Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction To Swift Programming

学生对 Торонтский университет 提供的 Introduction To Swift Programming 的评价和反馈

3.9
1,280 个评分
328 个审阅

课程概述

Introduction to Swift Programming is the first course in a four part specialization series that will provide you with the tools and skills necessary to develop an iOS App from scratch. By the end of this first course you will be able to demonstrate intermediate application of programming in Swift, the powerful new programming language for iOS. Guided by best practices you will become proficient with syntax, object oriented principles, memory management, functional concepts and more in programming with Swift. This course is unique in its dedication to teaching Swift programming. With new features and capabilities you will be at the forefront of writing iOS apps. Currently this course is taught using Swift 2. The team is aware of the release of Swift 3 and will be making edits to the course in time. Please be aware that at this time the instruction is entirely with Swift 2. Please note that to take part in this course (and the full specialization) it is required to have a Mac computer and, though not required, ideally an iPhone, iPod, or an iPad. NOTE: This course has been designed and tested (and content delivered) on a Mac. While we are aware of hacks and workarounds for running Mac in a virtual machine on windows we do not recommended a PC. We hope you have fun on this new adventure....

热门审阅

SI

Jan 14, 2016

The course seemed to be very easy, I'd say even disappointingly easy, but then, when I started the final assignment, I realized that I was wrong. And it was so much fun developing filters.

HU

Jan 31, 2016

This course, specifically the last week, really helps in gaining understanding of how the digital images are being processed on the back of a applications. Nice job tutors!

筛选依据:

201 - Introduction To Swift Programming 的 225 个评论(共 321 个)

创建者 GrantvS

Oct 02, 2015

A resource if your starting with Swift. Video quality is often poor. Examples are a bit too contrived. Generally, presentations should be better prepared, too much figuring things out during the video. Good choice of project for the practical.Many interesting coding practice tidbits along the way but needs polish.

创建者 Ilaria C

Jan 21, 2016

I didn't like very much the two teacher

创建者 Deleted A

Feb 15, 2016

Far less staid than some of the more traditional academic teaching formats in this science field. I was surprised I actually anaged to get through the introductory module but by the end of the course I was less inclined to want to attempt the end of module project simply because the instructions did not really provided sufficient indicators that guided newcomers to the subject of programming but in this science field it seems that is the norm with many introductory programming courses.

Maybe the people teaching have forgotten what its like to start at the beginning and recall a time when they thought surely there is a better way in which to teach this subject that makes the connection between theory and practice and the relative interconnection much like bitesize stepping stones links a more plausible and achievable option for those unfamiliar in the field of computer science. Not sure why this aspect seems to fall short in CS but for some reason it does.

I should imagine this course for many people who are either familiar with the fundamentals of programming and/or aufait with CS concepts on the whole and have already acquired the necessary basic skill set / knowledge base of programming, will find the subject and teachings rather informative and a move forward in the development of programming languages as the format in writing programs does depict a much simpler approach when compared to other languages.

Sadly, for a complete beginner to CS this, in my opinion, fails to sufficiently guide or assist newcomers in building the confidence to later embark on a project that draws on the subject topics taught thus far and to that end its a bit of a shame as it tends to dampen your enthusiasm if you are interested in the field of computer science as that lack of clarification on what aspects relate to what factors does not become clear so when faced with the daunting task of the end of module project you may find yourself non-plussed wondering which topic relates to which task in the final project?

I am sure other people will be inclined to disagree with my opinion on this but this is, after all, just my opinion, after giving the subject taster a try, the end result for me, was that the teaching methods were good as they appeared more relaxed and format was offered in a far more enjoyable way of teaching/learning a subject that, I felt, attempted to invoke or entice people where an interest in CS had been sparked and was perhaps aiming to offer a route in which to build the foundations of a programming language but then by the final week it was a case of well we have thrown this information your way, its now up to you to decipher what you need to apply to the which part of the final project and is done so under the guise of problem solving.

The latter being a plausible concept I would find perhaps more applicable later on in the specialisation as you develop knowledge/skills. But to be incorporated into the very first module of this pathway it seems doing so is, what it seems like most introductory programming courses invoke, and, is quite a leap to embark upon especially without first being offered stepping stones sufficient enough to feel certain you have adequate understanding to be able to sift through the information provided and subsequently decide upon which aspects are relevant in order to attempt to accomplish the tasks set that ultimately form to complete the final project.

Its actually through being guided by the experts whose teachings highlight to newcomers through practical visual sessions where we actually begin to learn where these interconnections link between these chunks of informational topics - all of which form the essential fundamental building blocks - and in so doing, that perhaps perceived initial 'spoon fed' approach then enables a newcomer to build sufficient skills and knowledge to then be able to actually 'develop' their confidence. Without the essential basic foundational mixture how is it possible to engage newcomers enough for them to determine when they will then feel equipped to attempt a final project? This stepping stone approach is surely the most effective way to equip a person new to a subject field so they can then broaden their knowledge base. Alas, in CS it seems the falling flat on your face so to speak is a preferential approach to learning in this field of study.

Its such a shame these highly intellectual people who create these courses forget what its like to start at the very beginning and the time it takes and guidance needed in order for a person to be able to feel like they are ready to dive in and give a topic like this a whirl. Like I said, its only my opinion but this is where the interconnection and building of the knowledge base falls short at an early stage of development.

创建者 Mauricio C

Jan 29, 2017

It definitively could be a whole lot better, look and learn from Udacity's nanodegree.

