Chevron Left
Вернуться к Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python от партнера IBM

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 15,101
Рецензии: 1,920

О курсе

Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a powerful language which is used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. A working knowledge of databases and SQL is a must if you want to become a data scientist. The purpose of this course is to introduce relational database concepts and help you learn and apply foundational knowledge of the SQL language. It is also intended to get you started with performing SQL access in a data science environment. The emphasis in this course is on hands-on and practical learning . As such, you will work with real databases, real data science tools, and real-world datasets. You will create a database instance in the cloud. Through a series of hands-on labs you will practice building and running SQL queries. You will also learn how to access databases from Jupyter notebooks using SQL and Python. No prior knowledge of databases, SQL, Python, or programming is required. Anyone can audit this course at no-charge. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you can also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Лучшие рецензии

BS

20 мая 2020 г.

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

SA

22 апр. 2020 г.

The lessons were short and easy to follow, providing all the basics as well as a few more advanced topics, to get student quickly up-to-speed on databases and SQL and their application in D/S realm.

Фильтр по:

1351–1375 из 1,936 отзывов о курсе Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

автор: Aqeel A A

13 окт. 2021 г.

автор: Vu C T

1 сент. 2021 г.

автор: Ali C B

17 нояб. 2020 г.

.

автор: koradedinesh@johndeere.com

23 янв. 2020 г.

G

автор: Mao T T

22 мар. 2020 г.

Of the courses in this professional data science certificate I have taken, this is probably the best designed one. The labs force you to think and apply what you learnt in the video and not simply make minor modification to example codes. By the end of the course, I have internalized some of the commands. Overall, the labs were rather effective at drilling the concepts into students.

Some of the labs in the second week were rather lazily written. Instead of asking students to practice what they saw in the videos, all labs should contain actual questions that ask students to apply what they have learnt to new examples and problems, forcing them to think about what they have learnt.

The grading system is also in need of improvement. Some graders do not seem to know what they are doing. Simply resubmitting the assignment can result in a drastically improved score simply because the first grader was marking down answers that were actually correct. Perhaps there could be multiple graders assigned to any single assignment and the average score taken, or something to that effect.

автор: Dinesh M

20 апр. 2022 г.

I​ found it had the right balance of sql coding exercises with clear and illustrtive practise task. Although I personally never asked a question in the forum, the answers to existing posers aided me well. I must say the staff were empathetic and their responses in the forum generally exuded this friendly spirit, which is very important to code newbies. It's a huge bonus to learn IBM's cloud service interface alongside sql through this course and I didn't find the application interface overwhelming as some of the tech firms offering, I still found it difficult to access different resources like the sql studio and jupyter notebook on ibm cloud and the documentation there wasn't the most intuitive. I would give a five star when these resource links are made easier to identify.

автор: Amy P

8 мая 2019 г.

This is a great course and I particularly appreciated the integration with Python/Jupyter notebooks. As in previous courses in the IBM certificate program, the labs were the highlight. They challenged students to answer questions using real data sets. Going from start to finish - from sourcing and downloading data all the way to analysis - was very helpful in mastering all of the techniques.

A couple of sections felt out of place: in my opinion, the optional database schema topics could become a separate course of their own, while the section on joins deserved more attention. The lecture slides, with the pictures of interconnected tables, were a bit hard to read and could do with an upgrade. Overall though, great pacing, with easily digestible videos. Highly recommend.

автор: NS

8 нояб. 2021 г.

First of all I would like to thank all the instructors and all the staff for their contribution in making this course and helping out students in times of need.T​he course was well designed and a lot of topic they have covered in this course related to Database and SQL. However, the main issue a lot of the students including me have faced was the use of IBM cloud account and IBM skilled network labs. The skilled network was down and it is still down for maintenance purposes in the middle of the course without having any back up service in place. It was really annoying and I lost a lot of time due to this problem. For the perspective students I wish you all the best and once more to all the instructors and to all the staff thank you.

автор: Yohaunin Z

1 сент. 2021 г.

I think the learning process was easy with this one, minus a technical issue, so far this one has been my favorite:

Learning the various commands in SQL was very simple and straight forward, the course was surprisingly detailed regarding SQL, using Python with a database api to interact with the database Db2, establishing a connection to that database and using SQL magic to make interacting with Db2 more simple and straightforward.

There was a technical issues with SQL Magic (resolved) ,

however the course is very easy to study, surprisingly detailed, includes lots of hands on labs to practice coding on, it even comes with a bonus section for more advanced people.

Overall I really enjoyed this course!!!

автор: PIERRE A

18 февр. 2020 г.

I propose you to put all the option chapiters in a advanced certificate for this course.

It was "a long journey" for me but I was motivated to complete this class.

Thank you very much.

I do love your videos and the Hands on lab.

Please note that before taking this class I knew nothing in coding in sql and python!

But now, I appreciate it and find it very easy to understand!!!! I'm sure that your good way to teach this class using all the matreials has contribuated to help me!

I m going know to buy 2 books: for more advanced knowledge, one in sql programming and the 2nd in python for data science!!

Thank you very much

👌👍👌👍😍😍

автор: David A

9 сент. 2018 г.

