Chevron Left
Вернуться к Capstone: Your Story

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Capstone: Your Story от партнера Уэслианский университет

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 369

О курсе

Everything comes together in the Capstone. You will draft a complete story, narrative essay, or memoir of 8–15 pages. With the advice of your peer readers, you will revise, rewrite, and complete it. The skills you’ve learned of plotting, setting, physical description, characterization, and stylistic clarity and innovation will culminate in an original work of art all your own. We’ll discuss the steps that professional writers take to bring their work into the public world. Along the way you’ll learn the patient habits of revision that make up the writer’s life....

Лучшие рецензии

SA

5 июля 2022 г.

I have learnt a lot from this course about writing stories. All the teachers were excellent and contributed in taking our writing to a better level. I thoroughly enjoyed the whole writing experience.

TB

8 мая 2020 г.

I got so, so much out of this! It's not only helped me with my own writing, but it's helped me with being able to be a better editor, also. Enjoyed being able to read other writers' works, as well.

Фильтр по:

126–146 из 146 отзывов о курсе Capstone: Your Story

автор: Kelly M

8 окт. 2022 г.

I do not like that the capstone project grade is only based on peer reviews only. If someone does not really like the subject matter they may base their grade on that. I do not think I deserved a 80 percent on my capstone. I know there were very few errors with spelling and grammer. My mom a formal school teacher was my editor.

автор: Philip W

29 сент. 2016 г.

The only reason this excellent course does not have five stars is because of the technical issues that are the responsibility of Coursera and the failure of some of the peers to write peer reviews according to the instructions. I heartily recommend this course to anyone seeking to kick start, revive, or tune up serious writing.

автор: Maria-Isabel C

11 февр. 2021 г.

This is the final course of the Creative Writing set of courses I surely have enjoyed. I really recommend it to anyone who likes to write and wish to become a writer. I have learned so much and enjoyed the time with the instructors. I just want to thank the Coursera community for this great opportunity this means to me.

автор: Le T L H

12 июля 2022 г.

It's a great course. I love all of the talkshop and the lectures. I wish I could give it a five star for it but there's something I couldn't hold on. It is the peer reviewing. It seemed no one read my work seriously. I hope there will be more effective way to list out those students.

автор: Russell D

16 мар. 2017 г.

I enjoyed the course very much. The critiques were the most important part and that is where this course fell down. I only received two instead of the expected three critiques for the sanding and final critique assignments.

автор: Ruby G

16 сент. 2022 г.

Well structured and easy to follow the course. Lecturers were fantastic. Assignments were duly accessed and submitted and the Support team was very responsive to issues and queries.

автор: Ian B

31 авг. 2017 г.

Good opportunity to keep writing and get feedback. The only drawback is the quality of reviews you get on this site- everyone wants to BE reviewed, no one wants to do the reviewing!

автор: Chris D

5 июня 2020 г.

The assignments are varied and helpful. The feedback less so. And the IT department needs to re-tool how the feedback system works. Too many issues, too many problems.

автор: Daniel Y

17 нояб. 2020 г.

The schedule was a bit confusing, but it didn't hinder my ability to complete my assignments.

автор: Max M

6 сент. 2017 г.

You should do this program. :)

автор: Daniel C

24 июля 2017 г.

Well done!

автор: Ernabel D

26 нояб. 2020 г.

For those of us with dreams of writing a novel, the Creative Writing Specialization helps you get the ball rolling. The Wesleyan professors are very good, and each course is a good introduction to plot, character, scene and style. I have now joined a real-time creative writing workshop class. Because, as a professor myself, you do miss out on the in-person teaching that a asynchronous class can never give you. The discussion boards are not helpful, because most of the threads are students begging for reviews or are old. Also, Coursera needs to find a better way to encourage students to follow directions. (My professor pet peeve). We were tasked to write one-two page reviews of our classmate's work, and most times we only received one line. One student wrote, "Great." This isn't how you workshop. So, this is why I could only give the course 3 stars.

автор: Anna D

22 июня 2019 г.

It had some very useful advice, and the people that I got to review my work had some useful things to say.

However, I had been in need of advice for an assignment and so I asked the discussion forum. Time passed and the assignment's due date was literally hours away, so in the end, I was forced to use my own devices. A day or so after I submitted my assignment I got a response. By that point, the advice was virtually useless, as feedback kindly informed what I had failed to notice -I lost points over that. This happened twice. Four, if you count the times when I received no response at all.

I understand that people are busy, but just as well for I course that I paid good money to use you would think that I'd receive better responses. They wouldn't have to be prompt, just before the due date.

автор: AS

27 дек. 2020 г.

The instructors are excellent, offering many helpful suggestions.. The assignments are thoughtful and encourage students to practice skills. However, since neither instructors or monitors review the assignments, students are dependent on fellow students for feedback on writing assignments. While some students make an honest effort to provide critical feedback, there are many who simply offer one word of critical feedback (or even less) in order to meet the requirements of the course without doing any work. Unfortunately, nobody is monitoring this behavior so everyone suffers. This is why I've offered only three stars. The certificates are worthless if not properly earned.

автор: Kristin L

5 мар. 2017 г.

I must say that the information on writing in the course was good, and the example of sanding, giving a critique etc. was very useful to me as a writer just putting her work into the world. I was extremely disappointed that after laboring through 3 long stories, only one formatted in the way the course specified, and trying to write at least one page of comments on each that what I got in return was on good critique and two that were only two lines long. I was on scholarship so I did not pay for the course but it was disappointing that there was no moderation of the peer review side of the homework.

автор: Joseph S

7 февр. 2021 г.

It would be a great idea to get feedback from the course creator on the final submission. One individual submitted something, which was only 5 pages for a 15-page story. It appeared it was a first draft being submitted over and over. I didn't want to be rude, but I couldn't give all 5's for something that didn't meet the course standards although I made my feedback positive. However, I'm left wondering if my story is worth of seeking to have it published or understanding if I should make it part of an anthology. It would be great to hear from the creator of the CAPSTONE. Thank you.

автор: Abigail M

2 янв. 2023 г.

I loved learning everything I could in this Creative Writing Course. Believe me I sucked up every piece of information that I could, and where the Professors are concerned, the learning experience was fantastic! However, when it came time to the peer-graded assignments, my ‘fantastic experience’ ended. It took so long to receive a grade on my last Capstone:Your Story assignments. About a week and a half, to get feedback such as this, and I quote,

“A;adv;ajbdsv;kajbdv;kjahsdd”.

автор: Lori Z

5 авг. 2020 г.

Other students provide minimal, to no, feedback that doesn't meet the requirements for feedback and there is no way to report this. It makes me feel like any work that is accomplished is more of a joke because of the people who skate through the course like this.

автор: Crystal J

22 янв. 2023 г.

I found the information itself very useful, but the critique process is plagued by bots and people not actually participating. It's not a deal braker but makes the process frustrating.

автор: Nada D

6 сент. 2016 г.

There are a lot of kinks to be worked out in this course. The teaching aspect of the Craft of Writing is in the four previous courses, this one is basically write a story, get reviews.

автор: harrisonyvette@yahoo.com

17 янв. 2018 г.

With all due respect, this module felt like a case of the barely sighted leading the blind!