Chevron Left
Вернуться к SQL for Data Science

Отзывы учащихся о курсе SQL for Data Science от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Девисе

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 12,498
Рецензии: 3,203

О курсе

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Лучшие рецензии

JP

5 апр. 2020 г.

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

JG

22 авг. 2021 г.

I thought this course was great! Great introduction to Relational Databases and SQLite. Highly reccomend for anyone new to SQL, Databases, or someone looking to get started with a data science career.

Фильтр по:

2326–2350 из 3,284 отзывов о курсе SQL for Data Science

автор: Vinayak K

24 июля 2021 г.

T​he course covers the essential basics of SQL and gives you more than enough knowledge and skills to apply for related jobs, projects, internships etc. If you wish to continue learning, I think you have sufficient skills to search up syntax on your own for more advanced topics and you probably don't need to take another proper course.

U​nfortunately, there were also certain drawbacks including very basic videos where the instructor only read a script and went over basic presentation slides. This makes the lectures really boring for me and I usually skimmed through them...Also, you can't really practice the lectures on your own besides the quizzes. For this, I recommend practicing on W3Schools along with the video.

A​ll in all, I recommend the course if you're willing to put in extra work on your own.

G​ood luck!

автор: Jonathan G

11 янв. 2022 г.

This was a great introduction to SQL for a complete beginner and the only thing keeping it from a 5-star review is attention to detail. Some of the questions throughout the module are confusingly worded, at least to me, and I couldn't help but notice the times the lecture didn't match the text on the slides. Last, I don't believe peer-reviewed grading is a viable system. After grading other submissions I realized I had not done as well as I would have hoped on my own assignment, and was looking forward to reading the feedback. Unfortunately whoever graded my assignment did so rather quickly and left little helfpful advice.

Overall though, great introduction. Sadie's ability to boil SQL down to the basics was helpful and I look forward to learning more in the weeks and months to come.

автор: Subbiah v

11 июля 2019 г.

Really tough assignments. Tests your knowledge of you have learned. A good notes is necessary to attempt the final peer review assignment. Good links to outside sites for reference reading and clarity. Overall enjoyed the course. Learned a lot and understood how important data is in our life and how vital a knowledge to work with it is in today's world.

Small Advice: After each concept videos please make learners attempt questions on the solitary concept alone instead of brain storming the whole weeks total concepts in one coding assignment. It helps the learners to grasp the concept more and to remember it with enthusiasm.

Wonderful course with lot of tricky assignments. Have fun guys. I heard a specialzation is on its way for this. So its worth taking it and following a path.

автор: Camilla S

23 мая 2021 г.

Overall, I think this was a good course. However it could have been great with a few tweaks - I think it would have benefitted from more practise exercises during a module instead of it all being done at the end, and it would have been really helpful to see the actual code that should have been written for the answers for the quizzes as sometimes, even though I got to the right answer, I wasn't sure if I could have done it in a better way. On some of the specific pieces of content, the module that talked about date/time strings I found quite confusing, and the profiling section also didn't include enough specific examples. I did enjoy the course though, and the structure of it meant that I completed it, and found it easy to pace myself over the few weeks.

автор: Alex R

11 мар. 2019 г.

It's a good intro course to SQL for data science. The videos are helpful but the lack of practice questions or active presentations (showing the presenter using SQL and not just showing code on the screen) made it difficult for me to engage with the course. I had to go find additional practice question resources outside of the course and frequently used outside sources to help understand what I was doing. SQLite is also terrible and frequently times out because your query took more than 3 seconds. This was very frustrating as it leaves you unsure if your code is causing problems, the website/server was busy or SQLite just didnt process in time. I'd like a more robust SQL option similar to the way Hackerrank works.

автор: Rich M

27 авг. 2020 г.

The overall course is good enough and the quizzes are a good indication of what is to come. There are a handful of typos and errors in the PPT decks that do make the lessons harder because there are enough gaps that I had to search online for the correct way.

I know this isn't a surprise, but the cheating on the peer review project is rampant. I did 6 peer reviews and all but one was a copy and paste - they all had the same typo in a table. One even had generic statements such as FROM [insert table name].

Also, you need to include a 0 option for the peer project grading. Two of the ones that I graded skipped the last several questions and I had to still give them points.

автор: Rachel M

8 нояб. 2020 г.

