Chevron Left
Вернуться к SQL for Data Science

Отзывы учащихся о курсе SQL for Data Science от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Девисе

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 10,485
Рецензии: 2,744

О курсе

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Лучшие рецензии

JP
5 апр. 2020 г.

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

JG
22 авг. 2021 г.

I thought this course was great! Great introduction to Relational Databases and SQLite. Highly reccomend for anyone new to SQL, Databases, or someone looking to get started with a data science career.

Фильтр по:

1951–1975 из 2,803 отзывов о курсе SQL for Data Science

автор: ABDUL A

4 сент. 2018 г.

good

автор: OUMAR B

26 мая 2020 г.

top

автор: Juan S R B

11 сент. 2021 г.

=)

автор: Ramces R

24 авг. 2021 г.

ok

автор: ZOILA M R R

18 мая 2021 г.

So

автор: ZHANG Y

12 апр. 2021 г.

!!

автор: Ángel G

6 сент. 2020 г.

GJ

автор: vishal c k

31 авг. 2020 г.

..

автор: M S

3 авг. 2020 г.

nj

автор: Nisarg C

20 июля 2021 г.

.

автор: arif s

8 июля 2021 г.

g

автор: CHRISTIAN M T

18 дек. 2020 г.

E

автор: Pierre K

30 нояб. 2020 г.

.

автор: AJEET S

7 нояб. 2020 г.

i

автор: Mohammed E

9 окт. 2020 г.

.

автор: Ayman M

24 авг. 2020 г.

a

автор: Dwi F A

23 авг. 2020 г.

-

автор: James P

8 мая 2020 г.

I

автор: Omkar G

11 мар. 2020 г.

.

автор: Magne V

12 июля 2019 г.

E

автор: Ganesh L

5 дек. 2018 г.

E

автор: Christian W

4 мар. 2021 г.

Probably I would give it a 3.5 if there was the option, but ok, let's leave it at 4. The reason is the way the whole course is presented, you go through all the videos and once you are done with them, there is a quiz and exams. There aren't any excersises between lessons taught in the videos, where the student can practice while the concepts are still fresh. For me that was not a problem since I have experience with SQL, but I could see someone with no experience struggling.

As a final comment, the final assesment have a big flaww: The instructions are not very clear. I am certanly not the only one that had a difficult time understanding what was expected... The biggest problem was related on the size of the data that is available for the final assignment. All is limited to 10K rows which means that when we try to join tables, for example a review on the users, not all the revies exist in the review table, but in the user table (review_count), we know that there are more reviews than what we can find on the other table. I have struggled with this because my approaches and desired analysis for the second part were not possible to realize

автор: Annamaria N R L S

23 апр. 2020 г.

Excellent course. Professor very knowledgeable and professional. A few minor observations -- the presenter could have broken down some of the larger topics (i.e. joins into separate modules and prepared more practice assignments, especially writing queries so the students could get more comfortable with the task. Also, the alerts when a students does not write a query correctly could be a bit more explicit (i.e. which"(" they are referring to). Furthermore, one of the questions in "Graded Assignment"in the Week 4 Module where the first question did not recognize one of my answers as correct, even though it was. Next, some of the questions in both the graded and final assignments were not clearly worded so it was a bit difficult to understand what they were asking. Finally, if I wanted to repeat or pause a portion of the video, it would often jump back on to the very beginning.

On the whole, however, this course was very informative, interesting, and enjoyable. A must for anyone interested in improving their skills in both data/database management and computer skills in general.

автор: Thanh N

28 июля 2018 г.

This course was my first exposure to SQL. Much of the topics covered were easy to follow. I would have liked to delve deeper into some of the course topics. Some of the lectures were a little vague with only the static PowerPoint background. It would be helpful if the lecture was overlaid with motion pictures to help demonstrate how some of the code works in practice. The option to practice SQL on a computer using SQL Server or SQLite for applicable practice would also have been appreciated. Typing SQL code into the website isn't the same as using the actual programs one would use for work. Also, upon course completion, the Coursera website indicates this is 1 of 3 courses. However, it is unclear what course 2 and 3 are. I would like to learn more as I am hoping to utilize my economics and mathematics background in the work force as a data analyst. Overall, I enjoyed this course and recommend it to other folks if a traditional college course is not a viable option. If the option is available, I strongly suggest enrolling in an accredited, recognized university program.

автор: Gabriel W

12 июля 2020 г.

Overall this course provided a great curriculum to begin learning SQL basics as well as thinking about data in a scientific way. My only real feedback would be that I frequently had to look elsewhere on the internet for examples to understand the syntax and rules of each operator or function that was introduced. The core video lessons sometimes provide only one or sometimes zero examples of how to use the operator or function being discussed. More specific examples would be helpful. I am a native English speaker and still had occasional difficulty understanding what the instructor was trying to communicate during some of the video lessons. Many of the sessions could have been edited for clarity, especially when many students of the course are non-native speakers. Overall I learned a great deal and understand the basics of SQL such that I feel confident moving onto the next course and expanding my skillset. Thank you!