Chevron Left
Вернуться к SQL for Data Science

Отзывы учащихся о курсе SQL for Data Science от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Девисе

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 13,108

О курсе

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Лучшие рецензии

JG

22 авг. 2021 г.

I thought this course was great! Great introduction to Relational Databases and SQLite. Highly reccomend for anyone new to SQL, Databases, or someone looking to get started with a data science career.

JP

5 апр. 2020 г.

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

Фильтр по:

3226–3250 из 3,478 отзывов о курсе SQL for Data Science

автор: Carlos E P M

18 апр. 2018 г.

El curso fue muy básico.

En mi opinión hubiera sido mejor si los contenidos de las semanas 3 y 4 fueran más prácticos.

Las preguntas del examen final tenían una redacción muy pobre y ambigua, y no había mentores encargados de solucionar dudas.

автор: PETWE G G

30 мар. 2020 г.

After the 2nd week, the instructor just introduces new concepts and does not explain the working of the algorithm. Also, more or less the video length should increase and more examples should be discussed.

Overall the course is great !!!!

автор: Sinnoh P

29 сент. 2021 г.

The biggest issue is the lack of practice . They try to stack on lot of things and ask a quiz at end of a week which is the only mean of practice. Coding doesn't word that way atleast could have given some practice after every lesson.

автор: David T

7 янв. 2018 г.

Quizzes and assignments require a lot of knowledge not actually covered in the course forcing you to search for information elsewhere.

Questions are not clear in many tests creating incorrect answers which are not of the learners fault.

автор: Ben W

14 авг. 2021 г.

T​he course teaches good information but many of the quizzes involve information that was barely (or not at all) covered in the lessons. It would help if they fixed this or were at least more active in the forums to answer questions.

автор: Javier V

28 янв. 2022 г.

The course is not bad but, and this is a big but at least for me, they do not provide DBMS to practice with and no practicing material. Also, some of the links provided to get more info about different topics is way outdated.

автор: Sachidanand P

28 янв. 2022 г.

The quizzes and readings were helpful. The lectures were helpful for some problems and for some they were just too long without containing multiple examples. The peer review assignment was the hardest out of the whole course.

автор: Monica W

2 мая 2018 г.

This course is okay but I feel like they need more practice queries not just a test and you never got to try it before also the questions need to be better explained. Other than that I feel like I did learn the basics of SQL

автор: Allen P

27 мая 2021 г.

I learned some basics about SQL and enjoyed it, but I think there wasn't enough practical instruction about how the code is used. It made it hard for me to figure out how to get the data I was asked for in the assessments.

автор: Eleanor T

21 мар. 2022 г.

T​his course gave a really strong overview but some of the questions in the assignments were ambiguous/needed clarification. From the discussion boards this has been the case for quite a few years without being addressed!

автор: Giulia T

14 февр. 2020 г.

The course vidoes were really nice.

The wording of the exercises is frequently confusing, especially in the peer-reviewed assignment. Many question cannot be answered with the tools provided (i.e. inference, correlation).

автор: Ganesh K

2 янв. 2022 г.

THERE IS BUG IN YOUR PEER ASSIGNMENT SUBMISSION THAT THERE IS NO "SHARE LINK" OPTION GIVEN AND IN YOU HAVENT MENTIONED ANY WAY TO DEAL WITH THIS PROBLEM. IT IS REALLY FRUSTATING AND THIS PROBLEM SHOULD BE RESOLVED.

автор: Sung J P

1 дек. 2021 г.

Course materials are good, but wish they provide the actual SQL code in answers to quizzes and assignments. Simply providing whether my answer is correct or not is not enough for me to know what I did wrong.

автор: Vinayak D

27 апр. 2020 г.

course was really good and understandable for some beginner like me but at same time I think that more coding exercises were required

ONCE AGAIN THANK YOU FOR IGNITING THE INTEREST TOWARDS DATA ANALYSIS IN ME

автор: joe b

4 мар. 2021 г.

The general structure and idea of the course was good; however, there were many times when the script/questions were worded badly and this was sometimes an issue when it came to understanding the content.

автор: Vitalii

20 мая 2019 г.

No practice examples at all. Videos have only theorethical queries without results, so you can`t see how it works on practice. Reference to SteckOverFlow is awesome. Why should I pay money for nothing?

автор: Bohan P

13 июня 2022 г.

Final assignment was confusing. Often what you do in the quizes aren't taught in the course material. Would be better if the course videos had more examples of outputs rather than mostly being theory.

автор: Burhanuddin S

16 апр. 2020 г.

Would definitely need to watch Youtube videos to understand the course fully.

Good assignments but the videos are not that great and too much time wasted in learning objectives. Too less examples given

автор: D H

1 мая 2019 г.

Good program for beginners. Peer review assignment needs to be updated. The assignment is not graded by instructor. Certification means nothing because anyone who pays money will eventually get it.

автор: Nathan B

20 февр. 2022 г.

There's a significant amount of hand-holding right up until the final exam which then requires a superior cognitive leap to overcome the far-beyond-beginner questions and reasoning. Caveat Emptor!

автор: Huong D D N

8 авг. 2021 г.

Overall, it's a great course to be introduced to SQL without any background knowledge. However, lectures in Week 3 is hard to understand, which I need to seek for other sources to learn on my own.

автор: Pratyush A

21 авг. 2020 г.

The course gives us the basics of SQL only wrt Data Science. It does not tell us much about SQL. Would have liked if more information was given on SQL and how that works. All in all, good course.

автор: Weiyang T

25 июля 2018 г.

Certain quiz questions were unclear. Final peer-review assignment had unclear/ambiguous questions that didn't fit with the data in my opinion. But content is useful. Delivery could be improved.

автор: Ibrahim N

3 апр. 2021 г.

The course is very well planned with all the basics required to run a query in SQLite. But on the other hand, when it came to the last modules the class just takes off with very few examples.

автор: Yi W

10 дек. 2018 г.

Strongly suggest adding more example code and its running result which will make more sense for beginner. And more exercise problems as current Quiz do not cover all the points in the lecture.