Chevron Left
Вернуться к Teach English Now! Capstone Project 1

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Teach English Now! Capstone Project 1 от партнера Университет штата Аризона

4.9
звезд
Оценки: 1,252
Рецензии: 355

О курсе

In the final Capstone Project, you will apply the skills you learned by observing teachers at work (a total of six hours of observation). You will build on the concepts learned from the previous courses to analyze the lessons. You will also submit your teaching philosophy, a five-day lesson plan, and a teaching tip. You will deliver a portion of your lesson, submitting a 6-10 minute video for peer review. If you have completed Teach English Now! Part 1 and Teach English Now! Part 2, you will submit your work for expert review to receive your ASU 150-hour TESOL Certificate from ASU, in addition to your Coursera certificates....
Основные моменты
Application focused instruction
(рецензий: 20)
Intensive practice course
(рецензий: 80)

Лучшие рецензии

JJ

Jun 01, 2020

I enjoyed the course and the material. It was a challenging course which brought all the other courses in the specialization together. The instructors are very creative and a pleasure to learn from.

DA

Mar 14, 2018

I accomplished and learned so much from the first part of this course. I cannot wait to start on the second part. Thanks to Dr. Dixon and his colleagues for a great ESL certification journey.

Фильтр по:

326–342 из 342 отзывов о курсе Teach English Now! Capstone Project 1

автор: Nancy T

Feb 21, 2017

There was more work put into this Capstone Project, but each assignment had a purpose and was thoroughly explained, modeled and ready for you, as the student, to create. Great way to grow and learn by teaching and doing!

автор: Maria d R B V

Sep 19, 2016

I really like the course, there are many interesting things to improve our teaching practice. However I have found that it is not really easy to do it in the classroom.

автор: xiaoyuqiong

May 15, 2016

please be nice to Chinese mainland students, the net probelm, just like we can't use google in China, but we need to upload some assginments on it.

автор: Sandy A

Sep 22, 2017

The course is fantastic and so engaging! Dr. Shane and Ms Cinco are a true inspiration!

автор: Rossella B

May 14, 2016

the timing was a problem, with part 2 starting before the planned end of part 1

автор: Sunny W

Nov 06, 2017

A bit repetitive and tedious, but I am glad I took it.

автор: Nathanial G

Jun 06, 2020

The video upload feature needs improvement.

автор: Justin S

Mar 30, 2020

The content was very engaging.

автор: Mohammad I K

Jan 09, 2017

Great it was

автор: Kevin M

May 17, 2016

Challenging

автор: Alba R S

Jun 20, 2018

A bit hard, and I would have liked real teachers to have reviewed our assignments. In spite of this, I believe that the course achieved the goals of the certificate.

автор: Kristine W

Apr 30, 2020

I would give this course 5 stars if not for the lack of expert review, the lack of response I've gotten in the discussion forum, and the absence of a way to contact any actual ASU staff that runs the course. It's not acceptable that we get ONLY peer review before we submit our entire portfolio for expert review for the TESOL certificate. There is not even a way to contact actual ASU staff via email. The FAQ says to write concerns into the comment box from the 'flags' in the lesson. Well I wrote a comment that apparently got sent into oblivion because no one responded. We get zero feedback before the final pass/fail assessment, which is the opposite of the philosophy we're taught in this course. Peer review is precisely useless because most people just say "I gave you full marks, please grade mine!!" We are told to ask questions about course content in the discussion forum, but the entire discussion forum is just spammed with people asking for peer reviews. I posted a question about expert review and got no response from any course 'moderators' or 'mentors.' Why would I ask questions about this course to the peers who know just as little as I do and are not even native English speakers? It's fine that they are taking the class, but we should have someone who is actually an expert giving us feedback even once before the final submission. The content of the course and the assignments are better than any other online TESOL course I considered. But be aware you're on your own.

автор: Olga M

May 09, 2017

Unlike previous courses, very few videos, all the information is text... Very little new information..

автор: Gabriela M V K

Jun 21, 2017

I am very,very disappointed with this last course of the Teach English Now! Part 1 specialization. It involved three times as much work as the previous parts and I was unable to stay on track. I don´t understand why this fourth part is so much more time consuming that the previous. It could be divided into three or four different courses so that they each require a similar amount of work time during the week. I had to re-enroll so many times I finally lost my money, cause the specialization should be accomplished within the first year since payment.

I feel fooled because the two courses where very easy to follow, and when purchasing the third I decided I could pay for the third and fourth at once and save 10$. Unfortunately, the third course was easy as well, but the fourth was not and I have not been able to stay on track and work at the same time. Now that the school year is over, the deadline for accomplishing the fourth course is over.

TOO BAD. You could be more flexible. It is an online course and that would´t cost Coursera any extra money.

автор: Saif A J A

Apr 02, 2020

I believe that some students in the class are not qualified to peer-review others' work. This is very clear in their misunderstanding of the submitted assignment, errors in spelling, and poor feedback given. Assignment review should be done by an expert in the field; not students who have demonstrated, in many instances, limited English proficiency.

There is literally no requirement to join this course; Anyone can join this course: Whether a graduate or a high school drop-out. And thus their ability and intellectual level vary greatly. Therefore, it is unfair to allow those with limited education/language proficiency to review other students' work.

автор: Hewa S

Jun 12, 2016

This was the worst course I have taken with ASU on Coursera. Feedback was minimal and the system had many technical issues. Videos didn't start properly and there was no help or feedback from the instructors or the peers. I have wasted a lot of time resubmitting my assignments due to technical issues. Waste of my time.

автор: Chris K

Jun 24, 2016

c