The course videos were a good introduction to the major tools of SQL. The exercises were targeted at a more beginner level than I expected. It might have been helpful to have more bonus or stretch exercises included in the quizzes, and for there to be more than 1 quiz per week to gain familiarity with a specific tool like subqueries or a specific type of join before moving on.

I would recommend that the course add information on what the different columns in the yelp dataset tables mean, in addition to the database schema, for the final project. Through peer review, it became apparent that this information is missing and would have been helpful.

автор: Fauzi M

14 июня 2020 г.

This class is a good start to learn SQL. It provides the fundamentals and introduction to the world of SQL. However, I am speaking as someone who has learn to code before, so some of the practices are already familiar. Those with no prior coding experience, such as having SQL as their first code language, might have a bit of hard time.

Sadie's explanation is clear.

Some of the example used on the slides and what is being explained by the instructor are different. Maybe one is updated while the other isn't.

Some of the coding syntax are not explained verbally, however if you study the written examples on the slides, there should be no problem.

автор: Aron T

19 июля 2018 г.

Nice course that covers the fundamental aspects of SQL and paves the way for a more in-depth dive into SQL and RDBMS. I really liked the integration of the chinook and yelp datasets in this course, as they give you a glimpse of what it is like in the real world. Quizzes and assignments were not too challenging which is fine considering this is more like an intro course. I also liked Sadie's teaching style, however I do favour a more organic teaching approach in the videos. I understand that, a lot of logistics goes into preparing these videos and I appreciate that. However, the teaching videos were a bit lifeless, if that makes sense.

автор: Samuel A

3 мая 2018 г.

I loved the course. I think it is at the right pace with the right amount of information. Normally, I get bore when the instructor explain many things and after I got it, she/he continues explaining.

I loved that the instructor goes right to the point and does not waste time repeating the same thing again and again.

The only piece I was not happy about was the final assignment. It has things not explained in the course that were not easy to solve. Of course, after figuring out the answer, it seems easy, but it is not while the person does not get it.

But overall, I loved it. I would have given 4.5, instead of 4, but I was not able.

автор: Anna V

12 апр. 2021 г.

It was interesting and challengin, I would say that exercises were pretty extensive and somewhat difficult. It definitely took me a bit more time then expected. Also as in my work I am not particularly a data analyst, rather using the database to extract pretty primitive queries, not all the information was really useful for my specifics. The last project did not seem to be structured in a way that for peers it would be easy to check it - the analysis of your choice is very hard to check and time consuming.Overall I gained new knowledge and got more deep understanding of what I am doing and why when writing sql queries.

автор: Sasha F

4 апр. 2022 г.

It was a great introductory course.

I certainy learned a lot and in areas I felt I didnt fully grasp, I searched the internet for more information. This course guided me to ask the right quesitons and will make my search keywords better for when I am looking to answer specific questions.

I wish that something like 'office hours' was available where students could ask questions and get answered promptly. I felt that if I had a question, it would go unanswered by the forum where there seems to not be many replies from mentors. There are a lot of quesitons for sure! so i think office hours would help.

автор: Megan R

24 сент. 2019 г.

Great exercises and quizzes to really test SQL knowledge. I feel confident in my ability to work with basic SQL commands to modify a data set for analysis. I found the videos helpful to introduce topics, but felt like I gained most of my understanding from the exercises.

Instructor was very knowledgeable but explained some of the concepts awkwardly. I appreciated her comparisons and metaphors when included.

Overall, really good course for someone who is brand new to SQL like myself. I look forward to applying these skills in practice and integrating them with other data analysis tools.

автор: David E

3 янв. 2018 г.

Most of the course is satisfactory. However, the final project has some major problems. First, it will take you longer than the stated 2 hours. Also, documentation on the provided data is lacking. Moreover, a large part of the final project is data analysis that you would never conduct in SQL - what would take a few lines of code in Python becomes cumbersome and frustrating and incomplete in SQL. If you're interested in obtaining the course certificate, just be aware that you won't encounter the most frustrating part of the course until you've completed every other course requirement.

автор: Chris U

10 мар. 2022 г.

Generally was good. I want to stress on explaining more on converting ER diagrams to data tables, foreign vs primary keys (and their differences) , and date/times. Great emphasis on the last part because during the lesson, the instructor seemingly found 'AGE' without any real explanation. I did the same thing in the quizes and got a strange output. Please, please, please fix that.

The lesson on VIEWS were not so useful due to the limitations of SQLite so other programs like MySQL can teach better for general use. It would have been nice to practice with the VIEWS statement.

автор: Kathy Z

27 июля 2020 г.

