Chevron Left
Вернуться к Capstone: Your Story

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Capstone: Your Story от партнера Уэслианский университет

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 294
Рецензии: 117

О курсе

Everything comes together in the Capstone. You will draft a complete story, narrative essay, or memoir of 8–15 pages. With the advice of your peer readers, you will revise, rewrite, and complete it. The skills you’ve learned of plotting, setting, physical description, characterization, and stylistic clarity and innovation will culminate in an original work of art all your own. We’ll discuss the steps that professional writers take to bring their work into the public world. Along the way you’ll learn the patient habits of revision that make up the writer’s life....

Лучшие рецензии

TB
8 мая 2020 г.

I got so, so much out of this! It's not only helped me with my own writing, but it's helped me with being able to be a better editor, also. Enjoyed being able to read other writers' works, as well.

AM
24 окт. 2018 г.

It was challenging and inspiring, one of the best courses I have taken. I took my writing to new places and learned quite a lot : ) Thank you so much for the opportunity and platform for learning.

Фильтр по:

101–115 из 115 отзывов о курсе Capstone: Your Story

автор: Julian M

6 сент. 2017 г.

You should do this program. :)

автор: Daniel C

24 июля 2017 г.

Well done!

автор: Ernabel D

26 нояб. 2020 г.

For those of us with dreams of writing a novel, the Creative Writing Specialization helps you get the ball rolling. The Wesleyan professors are very good, and each course is a good introduction to plot, character, scene and style. I have now joined a real-time creative writing workshop class. Because, as a professor myself, you do miss out on the in-person teaching that a asynchronous class can never give you. The discussion boards are not helpful, because most of the threads are students begging for reviews or are old. Also, Coursera needs to find a better way to encourage students to follow directions. (My professor pet peeve). We were tasked to write one-two page reviews of our classmate's work, and most times we only received one line. One student wrote, "Great." This isn't how you workshop. So, this is why I could only give the course 3 stars.

автор: Anna D

22 июня 2019 г.

It had some very useful advice, and the people that I got to review my work had some useful things to say.

However, I had been in need of advice for an assignment and so I asked the discussion forum. Time passed and the assignment's due date was literally hours away, so in the end, I was forced to use my own devices. A day or so after I submitted my assignment I got a response. By that point, the advice was virtually useless, as feedback kindly informed what I had failed to notice -I lost points over that. This happened twice. Four, if you count the times when I received no response at all.

I understand that people are busy, but just as well for I course that I paid good money to use you would think that I'd receive better responses. They wouldn't have to be prompt, just before the due date.

автор: AS

27 дек. 2020 г.

The instructors are excellent, offering many helpful suggestions.. The assignments are thoughtful and encourage students to practice skills. However, since neither instructors or monitors review the assignments, students are dependent on fellow students for feedback on writing assignments. While some students make an honest effort to provide critical feedback, there are many who simply offer one word of critical feedback (or even less) in order to meet the requirements of the course without doing any work. Unfortunately, nobody is monitoring this behavior so everyone suffers. This is why I've offered only three stars. The certificates are worthless if not properly earned.

автор: Kristin L

5 мар. 2017 г.

I must say that the information on writing in the course was good, and the example of sanding, giving a critique etc. was very useful to me as a writer just putting her work into the world. I was extremely disappointed that after laboring through 3 long stories, only one formatted in the way the course specified, and trying to write at least one page of comments on each that what I got in return was on good critique and two that were only two lines long. I was on scholarship so I did not pay for the course but it was disappointing that there was no moderation of the peer review side of the homework.

автор: Joseph S

7 февр. 2021 г.

It would be a great idea to get feedback from the course creator on the final submission. One individual submitted something, which was only 5 pages for a 15-page story. It appeared it was a first draft being submitted over and over. I didn't want to be rude, but I couldn't give all 5's for something that didn't meet the course standards although I made my feedback positive. However, I'm left wondering if my story is worth of seeking to have it published or understanding if I should make it part of an anthology. It would be great to hear from the creator of the CAPSTONE. Thank you.

автор: B E

10 февр. 2021 г.

I was a little disappointed in this last course. At the very beginning you are given the impression you will have a decent sized final project. This is reemphasized when your first assignment is 15 pages, and the course is 8 weeks. They were a very lean 8 weeks and the final project ended up being only allowed 15 pages. Mine went to 21 and I got rude people who apparently don't like to read and are taking English classes on writing but don't have time to read others work, despite others reading theirs.

автор: Lori Z

5 авг. 2020 г.

Other students provide minimal, to no, feedback that doesn't meet the requirements for feedback and there is no way to report this. It makes me feel like any work that is accomplished is more of a joke because of the people who skate through the course like this.

автор: Nada D

6 сент. 2016 г.

There are a lot of kinks to be worked out in this course. The teaching aspect of the Craft of Writing is in the four previous courses, this one is basically write a story, get reviews.

автор: Yvette H

17 янв. 2018 г.

With all due respect, this module felt like a case of the barely sighted leading the blind!

автор: Cristina D

1 окт. 2020 г.

The quality of this course does not match at all that of the previous courses (The Craft of Plot, of Character, etc). The information provided by instructors is repetitive and except for few exceptions, not really useful.

The fact that all the work is peer-evaluated is what makes this all an almost trivial exercise. Few fellow students take the task seriously enough. Sometimes the reviews are just "ok" or "..." which is not really helpful, especially if you are honestly invested in acquiring the new skill.

Some students enrol "en masse" and don't make serious submissions, either (they submit blank pages or lorem ipsum), hoping for their fellows to grade them well, even if they don't deserve it.

It's a shame, because all aspiring writers could really use good reviews as learning tools. It's not happening.

автор: Lee W

20 дек. 2016 г.

Sorry but the variable "peer" reviews ruined this course for me, I either did not get enough reviews or a "prankster" would down mark for whatever reason they had in their head at that particular moment. the staff don't seem interested in this a a problem. and there is no way to rate a bad reviewer so they get away with it.

the other courses in the specialisation are great, but this one gives very little in the way of tuition and relies on the whole on peers, which for me didn't work out too well

автор: Florence L

13 мая 2020 г.

Some issues were noticed in the discussion and this not seems to have been fixed in May 2020. From the presentation I could undertsand that, unfortunately, this course is not what I was looking for. I was lookig for to the point advices about building an outline for example on week 1. Like some sessions we have had in PLOT and STYLE courses. Reviews are too much (see what people says in the discussions) and efficient guidance too less.

автор: Jared E

25 дек. 2018 г.

Peers aren't well read.