Chevron Left
Вернуться к SQL for Data Science

Отзывы учащихся о курсе SQL for Data Science от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Девисе

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 10,069
Рецензии: 2,614

О курсе

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Лучшие рецензии

JP
5 апр. 2020 г.

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

AT
17 нояб. 2020 г.

Well it was a short course, the assignments are a little bit repetitive (mostly in the last). The course reviews every 'practical' aspects of SQL, how to assemble the bricks while writing queries,...

Фильтр по:

2526–2550 из 2,632 отзывов о курсе SQL for Data Science

автор: renas c

12 мар. 2021 г.

.

автор: Manas d

19 сент. 2020 г.

.

автор: max

20 мар. 2021 г.

lessons are not well structured, it would be so much more easy to explain sql

interactively by explainging a concept of sql, then creating a query highlighting what is particularly important of that query and then seeing the result of that querry. Instead it is done in old fashioned power point. First a set of concepts, then some additional information and then application,

E-learning allows for a much more interwoven structure, that might be more initial work for the creator of the course but it clearly would add a lot of value to the students.

Sometimes the course misses to explaing relevant detail.

For example in the last weeks lecture about Date, we learned that we could do operations like

Date('now') - DateColum, and this would return the time difference but only in years, not days, not hours. It would be intersting to know why that is.

The last assignment

автор: Eric R

21 мая 2021 г.

Weeks 1 - 3 contained good information and had good problem sets. Week 4 totally drops the ball. The lectures do not fully flesh out the many uses of datetimes, cases or views. The problem sets for week 4 should be much more extensive to practice these concepts. The lectures on sql for Data Science are fluff - no skills are included; and then the student is expected to perform these skills in the peer reviewed assignment. The peer review assignment has several poorly specified questions. Overall the lectures could be improved by showing the ER diagrams for the tables the lecturer is referring to rather than only showing a query. Many lectures should be reshot where the lecturer misspeaks/does not complete her thought, or where she burps while speaking.

автор: Jennifer S

17 июля 2019 г.

These lectures seem incomplete. For several sections, I had to Google more information to understand the lecture topic.

This course is listed as a beginner level course with no prerequisite, but throughout the lessons I felt like I was missing some key basic information. The course recommendation is 20 hours, 3-5 hours a week. The first week fell into that parameter, but after that the hours required increased each week, with the last week being about twelve hours including the final project.

Ideally, this course considers adding in more complete explanations for the examples in the lectures (including outputs), more practice coding, and more depth on exploring data and making inferences from your queries.

автор: MARC B

9 июня 2021 г.

Check out the 1 star reviews, i agree with most that's said there. I still learned a lot in that course though mostly from Stackoverflow trying to answer the assignments. Problems are: the final course assignment is a mess to do and to correct, many questions are ambiguous and this class doesn't prepare for it. More than half the peers i reviewed were plagiarizing. This really shows the limits of Peer-Reviewing, more supervision needed. Finally the SQLite used for the course is 9 years old, as i discovered some functions were absent or not working. This course is due for a big update, on content (show outputs and better quizzes), SQLite version, and refreshed quizzes and assignments.

автор: Faheem I

5 нояб. 2020 г.

Would not recommend. There's no real teaching, the instructor is just reading off of slides with little to no explanation. The slides are confusing, don't provide outputs to the codes that they're showing and many times have errors on them. The course including the quizzes forces you to do most of the work, and I mean that in a bad way. The videos are incredibly lazy and very little explanation is provided for some key points considering this is a beginner's course.

The only good thing I found was that it provided some structure to what I should study. I ended up studying mostly from tutorial websites. I would suggest you look for some other courses if you want to start SQL.

автор: Kevin C

30 нояб. 2020 г.

The lecturer is terrible. They read off of a teleprompter and the way the script is written is so unintuitive and verbose. What is the point in having a lecturer who's actually an expert on the topic, if they're just going to read a script like a robot?

The quizzes are good, but the topics covered in them are often not covered during the lectures. The lectures may go over the surface level of a topic, and show a really simple example but the quizzes are much more complex and will require you to find examples on the internet. The quizzes are the strong point in this course. The lectures are absolutely garbage.

автор: Shira G

22 окт. 2019 г.

Few suggestions for improvement:

1. provide a worksheet that summarizes all the material in a simple manner. It exists in many other sites so it shouldn't be a problem to provide this

2. In the quizzes and assignments - it would help to give a hand when the student does not understand the question or makes mistakes. to say "correct" or 'incorrect" is not enough.

3. the final exam is in no way align with the level of the classes.

and the worse thing is that in the forum it seems that a lot of students have complained but nothing has changed... therefore I would not recommend this course.

автор: Charles M

16 сент. 2019 г.

There are 3 major issues with this course: 1. the instructor appears to be reading from a teleprompter and constantly struggles with her text, making the lectures both distracting and soporific. The cheerleading ('Are you excited about joins yet?') doesn't do anything to change that. 2. Some portions of the final assignments are poorly worded and the mentors aren't active. 3. There is a huge backlog for assignment grading which is frustrating and causes the discussion threads to be polluted by students asking for others to grade their assignment.

