understand build a rapport and trust with the end user. By taking this course, it provides the basic knowledge to help end users. I can now zero in on the root cause and fix problems so that they do not happen again in opposed to putting a bandaid on an issue.

автор: Luis M

Jul 13, 2020

I really thank Google first for these kinds of teachings because they help us improve or learn some things that many times as people who work in IT dates by known. Course because it is the means of access to these certificates and because he learned a lot about the documentary and putting ourselves in the client's shoes many times and no request is less important, simple as it may seem. Thanks for the interview tips and the Resumes, job interviews. I thank each instructor for being original and showing their weaknesses and strengths as well as their obstacles that had to become IT professionals. I am leaving with a good taste with this course and of course, I will take many more to come if life, God and time allow it

автор: Michael S G G

Aug 26, 2020

Fácil, práctico, útil y completamente inspirador. Empecé el curso con unas expectativas altas pero lo he terminado con unas aún mayores, aprendí de manera práctica y los tutores fueron increíbles para hacer simple lo difícil, por supuesto agradezco a la Universidad Nacional por permitirme hacer este curso, y permitirme crecer profesional y laboralmente.

Easy, practical, useful and completely inspiring. I started the course with high expectations but I finished it with even higher ones, I learned in a practical way and the tutors were amazing to make simple the difficult, of course I thank the National University for allowing me to do this course, and allow me to grow professionally and professionally.

автор: Ronald L S

Aug 16, 2020

I really appreciate the opportunity that Google has given to me and I am very pleased with the learning material that was provided in several formats,which allowed me to better and easy understand the topics related to the Technical support related mainly to computing equipment and the information required to be a sucessfull technician.I highly recommend to any person from any country to take and complete this course and enjoy the professional material that is presented by the top professional who work for Google in different departments and roles within the corporation,thanks a lot for giving me the chance to learn and I hope to be able to get a job in the I.T department of any company.

автор: Mahmoud S G

Aug 15, 2020

I took Technical Support Fundamentals.

It was a great introduction to the four courses that are subsequent to this in the Google IT Support Professional Certificate course. It explained at a high level what computer networking is in the world of IT, what operating systems will be covered, infrastructure for a company and an introduction to cyber security concepts. It explains why these are important for an IT specialist to know.

If you are new to IT, this is just the right level to ease you into IT. If you are from an IT or software background, you will probably find the content is very familiar and can speed watch the videos or move straight onto the next course in the specialization.

автор: Maureen V

Mar 15, 2018

This is a comprehensive course that doesn't assume anything, and as such is learning-accessible to the entire spectrum of potential students. If a person already has knowledge of some of the material presented, this highly organized course will fill in the gaps in a logical and engaging manner. If one were a true beginner (as am I), this course encourages the student through the curriculum, building on knowledge and tasks as it progresses and helping to dispel any lurking insecurity about learning IT Support with each step forward.

It is a task-based model which considers mastery of the subject the desired outcome, rather than an old-school grading system.

I highly recommend this course.