Chevron Left
Вернуться к Введение в системную биологию

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Введение в системную биологию от партнера Школа Медицины Икан на горе Синай

4.3
звезд
Оценки: 438
Рецензии: 94

О курсе

This course will introduce the student to contemporary Systems Biology focused on mammalian cells, their constituents and their functions. Biology is moving from molecular to modular. As our knowledge of our genome and gene expression deepens and we develop lists of molecules (proteins, lipids, ions) involved in cellular processes, we need to understand how these molecules interact with each other to form modules that act as discrete functional systems. These systems underlie core subcellular processes such as signal transduction, transcription, motility and electrical excitability. In turn these processes come together to exhibit cellular behaviors such as secretion, proliferation and action potentials. What are the properties of such subcellular and cellular systems? What are the mechanisms by which emergent behaviors of systems arise? What types of experiments inform systems-level thinking? Why do we need computation and simulations to understand these systems? The course will develop multiple lines of reasoning to answer the questions listed above. Two major reasoning threads are: the design, execution and interpretation of multivariable experiments that produce large data sets; quantitative reasoning, models and simulations. Examples will be discussed to demonstrate “how” cell- level functions arise and “why” mechanistic knowledge allows us to predict cellular behaviors leading to disease states and drug responses....

Лучшие рецензии

SV
6 февр. 2016 г.

Very useful course in order to learn the basics in systems biology. You only need some training in biology to understand the concepts but the course is easy to follow and very complete.

BR
7 авг. 2019 г.

Great foundational material and insights from Prof. Iyengar that supports the 'disruptive' trends underway at the intersection of Computational Biology and Medicine.

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 92 отзывов о курсе Введение в системную биологию

автор: Jinwoo J

18 авг. 2017 г.

NICE

автор: saroj p

28 мар. 2016 г.

nice

автор: ABHRAJIT D

19 сент. 2020 г.

.

автор: Adrián P F

18 нояб. 2018 г.

This sort of course will be kind of useful for sort of improving your knowledge on a sort of concepts related to some kind of areas related to sort of Systems Biology. :) That´s just an innocent joke you will catch if you complete the course. Well, the course could be very useful if you are not especially familiar with Systems Biology, as it was my case. You won't learn how to develop a model from "zero" nor how to use Matlab, but it is a comprehensive compendium of theoretical concepts supported by several well-chosen published examples. It is not easy, but it is not extremely difficult (I completed the entire course in 5 days). Thanks to Dr Ravi Iyengar for the talks and his team for the course. However, the speech should have been more dynamic and fluent sometimes, and with less "sort of" repetitions.

автор: Miguel Á D C

6 апр. 2020 г.

The course is excellent at giving an introduction to systems biology as it offers the theorical bases to understand the topic. Although at first the classes and information can appear overwheling, with the time is easy to follow the specific terminology and explanation thanks to this. In some cases I think, however, that some equations or concepts should be explained more detailed, before the explanation with examples.

автор: EDUARDO A O D T

4 сент. 2020 г.

Es un buen curso que da una buena introducción a la biología de sistemas, mi único punto en contra es que las evaluaciones no son muy didácticas, a veces algunas respuestas son ambiguas y a veces varias opciones pueden ser correctas pero no tienen suficiente detalles lo que hace que el alumno se tenga que centrar en la redacción de las oraciones en lugar de pensar más en los conceptos subyacentes

автор: Mohamad K K

13 февр. 2016 г.

It's a great overview, but somehow i didn't feel like it stuck even though i did put in effort to read the articles assigned starting halfway through the course.

Maybe it's because there's so much material that will be covered in a hands on part in the 3rd and 4th parts of this specialization... Would definitely recommend it to everyone interested in biotechnology and systems biology.

автор: Mia T

10 сент. 2017 г.

The course has great content, truly a powerful introduction to many aspects and concepts of systems biology. Don't let the 'Introduction' part of the title fool you though; you will only be able to complete, enjoy and learn from this course if you have a strong knowledge base of human biology/physiology. For me it might have been a bit too tough. The instructor was wonderful!

автор: Kanuri B N

24 сент. 2017 г.

Indeed the course has provided me an introduction to different basic aspects of Systems Biology such as different experimental technologies and computational models. Being a pharmacologist, I was quite fascinated to go through materials dealing with its application to areas of medicine, pharmacology and therapeutics.

автор: Luis A M G

20 июня 2019 г.

Although this course is a introduction to systems biology, knowledges about calculus are highly recommendable to understand the topics. The content of the course is really good, but the exams can be difficult for beginners as me.

автор: Rosalia A S M

12 июня 2017 г.

It was a very good course. The classes are well prepared and explained. I didn't give it five stars just because the quality of the audio wasn't very good sometimes and it's hard to listen unless you use headphones.

автор: Ewa B

7 февр. 2016 г.

Great course! The only change i would ask for: after the test, could you let us see the correct response to the questions we got wrong? Thanks!

автор: R d S S

15 июля 2019 г.

O curso é muito complicado para quem não conhecimento em modelos estáticos específicos.

Mas é muito interessante e muito abrangente.

автор: Akash R

12 июня 2020 г.

The content of this course is quiet good, but is little bit hard to digest. Overall, I gained a lot of things from this course.

автор: Lianne A

1 сент. 2017 г.

Excellent course, could be improved by explaining the more difficult concepts in greater depth, e.g. ODE and PDE math.

автор: Alejandro V

29 мая 2017 г.

Great new area to explore and study, however some subjects were not explained adequately.

автор: Mahbub H

27 февр. 2016 г.

Very very informative course for the beginners like me!

автор: Jiho C

9 мар. 2017 г.

Good lecture, but not systematic curriculum

автор: Dr M H

25 нояб. 2019 г.

Instructor is very hard to engage with.

автор: Boudalia M E A

1 янв. 2016 г.

a bit to hard for an introduction cours

автор: Kang c

14 июня 2016 г.

A very useful course!

автор: Chalasani S S N

10 апр. 2019 г.

useful

автор: Zahra A

25 окт. 2018 г.

I did the first course in this specialization series and it was way too difficult for me as only a highschool graduate. The course is basically for advanced students who do scientific research in this system biology field. The course is enormous with a lot of things to cover in just 15 minutes lecture video. So you have to do a lot of personal reading and research for terms used by the lecturer. My advice to fellow learners choosing this course means you need to put a lot of passion, dedication and self motivation for completion of the course. So Good luck.

Though I Feel truly accomplished by finishing this difficult course and challenging myself to new boundaries where i thought I would never make it to. So Thank you Sir. Ravi for that.😁

автор: Bruno A T P

20 янв. 2016 г.

With a biology background I had some difficulty following this course. That is understandable, as a lot of it relies in mathematical modelling and statistics. I still felt like some exam questions relied on material not yet lectured, which would sometimes leave me at a loss as to how I should have gotten to the right question in the first place. The lectures could have been structured differently, so as to facilitate engagement - I found myself easily losing focus and having to repeat the videos. Despite its shortcomings, the course is still a powerful introduction to Systems Biology.

автор: Hector F C M

2 июля 2019 г.

I have to thank for this virtual course, however although this course is '' introduction '' it supposes that the participants have advanced concepts that are not explained, in many moments the literature is inconclusive, there is no literature that allows a basic revision on the topics that we are learning; The evlauacion is not according to what has been learned and in many cases it is based more on the memory than on the analysis.