Chevron Left
Вернуться к SQL for Data Science

Отзывы учащихся о курсе SQL for Data Science от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Девисе

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 11,092
Рецензии: 2,892

О курсе

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Лучшие рецензии

JP
5 апр. 2020 г.

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

JG
22 авг. 2021 г.

I thought this course was great! Great introduction to Relational Databases and SQLite. Highly reccomend for anyone new to SQL, Databases, or someone looking to get started with a data science career.

Фильтр по:

2851–2875 из 2,941 отзывов о курсе SQL for Data Science

автор: Ling J

10 мар. 2021 г.

This instructor doesn't do a very good job elaborating on why we code this way. I had to take another instructor's sql class to finish the assignments. She gave me the impression that she read from a script entire time instead of talking about things that she really understands. But I do like the coding assignments which are very helpful.

автор: Dean B

30 нояб. 2020 г.

The lack of ability to follow along due to no common software or commands was extremely irritating. The brilliant idea that I should investigate one online and figure out how it works was what I thought I was taking the class for. Why not choose an open source program and focus on the methodologies?

автор: Scott K

12 дек. 2020 г.

Lectures were very bad. It sounded like she was reading a speech that was written the night before, with grammatical errors and all. Both over-explained simple things, and under explained complex things. I did most of my learning on https://www.sqlitetutorial.net in order to pass the assignments.

автор: ssagnik s

6 дек. 2020 г.

the course is completely theoretical and not use MySQL with using the theory you can get help in work but real life database and application is not included in this course so if you want to learn and apply directly you can do that in this course, which decrease the interest in course materials.

автор: Polina

6 февр. 2018 г.

The course gives basic elements of SQL, but there is no practice in the course (beside graded assignments), code is shown only in presentation (you cannot copy and and see how it works), and learning SQL without constant practice is nearly impossible. The peer graded assignment is messy.

автор: Kasia

15 июня 2018 г.

Course is very theoretical, the teachers just reads presentation with SQL functions, there's no way to actually learn SQL by listening to it. Also she doesn't provide information about essentials of databases, so the beginners may not understand the concept of it.

автор: Maud O

16 мая 2021 г.

It is a good conceptual introduction to SQL, but as many other reviews say: it lacks the real hands-on work that teaches you coding skills and good practice in choosing different query strategies.

Overal I am on the fence on whether it was worth the costs..

автор: Tomás L

11 дек. 2018 г.

The mistakes in the presentations and the massive ambiguity in the final assignment were a complete letdown for me. All in all, I did learn everything that was taught, but I wonder how much of that was made possible thanks to my previous experience in IT.

автор: Eva P

26 мар. 2018 г.

Good course to learn the basics but not worth the price you pay. Until week 3, everything is fine, but week 4 is a disaster. The final assignment is very confusing and sometimes it is hard to know what you are being asked. Not recommended.

автор: Jeanette F

29 сент. 2021 г.

The videos were not as informative as I would've liked them to be. When you input incorrect code there weren't many resources to find where your mistake was. It would be helpful to have a tutor or someone to chat with for help.

автор: Yu B

6 сент. 2020 г.

The course has no transcript for review. And the system of SQL exercise is also wrong when you are using “WHERE” Clause and “=” signal. Because of the mistakes of system I even can not make any progress. Please check.

автор: Bobalo R

5 мая 2020 г.

The course went fine up until the final assignment. It was very irritating to do, because of the incomplete database, broken correlations, different tables stating different things, which should've been the same, etc.

автор: 恩力 陳

19 авг. 2021 г.

bad experience on exercise:

In the course, you will learn different functions of sqlite but they merely bring you along with examples but pop out with tons of different exercises without giving you a single hint

автор: Yian G

1 мар. 2021 г.

The instructor spent too much time on unnecessary and self-explaining topics, and on the other hand failed to explain some important details. I ended up skipping much of the course and googled a lot by myself.

автор: Anisha Z

3 апр. 2020 г.

Decent introduction. I recommend https://mode.com/sql-tutorial for a better introduction to SQL.

Assignments are very badly designed. Also the questions in the final assignment are unnecessarily repetitive!

автор: Sajiri V

14 мая 2021 г.

The lectures were not easy to comprehend for a computer language. Though the course mentions it is a beginner-level course, the lecturer jumps to a certain part where there is a learning curve expected.

автор: Ligeng X

27 сент. 2018 г.

A little too easy, not challenging at all, given this is a beginner level class, I'll give it two stars. You could finish the whole course on Saturday if you get up early plus Sunday if you do not.

автор: Fan Y

13 сент. 2021 г.

Even reading the prompter throughout the course, the instructor has been extremely nervous and unsmooth in reading. This is the biggest downside of the course and eclipses its good sides.

автор: Zoe

13 мая 2020 г.

I wish that the instructor used examples that mirrored the type of questions in the coding exams. We did not cover all the material in the coding exam.

автор: Darren R

27 сент. 2019 г.

The structure and guidance provided on the final assignment was very poor, resulting in far more time required to complete than expected.

автор: Riccardo B

27 мар. 2020 г.

too much theory, I needed something more 'pratical' that allowed me to start using and write code and not see a lot of slide with code

автор: SARTHAK S

27 окт. 2020 г.

1.Very basic course.

2. Assignments level does not match with training level.

3. Need to provide class which includes query writing.

автор: Carolina E

24 июня 2019 г.

The teacher was not readily available to answer questions. The course was alright but I do not feel prepared to use my skills yet.

автор: Mathias M

19 мар. 2020 г.

Very slow and badly organised start of the course with no to very little practice of how to use SQLite before the coding quiz.

автор: Seidler C

28 апр. 2021 г.

The first exercises are still ok. But the final exam is really a mess. The questions are not as precise as they should be.