Chevron Left
Вернуться к SQL for Data Science

Отзывы учащихся о курсе SQL for Data Science от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Девисе

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 12,727
Рецензии: 3,271

О курсе

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Лучшие рецензии

JP

5 апр. 2020 г.

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

JG

22 авг. 2021 г.

I thought this course was great! Great introduction to Relational Databases and SQLite. Highly reccomend for anyone new to SQL, Databases, or someone looking to get started with a data science career.

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 3,353 отзывов о курсе SQL for Data Science

автор: DIVYA M

30 июня 2020 г.

Even though i have learned SQL from many sources but this is a complete package, felt completed after completing this course.

автор: Megan H

21 дек. 2018 г.

So helpful! Really helped me learn SQL on a level that I am confident enough to add it to my resume.

автор: manish r

30 нояб. 2018 г.

Good course. The peer assignments was a bit challenging hence most interesting as well.

автор: hridaya s

1 июля 2020 г.

Very nicely communicated

автор: Shreyansh V

24 мар. 2022 г.

Best to start with sql

автор: Shubham S

24 янв. 2019 г.

i want my money back

автор: Sandipan C

11 нояб. 2019 г.

The course was pretty good for a beginner. The instructor was very clear and explained all the concepts in a very easy to grasp manner. However, the entire course could do with more coding exercises. Concepts such as joins, group, etc could be better understood if there were more exercises. Also, during the coding exercise (at the end of the week) it would be really helpful if correct answer and an explanation would have been provided. Having said that, its really good for beginners and I would and have recommended this to others.

автор: Chloe W

31 окт. 2018 г.

=) Very clear walkthrough of important concepts in SQL and why use certain functions for certain tasks.

=( Wish there were more practice questions so it's more interative.

=( Also it would be great if there are more "real-life" SQL practices that involve solving for an actual question that you might encounter as a data scientist working for a tech company.

Thanks so much for sharing this with us, Sadie!

автор: Alex H

30 июня 2020 г.

Thought some of the intuitive thinking was a bit challenging, but really liked how the sqlite server was built into the course and didn't require any download or off-site work. Think some of the time estimates should be a bit longer, but overall good course.

автор: Prashanna G

5 мар. 2020 г.

Good course for anyone starting to learn SQL but the course needs more assignments to ensure that the learners have got a good understanding of the concepts. Also, the final project is a bit overwhelming to do without prior experience in SQL.

автор: RENEE

5 февр. 2022 г.

Except the last assignment,it may seems be in a mess.Everything is wonderful!Thanks to all staffs,thanks to cute Lawrence~~~~Congratulation to myself!!

автор: Sagar

29 июля 2021 г.

course was designed good. but i would advised to have a bit of Sql knowldge from youtube so that you will be able to understand everything much better.

автор: Deepak G

1 июля 2020 г.

A nice course for introduction with SQL but they could have used the software currently used in the industry like oracle's MySQL or SQL server.

автор: Rathindra M

1 июля 2020 г.

Would have been better if there was a chapter on connecting to an sql server from an application or gui.

автор: Kyle G

17 дек. 2021 г.

I wish there was a practical piece to practice after every video to help learn each new new skill.

автор: Nikhil K s

30 янв. 2019 г.

Great course with great learning and an opportunity to apply that learning

автор: Kunal S

19 июля 2020 г.

Good for beginners

автор: Muhammad A B

30 июня 2020 г.

best courses

автор: Madanuri N S

30 июня 2020 г.

This is really a good basic knowledge course. Actually the more usable commands will be convered

автор: max

20 мар. 2021 г.

lessons are not well structured, it would be so much more easy to explain sql

interactively by explainging a concept of sql, then creating a query highlighting what is particularly important of that query and then seeing the result of that querry. Instead it is done in old fashioned power point. First a set of concepts, then some additional information and then application,

E-learning allows for a much more interwoven structure, that might be more initial work for the creator of the course but it clearly would add a lot of value to the students.

Sometimes the course misses to explaing relevant detail.

For example in the last weeks lecture about Date, we learned that we could do operations like

Date('now') - DateColum, and this would return the time difference but only in years, not days, not hours. It would be intersting to know why that is.

The last assignment

автор: Christina L G

18 дек. 2020 г.

Although the information and topics in itself are interesting and the course gives a good overview, the individual videos have a lot of repetition (in 5 minutes an intro, the main part and a summary), and I find the person who gives the course hard to listen to, as it often seems like she doesn't understand what she is saying. Also the questioning in the case study is very unclear - watching the discussion forum I'm not the only one who struggled to understand what they want. The provided answers for reviewing your peers are so widely interpretable that I myself got max points from 2 students for 1 question, while the third gave 0 points. And that for several of the questions. Overall not satisfied over the quality of this course

автор: Miriam G

24 дек. 2020 г.

Lectures were stilted and repetitive, some of the exercises were poorly thought through and the peer-grading is a joke, with people grading me as having got questions correct, when having seen the answers I now know I got some questions wrong! Questions from peers went unanswered in the forums.

автор: Jan C

12 сент. 2020 г.

It stars strong, but on weeks 3-4 it lacks comprehensive examples and guidelines, and that makes you feel lost. Also, the final assignment is very hard, and it asks things in a non-comprehensive manner, which makes you spend a lot of time until you understand what they are asking you.

автор: Len V

14 окт. 2021 г.

Considering how hands on learning a language like SQL can be, this course does a lot of info dumping about the theory all at once instead of embracing the practical approach. This makes the course a lot more taxing than it has to be.

автор: Jibran A

20 авг. 2020 г.

The teacher has really good knowledge of SQL and I really respect her for that, but as someone who is not familiar with SQL finds it difficult to give quiz without any side by side practice of the topic