Chevron Left
Вернуться к SQL for Data Science

Отзывы учащихся о курсе SQL for Data Science от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Девисе

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 14,370

О курсе

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Лучшие рецензии

GC

29 дек. 2022 г.

Great course! A solid way to introduce a learner to programming in SQL!! Sadie is an amazing online instructor! Thank you to Sadie and UC Davis for offering this course through the Coursera platform!!

JG

22 авг. 2021 г.

I thought this course was great! Great introduction to Relational Databases and SQLite. Highly reccomend for anyone new to SQL, Databases, or someone looking to get started with a data science career.

Фильтр по:

2801–2825 из 3,778 отзывов о курсе SQL for Data Science

автор: Kausik D

1 мая 2018 г.

Overall a good course for the starters in SQL in Dtaa Science filed, however I felt it could be some more hands-on oriented with some more examples, and it was mainly of lecture contents, rather things could be shown visually for a better understanding. Thank You for the videos.

автор: Sabarish A

31 мар. 2020 г.

Would have loved to see more live videos of how to do stuff. There could have also been an SQL initial setup tutorials in the system which would have been more beneficial on how to setup a relational database. But, I was able to learn the basics of SQL and how it works overall.

автор: Stefan T

14 окт. 2022 г.

Helpful but very dense towards the end, where it mostly gives brief examples on how to use the more advanced SQL features. The final assignment would be relatively challenging without prior experience or further reading. Some of the questions are phrased somewhat ambiguously.

автор: Ivan K

4 сент. 2020 г.

Buen curso que permite aprender SQL de forma rápida y eficaz cuando buscas mejorar tu CV y obtener habilidades necesarias para el sector de análisis de datos. La última prueba es un poco compleja...¡dedicale tiempo! No te copies de los github que puedas encontrar en la web ;-)

автор: Mehul U

2 авг. 2020 г.

Very good course for beginners to start and specially for people without any programming background. The assignment provided at the end of every module give a very good exercise for practice. Only thing is some real life examples could also have been included in the lectures.

автор: Pong C X

6 мар. 2021 г.

Questions in the final assignment are rather ambiguous. More can be done to make the questions more specific and easier to interpret. Examples presented in the course were also very sparse and basic. However the syllabus covered the basics to get you started on learning SQL.

автор: Dimitra M

4 дек. 2020 г.

This is a very good and useful course to take if you work or want to work with SQL. It provides a very wide ranged knowledge on SQL. One recommendation from me is that it could be a slightly more hand-on in SQLite along with the videos so that sudents can play with the code.

автор: SHALINI G

19 июня 2018 г.

I really appreciate the way SQL is taught in this course. The only limitation is that if the coding given by the student does not match the coding in the answer , then it is displayed as incorrect. However the coding might be technically right and generate the same output.

автор: Parth S

16 июня 2019 г.

The amount of content that is covered in this course is very comprehensive. The videos are precise and very useful. The practice tests and weekly assignments are very helpful. The peer review assignment was very poorly worded and ambiguous. Other than that good job guys !

автор: N K P N

10 июля 2020 г.

Please add a video in the course for instruction on installing any SQL Studio to computer. More practice exercises are needed in the course itself. Some of the videos in 3rd and 4th week were were hard to understand without proper examples. Overall a good course. Thanks!

автор: Juan S M Q

11 мая 2020 г.

For some people don't care about assignments, so they don't take the time to review the work of other properly. Two of three take time and they reviews my work and the last didn't care about and he gave me a bad score! It is not fare! I took the right time to do it well

автор: Danli Y

24 авг. 2020 г.

This course is a perfect start for those who have no basis for SQL to learn basic statements and possible applications. However, the lecture videos are too short and do not provide enough examples. I have to spend much more time googling before doing any assignments.

автор: Burak K

12 авг. 2020 г.

I think the course is well designed for intorduction to sql language for data science. One more thing about the course is that I cannot open and use the sqlite. If there is a bit more information about the usage of sqlite, it will be great. Thanks for this course !

автор: Firoz G

25 июля 2022 г.

No specific tools are being used, they talk about SQLite but you don't really use anything. When programming in the coding quizzes, it does not automate as it will do in reality and it gets too dull to go and check the names correctly when it wouldn't be needed to.

автор: Anibal V

9 янв. 2022 г.

The instructional videos were excellent. Overall the course help me remember what I'd learned about SQL many years ago and also introduced me to some new knowledge.

The instructions on how to evaluate some of the questions in the final assessment were ambiguous.

автор: ninghao h

9 авг. 2022 г.

if there has Chinese translation would be better.And the final assignment made me confused because I barely know how to use the sandbox versus the new database. I mean it's more confused to know where to get my data than I did in the former quiz and assignment.

автор: Yousra R

24 сент. 2020 г.

Good lecture very helpful as for people who are new to SQL. The only thing that I would recommend is to give more explanations in quizzes. I wasted two days asking for help for the support just because i thought there was an error in the settings of the website

автор: Verónica N C

1 нояб. 2020 г.

The content was excellent. I learned a lot but I would like to share that in my experience it took more time than estimated, especially to complete the final project.

It should present a better time estimation in order to support users in managing their time.

автор: Artur T

9 авг. 2020 г.

Very good practical exercises, while the lectures are worse. Lecturer mostly reads text written on slides, therefore learner need additionally to read some information online with more examples to have more clear picture and be ready for practical assignment.

автор: Cansu

27 дек. 2022 г.

It would’ve been better if we can use the functions as we learn on the videos right after the video plays not the end of the all videos. Also, when we see the code is written, I wish the code is run because when I see the end result, I understand better.  

автор: Saisha M

18 мая 2019 г.

I personally found the course really helpful. I recently started working on SAS and this SQL course came in handy. I'm planning on taking a course on SAS now. I'd recommend this course to anyone who wants to get started with SQL, it's a pretty basic course.

автор: Víctor M A

23 авг. 2022 г.

Nice for begginers. Would have been nice to have the databases used in the course available to download and use with SQLite Studio. Specially the Yelp data, it was very difficult to work on the final assigment in the tiny screen provided in the website.

автор: Felix G

27 апр. 2022 г.

Best course to learn and go a bit further than entry level in SQL (some intermediate stuff there definitely)).

Only missing star is for data quality in the final assignment that is ok but could be better.

Very nice course over all with very good approach :)

автор: Julia G

5 мая 2020 г.

The material in the course was good and very useful, clearly structured. The only comment I would give that I didnt like the way material was presented, you could feel that it was read not told and presenter was inexperienced with reading from the screen.