Excellent content if you're new to SQL! The videos were a little slower paced than I liked but I simply reset the streaming pace to 1.25 times faster and that did the job. I wish there were some more frequent practice questions. I do appreciate that the assignments and quizzes were slightly more challenging in that you couldn't just regurgitate exactly what you were told during lecture. I'm somewhat disappointed that I ended up googling a good number of concepts in order to better process them. But again, plus side, you don't need to download extra software to practice.

автор: Naveen J

1 нояб. 2021 г.

Really a good course for the beginners to understand the basics of SQL and take their career ahead. Sadie was great in explaining. However, I felt (my opinion) there were much more in depth details to the course which could have been explained in the videos or classes. Like extra knowledge where links were provided in modules. Instead it could have been a recorded video with examples of coding for better understanding. There are different ways for writing codes for queries which could also have thought to us. Overall a great platform to learn and advance their skills.

автор: Andreina R

9 мар. 2021 г.

A very good starting point for those with zero experience with SQL. The layout of the program is very helpful as well as the tests. Same, I felt that the heaviest part of exercises and training are all in the very last assignment. Some questions are a not very well explained and many of the participants have to invest time in finding the answers in the forum discussions, and I think that is wrong. The course and its tests should be clear enough to complete our exercises. But overall, I recommend this course to anyone that would like to learn the basics of SQLite.

автор: Yirieth M

27 апр. 2020 г.

The course is very well structured and gave me plenty of skills to be able to retrieve data on my own. I do have a complain, and it is that some questions throughout the exercises and in the final assignment are not very well explained and lead to confusion, it is not immediately clear what the question(s) is asking to do. Also I would have liked that during the lecture videos, the examples come along with the resulting data table. It was done in some but not all which I missed when referring back to the lectures in order to be able to do the coding exercises.

автор: Jared B

21 мая 2020 г.

Overall a great course although I'm not sure how well I would have picked this up had I not had prior experience. I used this course as a refresher after having dabbled in SQL a few months back and hardly touched it until recently. This course did help reinforce concepts and better taught ones I was less familiar with. I also liked the amount of problems that were provided and the various resources. All that said, the lecture method doesn't feel the strongest for teaching the content in the depth it requires - at least for me if I were a complete newcomer.

автор: Caleb T

8 янв. 2021 г.

A good introduction to SQL. It briefly mentions creating tables, but not really how to put data in with INSERT. Though, I suppose, that's a quick search away.

The quality of the videos and content is mostly fine, but could do with showing the results of queries more often. There are some editing mistakes here and there, but it's nothing big. However, one of the videos mentioned an 'ETL process' which I do not believe was mentioned before in the course.

One of the questions in the last quiz also needs updating, since the correct answer has changed.

автор: Kerry G

22 дек. 2020 г.

I very much appreciated the instructor's enthusiasm, immense knowledge of the topics and ability to bring real world examples to the presentations.This course is well organized, introduces many topics in a logical sequence and is fairly interactive. Students (even a more advanced beginner like me) could benefit from much more practice throughout the modules. I found the final exam to be very daunting with so little practice beforehand. The discussion forums could be better designed and managed to make them (more) useful to the student community.

автор: Daniel B

9 мар. 2018 г.

The course is informative, but there should be more hands-on type questions mid-video. Internalizing information would be much more efficient if there was more than just seeing results of queries and answering poorly worded questions. The final assignment can be one of great effort or minimal effort depending on the individuals interest in trying out complex queries that are out of their comfort zone, but both sides of the coin end up with the same certificate in hand. So, just like most courses in life, you get only what you put into it.

автор: Joery D

3 янв. 2021 г.

The content of this course is from an introduction perspective very good. Not only focussing on the technical sides of SQL but also in how to perform the learned experiences in practice. The coding assignments and especially the peer-reviewed assignments are on the right introductory level.

A small area of improvement within this course would be the way of how the information is presented. It is very clear that the information is read from an autocue and sometimes this feels annoying. Also, the theoretical quizes are often too easy.

автор: John M D

10 дек. 2019 г.

I thoroughly enjoyed this course as my first experience in Coursera. The lectures were presented in a well paced manner and the information was sufficiently broken down. However, the first few weeks suffered from insufficient assignments to reinforce the concepts learned. As a result, the final assignment was well beyond the normal intensity of the course and I felt unprepared. The final assignment appears to be developed by someone other than the core instructor and has a completely different understanding of the course scope.