Chevron Left
Вернуться к SQL for Data Science

Отзывы учащихся о курсе SQL for Data Science от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Девисе

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 11,124
Рецензии: 2,899

О курсе

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Лучшие рецензии

JG
22 авг. 2021 г.

I thought this course was great! Great introduction to Relational Databases and SQLite. Highly reccomend for anyone new to SQL, Databases, or someone looking to get started with a data science career.

JP
5 апр. 2020 г.

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

Фильтр по:

2126–2150 из 2,949 отзывов о курсе SQL for Data Science

автор: Siddharth K

29 июня 2020 г.

I really enjoyed this course and felt it was excellent as a beginner course for someone who had very minimal knowledge of this skill at the start of this course. Some of the questions were a little confusing and the lectures could delve a little bit deeper into the SQL nuances to help develop a more complete knowledge of the subject. That being said, I would recommend this course to anyone who is interested in the world of SQL and developing their skills and getting resources to succeed.

автор: Kārlis M

24 авг. 2021 г.

Overall good introduction, can say that the explanations and teach were okay. Bad thing is the structure - at first you watch multiple videos about completley new topics to you (like 1h+ of video) and only then there is a hands on excercises, already after you have forgotten majority of what was explained. I feel that it would be much better to have tests right away after lectures on particular topic or some kind of code alongs.

But as I said initially - a solid beginners course.

автор: Vishesh A

14 июля 2020 г.

The course has quite a lot of content, and all of it is relevant. The lectures in the initial weeks were really helpful. After the second week, it was difficult to keep up with the instructor. The practice challenges and additional resources were very helpful and added to my learning experience. The final assessments at the end of each week helped me learn a lot. The peer-reviewed assessment at the end was a challenge in itself. Overall, a good course for beginners.

автор: Maureen M

12 окт. 2020 г.

Course was well structured, videos were efficient and informative, very well done! I do think the course was light on the Data Science part of the equation, and found it odd that the final question on the final exam asked you do considering doing predictions or segmentations when none of that had been covered in the course. Would be better to add a week to this class and actually teach how to do predictions/segmentations and more data science applications.

автор: Wenhao Z

7 февр. 2018 г.

The course content is generally good, but the final work, in my opinion, needs to be adjusted to work better. I completed this course in a relatively short time. However, the final work took me a lot of time to do some of them were quite confusing. I was quite frustrated by this work and I found a lot of people had the same feeling. I think improvements needs to be done to the work. This lectures, however, is worthy to participate in.

автор: Maryna A

6 авг. 2020 г.

This course has all the basic information. But I didn't like the examples, they were poor. I could only see the result of SQL queries, but there were no screenshots about the table with which we are working and what was in the beginning. Moreover, not SQL queries in the lectures had even the resulting screenshot table. And, also, as for me, I prefer the [ESS QUE EL] pronunciation rather than [SIQUEL]. I recommend this course!

автор: Marcello L

20 апр. 2020 г.

Good intro course, which doesn’t just cover the basics of SQL, but also usage from a Data Science perspective. Only observation is that the speaker is not so fluid, and obviously very nervous at the time of video recordings. Particularly Week 3, I couldn’t follow the Joins subject due to being so poorly articulated, so I ended up learning from the SQLite Tutorial site instead. Overall I did enjoy it and would recommend.

автор: Ekaterina

10 июля 2020 г.

I really enjoyed this course, even though for a few moments I've got a feeling that the tasks were a little too difficult compared to what had been explained. But, I re-watched again and again the videos, reviewed the key concepts and peer comments, and in the end was able to make it. I highgly recommend this course to absolute beginners just like me, it gives you useful insights on what the Data Science is about.

автор: Ignacio D B

21 июня 2019 г.

The course is well structured, but the time needed to complete it (if the person is not used to programming languages) exceeds what the course says. In addition, the only drawback of the course is the final assignment. It is sometimes time consuming and the questions are in some cases poorly worded deriving in learners confusion ( a lot of discussions in the forums have been opened because of this matter).

автор: Safeer U H

4 мар. 2019 г.

I think the course covers most of the theory part. It needs to add more of the coding lesson and quizzes as well. For instance, the small questions we receive during the video, there should coding questions as well. When we receive the coding questions directly in the coding assignment at the end of the week. It is quite difficult to do these questions. Overall, it was an amazing learning experience.

автор: K K M

21 мая 2020 г.

The course is very informative and can be easily understood. It helps me to grasp the language easily and apply what I've understood through the exercises that they had. I think there's an incorrect answer on the peer review assignment about querying the 'Avon' and 'Beachwood' as the answers, and my answer as well, of the peers that I've reviewed is the same but the provided answer is different.