автор: Aron R

22 февр. 2021 г.

This was a shockingly different approach to teaching a software language. I did not enjoy the style whatsoever, and found myself constantly seeking outside sources to understand what was glossed through. Unless you have a strong programming background, I would not recommend this particular class. Instead, seek something where you will complete SQL code yourself, with explanations of syntax, structure, and purpose, specific to the format you will be using. You'll do yourself a favor by doing so.

автор: Pelin T

30 сент. 2020 г.

The instructor shows queries without showing the tables that are selected from nor the end result of the query. Often it is not clear what a query does by just watching the videos. Also you are not provided with the database that the instructor is using, so you can't rerun the queries and play around with them, which is essential for learning sql.

The questions during the videos and the module quizzes are too simple compared to the course material and the topics looked at.

автор: Julia

11 февр. 2018 г.

Although the structure of the course is well organised the assignments and videos contain lots of mistakes. I had to spent a lot of time by searching in the internet what is wrong in my code to realise that the instructor code was wrong as well and should not work (although they provide the results as it works just fine). Moreover, some questions are written not clearly and the explanations in the videos lack advanced examples while talking a lot about unnecessary things.

автор: Aaron B

3 мая 2020 г.

Course was a good overview of SQL for beginners but the quizzes and assignments were VERY POORLY DESIGNED. The questions often made little sense and often implied coding requirements that are way beyond the scope of the course. This lead to a significant amount of time being wasted in figuring out what is being asked. This seems to be a very common issue based on the forum posts. I HIGHLY recommend that the course instructors investigate and re-word the questions.

автор: Constantin P

24 апр. 2020 г.

Unfortunately, the lectures did not provide engaging delivery, or insightful examples. There were unaddressed errors in the quizzes and many questions addressed topics that either reflected the subjective opinion of the instructor, or were not mentioned in the lectures at all. In those instances, external resources were required to come to a solution. This would not be a problem, if this did not affect the majority of information required to pass this course.

автор: Lynda P

26 нояб. 2020 г.

I am new to online learning and to SQL and there is not enough information about how to proceed and complete the course, how to submit assignments and ask questions. To me there is not enough information in the course to complete the quiz and it took looking things up on the internet because much of the information in the quiz/test/assignments is not covered in enough detail to understand and complete the questions without additional research.

автор: Gregory B

14 мая 2019 г.

If I hadn't already been a little familiar with SQL before this I would have been pretty lost for a lot of this. A lot of the information presented could have used a little more details.

The quizzes often asked questions that involved material that wasn't in the course, as did the coding parts.

At the end of the day, I have had better experiences with some of the free courses available online (and learned more from them).

автор: Svetlana G

8 окт. 2019 г.

Good overview of SQL principals but very little practical information.

Tasks don't show correct solution so if you don't know how to solve it - you will never learn it.

Very poor support from admins/moderators. Even questions related to technical issues will stay unanswered. So again - if you didn't understand something from videos or have question outside of the scope - you will not learn it from this course.

автор: Maximilian W

12 апр. 2020 г.

The basics were explained adequately, but after that, the explanation often were very abstract and not really practical. I am a visual learner and I like to see pratical examples. The questions in the final exam were sometimes just tedious typing work. Sometimes the gap from what was explained in the video courses what was asked in the questions was a bit too steep.

автор: VerkC

1 мар. 2021 г.

This course is unbelievably terrible.

First, if we are using SQLite, at least the instructor could show us how to manage or operate SQLite once a while. Secondly, before we go over examples in lecture video, could instructor show ER diagram, or help students to get familiar with the data set first? Finally, the lecture is rather dry without enough examples

автор: Walker M P

13 апр. 2021 г.

This course is lacking a LOT. The presentations are uninspired and read directly off a script, and have no helpful explanatory background. The lectures themselves are WAY dumbed down compared to the actual quizzes - I struggle to see how anyone who's a true SQL beginner could pass a lot of these quizzes with information from the lectures only.

автор: Ling J

10 мар. 2021 г.

This instructor doesn't do a very good job elaborating on why we code this way. I had to take another instructor's sql class to finish the assignments. She gave me the impression that she read from a script entire time instead of talking about things that she really understands. But I do like the coding assignments which are very helpful.

автор: Dean B

30 нояб. 2020 г.

The lack of ability to follow along due to no common software or commands was extremely irritating. The brilliant idea that I should investigate one online and figure out how it works was what I thought I was taking the class for. Why not choose an open source program and focus on the methodologies?

автор: Scott K

12 дек. 2020 г.

Lectures were very bad. It sounded like she was reading a speech that was written the night before, with grammatical errors and all. Both over-explained simple things, and under explained complex things. I did most of my learning on https://www.sqlitetutorial.net in order to pass the assignments.