Chevron Left
Вернуться к SQL for Data Science

Отзывы учащихся о курсе SQL for Data Science от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Девисе

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 13,067

О курсе

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Лучшие рецензии

JG

22 авг. 2021 г.

I thought this course was great! Great introduction to Relational Databases and SQLite. Highly reccomend for anyone new to SQL, Databases, or someone looking to get started with a data science career.

JP

5 апр. 2020 г.

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

Фильтр по:

2526–2550 из 3,467 отзывов о курсе SQL for Data Science

автор: Rahul P

1 мая 2021 г.

The course structure is quite upto the mark and the lecturer Miss Sadie explains all the concept in an interesting way. There are 2 scope of improvements I suggest for this course:

-Using MySQL instead of SQLite because SQLite isn't used much in the industry

-Including Windows Function in this course itself instead of the other course ahead.

автор: Danielle M

24 апр. 2020 г.

I had issues with week 3. I think the outputs should have been included with the code during the videos so the examples would be more helpful. The forums were very disorganized. I commented on a post and asked a question but didn't receive help on either. Overall, I was happy with the class and am looking forward to the next one.

автор: Cristina R

10 янв. 2020 г.

This course gives a really good introduction to SQL, no pre-knowledge needed and it feels like the level reached at completion of the course is very satisfying for a 4-weeks program.

The final assignment is a bit confusing and could be improved, but the lecture videos and practice quiz at the end of each module are very well done.

автор: Sandra C G

26 апр. 2020 г.

Liked the lessons a lot, the examns and the assignment is slightly more complicated to the queries shown on the videos though. The level of exercises shown in the video lessons should be higher so students know what to expect from the exams and assignment. Aside from that, explanations are clear and the course is very enjoyable.

автор: David B

2 янв. 2018 г.

Great material and videos. However, the questions on the final are ambiguous and can be very challenging, and the final as a whole can take much longer than the anticipated 2 hours. On the other hand, if you can make it through the final, you will come out with a great introductory understanding of SQL by the end of the course.

автор: Cara M

3 мар. 2020 г.

I enjoyed the course and definitely know and understand SQL statements now. In the future, it would be helpful to provide additional tips on where to practice your SQL statements to help those of us who need that extra help.

The instructor was very clear in the videos which made it easy to follow. Thanks for a great course!

автор: mostacks757

2 сент. 2021 г.

Aside from stumbling over words, and clear video cuts, I think the course was effective, however there could be improvements but showing more examples during video demonstrations and more detailed explanations. Some parts of the course tells you to do something without properly explaining or demonstrating the WHY behind it.

автор: Kris

20 мая 2021 г.

Great course but could be better! I think the teacher should be more informational, and instructional in how to complete said tasks. I am currently taking the data wrangling course and that teacher walks through problems, and I think this course could benefit from doing the same. All in all a great course, but room to grow!

автор: Amber L

14 февр. 2020 г.

The course was informative and well- structured. However, I wish the course had more example problems in the lecture videos. I also wish the lecture sides showed the results of each query instead of just listing out the query. Overall, I feel like I had a good overview of SQL and some rudimentary knowledge on utilizing SQL.

автор: Christine M O

26 июля 2021 г.

I learned a lot but I needed a lot of extra tutoring from my husband to really grasp some of this stuff. There needs to be more examples shown of data, SQL and output, not just SQL. And there needs to be more practice of basic queries to really get the foundation down. I feel like I was scraping the surface of the basics.

автор: joshua k

9 янв. 2022 г.

G​reat course but will require focus, and dedication. Course teaches to its best ability but leaves out a few concepts that could be driven deeper like LIMIT, distribution, and few others. Overall great course but little difficult! Use outside resources to your advantage during this course to help grasp the information.

автор: Blair L

14 окт. 2019 г.

The course is easy to follow, well-explained and have enough hands-on to reinforce what we have learnt! However, the assignment and quizzes can be improved. Sometimes the contents of the quizzes are not covered by previous videos. Over all it is a good class for both beginners and people who want to refresh SQL concepts!

автор: James F

9 авг. 2021 г.

It was decent, covered a lot of questions I had about SQL (such as JOINS, performance difference between JOINs and SubQueries, etc) and encourages you to read further into the topics via external sources. However, there are parts that are very misleading, such as Views being only temporary, which is not always the case.

автор: Valencia

16 июля 2020 г.

Not so difficult with previous limited knowledge of SQL. Videos could be better with actually showing the output of the code that were included. First time hearing someone say SQL as 'sequel'... or is this how it's actually pronounced? Instructor had a calm and soothing voice, although her body language was messed up.

автор: James W

13 апр. 2022 г.

This course was very informative! It covered all the basics and used real-world scenarios in the practice sections. My only resommendation is to find a way to practice each subject right after you learn it, instead of learning a group of subjects and then trying to recall everything you learned for the practice quiz.

автор: Melfard S

1 апр. 2020 г.

I like the course, it was well done and exposed me to many of the key features needed to continue my SQL learning. The websites and other resources were extremely useful. The only wish there were more opportunities to practice SQL coding, maybe guidance to another site with questions, or more sample quizzes.

Thanks,

автор: Joaquin J C

1 нояб. 2021 г.

I​ would have loved more hands-on examples of how to use certain queries. In many occasions, I was forced to look up some concepts on YouTube to get a grasp of how it actually works and what results to expect instead of just a basic definition of what it does. However, it was a great and enjoyable course all along!

автор: Hannah M

1 мая 2021 г.

I found doing practice questions on other site helped contextualize the basics, but this course is definitely best suited for someone who is a self-starter. There are contexts and scenarios not covered in this course, and you have to seek out other problems and retrofit your understanding to do well in this course.

автор: Yusuf E

28 авг. 2018 г.

If the final assignment was not so ambiguous (many questions are misworded leading to wrong SQL codes, it is almost impossible to decipher what is being asked exactly) this course would have got 5 stars from me. Otherwise I liked the pace of the material other than maybe Week 1 and I enjoyed the coding quizzes.

автор: John F B T

20 дек. 2020 г.

Good course, learnt the basics of sql and some of it´s features. However, i think more excersises should be made, as it make you feel you didn´t train enough. Maybe one good option would be letting people hae acces to some databases, and then use a SQL program installed in the computer and work from there.

автор: Jeroni C S

19 нояб. 2019 г.

The course was great up until the final assignment which was very ambiguous. It was also a shame that they used such an old version of SQLite, where many functions are not available. However, I feel that it did fulfill the goal, which is to make their students be perfectly prepared for SQL in Data Science.

автор: Güray H

19 нояб. 2021 г.

It is not one of those too much detailed courses and for some stuff you will need to look them up in a different source. And it lacks coding and testing in the lessons. Maybe with lab sessions it would be better. On the good side exercises are great and they make you learn the most things in this course.

автор: AKSHAT S

28 июня 2021 г.

This course provided essential knowledge for using SQL in data analysis. The best part was the quizzes at the end of each module which enabled a complete practice of the concepts learned and the last exercise was very helpful to understand how SQL is deployed in solving real life data analysis problems.

автор: Sankalp B

12 янв. 2018 г.

It was a very good course. A person with no prior knowledge of SQL can easily learn this course. I would like to suggest that for certain sections like joins, date-time, the course provider may consider introducing some animation into the lecture videos to illustrate how data is being linked/extracted.

автор: Mayur G

9 июня 2020 г.

The course is good but lacks proper explanation of queris and required some more illustrative way to show the handling of queries in videos.Requires proper graphics and additional programming interface to sshow and run the various queries discussed by the tutor in the videos for better understanding.