创建者 Jussi S

Jun 19, 2016

Good course. Somewhat odd levels of difficulty. Like the weekly lessons are easy and then the wall goes up in the task at week 5.

创建者 mahesh c

Feb 05, 2018

Update this course to xcode latest version.

创建者 Derlis Z

Jan 16, 2017

The contents are not updated to swift 3 and Xcode 8

创建者 Yağmur D A

Jun 27, 2018

I think this course should not be based on image processing as the name of the course is introduction to swift programming but image processing is not that common. You could teach about database, feed and that kind of more essential things.

创建者 Philipp S

Sep 01, 2017

Good course and the basics are well explained, but the final exam is way more difficult than the rest of the course and for beginners it´s impossible to do this without researching.

创建者 Chris L

May 27, 2018

materials are outdated

创建者 Mark B

Apr 10, 2016

There are only a few hours of content across the five weeks. The whole course can be done in a single evening. However, if you try this starting from no programming experience it will likely be extremely hard to complete. Since the course has as a prerequisite that you can already code this shouldn't be an issue for anyone.

创建者 Amador C

Sep 22, 2015

The material is OK, the video quality is regular and the instructors are childish. I prefer the Android specialization where the instructors are more mature and professional.

创建者 Francesco M

Mar 08, 2017

Basic but interesting for novices.

创建者 Ziyu L

Oct 13, 2016

Overall the course provides a good introduction to the swift language. However, this course is not suitable for completely new learners.

创建者 Daniel H J

May 08, 2016

Enjoyed the lectures. I wish there would be more materials to practice with.

创建者 Martyna M

May 23, 2016

The videos are poorly done, and it's hard to follow with practicing in a Playground at the same time. Also, some of the optional material, is required for completing the assessment, which a bit unfair. The material covered in the videos is too basic to be able to apply the principles to a larger programme.

创建者 Norbert S

Dec 14, 2015

I think this course could be much better without Jack Wu, laughing every few seconds. I would except more professional approach and not videos likely taken on first shot with errors.

创建者 Brian K

Nov 02, 2015

Not the worst, but I did not think this was a well developed course. It felt like an informal conversation between the instructors with one of them repeatedly calling different aspects of Swift "cool". It was very distracting. I also thought the tests were vaguely worded and the final assignment was long and definitely more than the 30 minutes it said it would take to complete it. I am all for difficult challenges, but it felt like the final project was badly designed/described. Un-enrolling.

创建者 Ben N

Oct 17, 2015

This course is not as polished as most other courses on coursera. They occasionally give examples that are too small to see in the video. Most of the quizes dealt with syntax. I don't feel like any new skill was developed in taking it. If you are interested in iOS programming take the University of California, Irvine versions of this class.

创建者 Chris G

Feb 28, 2018

The course is not very beginner friendly. I found that instead of giving you a general idea of the ideas and terms that the lecturers are using it seems like they assuming that you are already familiar with a lot of concepts they are going over.

创建者 Nicholas S

Oct 26, 2015

Felt like the teachers weren't putting much time into preparation - felt random and disorganized. I didn't finish the course - I'll watch the cs193p lectures from Stanford instead.

创建者 Siew W N

May 10, 2016

Having completed the assignment after many hours of trial & error; here are some suggestions for improving the class for future sessions.

Increase the length and depth of the lectures so that more of the materials needed for the assignment are covered.

For each week, have an optional programming exercise (not graded) but with a model answer (with explanations of why) so that students have a concrete example on which to practice key concepts on.

As classes & structs are very important to completing the assignment (instead of just including the SWIFT manual chapter on classes & structs in the Follow Up Reading), include an actual lecture about this topic.

Improve the description of the assignment to be completed. Be specific about what is required (e.g.; what does interface mean? Is is a User interface or is just a specified variable which can be changed in the program code? What do you mean by order of applying filters? Do you mean a variable which lets you decide order of filters and executes the filters accordingly or does the ability to manually rearranging the order of the calling of functions in the code suffice?)

Improve the alignment between the assignment and the review criteria. The assignment asks for FIVE filters but there is no matching criterion in the review criteria. Based on the current review criteria, creating two filters would suffice to demonstrate ability to order and get full points for varying intensity for more than 1 filter.

I hope the remainder of the modules are better otherwise I will be extremely disappointed !

创建者 Dominic C C Y

Sep 28, 2015

The course need more improvements in terms of material, presentation and execution. The two presenters format didn't work well as it made the lecture look informal. The material need better preparation and it seems at times to be ad-hoc coding. A few videos were not edited properly resulting in lengthy black screens after the presenters were done talking.

创建者 David A

Nov 23, 2015

I am sure if you are familiar with the content or an expert programmer looking for an overview of a new language then this would be perfect but you do need to understand swift before starting this introduction to swift.

The lessons felt very unstructured, unplanned and ad hoc almost like the people presenting didn't know they were being recorded, this meant that the examples given were contrived without consideration to the suitability to present the concept succinctly and would require anyone but an existing swift programmer needing to carry out additional reading which rather defeats the purpose of an "introduction to..." course.

A little scripting and lesson planning and preparation of content would have made the difference between this excellently produced and edited course being awkward and an effort to attend into a really useful reference for beginers of swift programming.

To summarise, the obviously expert technical knowledge of the speakers and the quality of the editing are let down by rushed lesson content.

创建者 Oleksii H

Oct 16, 2015

Lectures are careless prepared. It's really hard to follow this course without previous background in iOS development, despite it's called "Introduction To Swift Programming". There are a lot of small misleadings notes in course materials. Hope the next course in specialization "iOS App Development with Swift" would be much better.