автор: Garrett C

15 июля 2019 г.

I enjoyed the course and feel like I have a good grasp on the common SQL applications, processes, functions, etc. The videos were informative, but I wish there were more examples (and more examples to actually work through and practice with). Overall, I think this is a really good course to learn the basics of SQL and the final assignment is very thorough and helps solidify that understanding.

автор: Heloísa D F

19 июля 2020 г.

Could have more visual examples, especially showing the output of queries. Also, could have a couple of additional videos in the end, showing some problem-solving situations, as I struggled a little bit with the questions on the inferential part of the final project. However, it was a good course, the length of the videos was perfect and it was very well divided. I think I learned a lot.

автор: Ninnart S

5 февр. 2018 г.

I found this course to be a good introduction to SQL. However, I noticed that there are some minor mistakes in the downloadable PDF files - some don't align with the video lectures and some slides are wrong. A few questions in the final peer review assignment were also very ambiguous. With that being said, I would still recommend this course to anyone who wants a brief intro to SQL.

автор: MAEL E

14 мар. 2021 г.

I learned great thinks about SQL I was looking for a long time. And I only find it step by step in this course. The course is very well structured. My only disappointment was about the final assignement. I would have liked more guidance or a correction by teachers, because I have certain notions that remains a little bit uncertain. But THanks a lot for the course. Brings me a lot.

автор: Vince L

15 мар. 2019 г.

It would have helped me to have more "hands on" use of the concepts right after they are presented instead of after many concepts are presented and then having to try to remember all of them. This is how you do this, then do it. It's like how Code Academy does it where they give you one step at a time to do and then on to the next step but not necessarily broken down that much.

автор: Dr J L S

25 янв. 2019 г.

A good, clearly-taught course. I feel like I've learned a lot and am CERTAINLY more confident with SQL than I was starting out. I'd be interested in an advanced course by the same people.

My only beef with the course was that some of the questions in the graded quizzes weren't clearly written, and this gave me a lot of grief (thus, 4 stars). Please consider vetting the questions.

автор: Zanggar B

27 нояб. 2020 г.

The course is great! But the problem is that it would be better to work on real-work SQL application such as SQLite (which is prposed by the instructor) or other IDEs. It is just my humble opinion. But, the content of the course is super, and the coding assignments is lovely part where a learner understands what he/she has learnt and implements it! Huge thanks to the instructor!

автор: poonnapa c

10 сент. 2021 г.

The course covers wide range codes and I think it really helps you to understand how SQL works. I think after this course, you can do the basic SQL in real life. However, the assignment itself could be a little ambiguous. It requires quite an effort to understand. You could always use the discussion forum to find the answer, really, everything is there. Overall, great course.

автор: Milan D

30 мар. 2018 г.

Good overall course, I like the order of topics introduced and they're application to real world events. My only request for this course is that the topics go a little more in depth (explanation of more complex examples) and that there could be an optional video to watch where the instructor does the coding quizzes, and explains their reasoning behind the queries they create.

автор: Melishan K

4 нояб. 2020 г.

It's a good start for learning SQL. However, intensity of the lessons does not match the quiz and final assignments. Lectures are more simple and easy to understand but not enough to complete the coding assignments. You need extra resources or help to finish the course. After every quiz or coding assignment, i would expect to see the correct SQL queries to see our mistakes.

автор: slma

1 янв. 2020 г.

This course covers many great issues.

My only problem with this course is the way tackle SQL on the first 4 videos. I think I totally gut confused.

After, I read some articles which provided on reading material I fully understand the concept.

My suggestion is to change the sequence of some videos and put these videos after the student is done with reading part.

Thank you

автор: Benjamin D K

8 апр. 2021 г.

The course is pretty good. In particular, the quizzes and assignments are very useful to understand the concepts that are being taught in the course. I enjoyed it!

However, I will give only 4 stars because regarding the lecture videos I would have preferred that the instructor coded along with a sample database instead of showing the code snippets in a power point.

автор: Daniel R

28 мар. 2021 г.

I thought this course was really useful for beginners in SQL, my only issue is that some of the concepts were not explained very well. I never really understood how to qualify tables, there were things you could do with text that were mentioned but never explained, etc. Maybe I missed something but some of the concepts they were very vague but then on the quizzes

автор: Laleh S

5 окт. 2018 г.

The modules are carefully planned and precise. The reading materials are really helpful to get a better understanding of the subjects, and the quizzes at the end of each week are thorough and cover every important point. The one thing I can think of that can be improved is the way the teacher is presenting the lessons, it is unfortunately a little bit monotonous.