This course is good for anyone who is a complete beginner, new to, or looking to refresh their knowledge of Structured Query Languages (SQL). Ideally would have liked to have a lesson on optimizing SQL queries since many queries become inefficient for data tables with very large row counts, but I understand this didn't make sense since the free IBM DB2 database they have you set up has a size limit of 100 MB. No need for optimization with data this small, but it's still something they should have at least mentioned in the course as an optional lesson. Overall, nice course for learning or refreshing SQL and database concepts.

автор: Shuo J

5 авг. 2020 г.

The instructor and course materials are very good! But the peer reviewing for the assignment is NOT well-organized, as one problem in my assignment was not graded correctly, and obviously it's a "trembling hand error" made by the grader. Coursera has in-built mechanism to prevent such error: it uses median grade for each problem as your grade. But this mechanism only works if each problem is graded by enough students, which is not the case in this course based on my observations in the forum. I would suggest the course designer to require each student to grade at least three assignments before they can earn the certificate.

автор: shaza s

20 янв. 2022 г.

Course is very well-structured, organized and satisfied an optimum balance between theory and practical practice. The hands on labs were very rich and endorsed the learning process greatly. For a first time learner of SQL, this course provided me with a solid foundation in a very reasonable amount of time. My only comments would be on the Db2 cloud that sometimes is inaccessible and the peer-review assignments that was sometime not graded fairly, yet The instructors were very helpfull and resopnsed to both situations I faced in a very timely manner. Overall, highly recommended course.

автор: Cia A Y

22 авг. 2021 г.

This course was structured well and very informative. I was able to understand everything well even with very minimal SQL and Python knowledge at the beginning of this course.

One point of improvement is the service credential/connection issue faced by many people that prevented us from doing the assignments and thus continuing with the course. For me, the root of the problem was the location of my account (I chose the US instead of London, UK). The organisers of this course should further look into the cause(s) of the connection problem and ensure that it gets fixed ASAP.

автор: Helena R

1 мая 2022 г.

Alot was learnt from the course. It proved to be quite challenging with connection issues. While I was able to complete the course, I have have preferred to have had better explantions for the chellenges experience instead of being re-routed to another environment since, initially, optional labs were not done. Would have also preferred to have access to slides from the course material. But to create a balance, I did learn a,ot from the contents. The TAs/STAFF were really responsive as I did bcome depressed and overwhelmed because I felt so challenged. Thank you.

автор: My R

28 июля 2021 г.

The course itself was very interesting and well organized. However, I second previous comments underlining the issues with Db2. It took me at least an hour with around 30 failed attempts. I was only able to access Db2 after switching the location to Dallas. I also agree with some learners that the peer review assignment was a source of frustration. I received 2/26 even though my answers included all required elements with correct outputs. Overall, it was a good learning experience so I still would recommend this course despite the aforementioned hiccups.

автор: Julie W

24 авг. 2021 г.

Efficiently taught me how to perform SQL queries. I had several issues with accessing DB2 (which wasn't Coursera's fault) which negatively impacted how quickly I wanted to finish the course. There was one question on the final assignment that the wording should be changed to make the question more clear. It reads, "List the average safety score for all types of schools." It would be more clear if it read "List the average safety score for each of the types of schools." Overall I came away with a good understanding of the course material.

автор: Manuel C

16 янв. 2020 г.

The class was very enjoyable and very easy to follow. My only complaint is that if the final assignment is going to be assigned such a high weight, then it should require more than 1 person to review it. My assignment met criteria to receive full points, but the person who graded mine clearly blew through it and assigned me partial credit where I should have received full credit. I still passed and enjoyed the class, but it was frustrating to successfully complete the assignment only to be dinged by some inattentive grader.

автор: Ryan K

28 нояб. 2018 г.

4 stars only because I think the intended coursework is pretty good but to be honest the execution is pretty average. The course will be much better if the mentors are more active in the the discussion. Right now the discussions in the forums are mostly driven by the students in the class and it will be better if the supposedly mentors are move involved to provide support. Some of the courses in edX are pretty solid in this area and I think it really adds to the overall learning experience.

автор: Laura G

6 дек. 2019 г.

the peer assignment took awhile b/c you had to do the hands on assignments in the cloud to get in and try in python. Already know databases and breezed through it all except for the submission could not figure out how to get into the cloud and where to type in the sql within python. The syntax stated "%%sql". It was %sql <query> on the same line. Learned from many earlier in discussion group. Another had the same question about invalid syntax and couldn't figure out what was wrong.

автор: dipanjan c

22 июня 2020 г.

Please let me know why wont I receive my certificate upon submitting my assignment?

Why do I have to wait for reviewing someone's assignment.Moreover I have reviewed two other assignments still I did not receive any certificate.

I would be applying for a job interview where I would be needing my certificate asap but there has been this problem. Try to get rid of these problems.

The instructor or the staffs are late to give responses to any problem.

Please look into these issues

автор: Stewart M

4 сент. 2019 г.

Would highly recommend the course, online learning material very good. Had connections issues with SQL server. Techy background helps. Be prepared to be patient and tackle technical connection and speed issues when running SQL queries. No course documentation warns you of the potential problems and the time estimates to complete the weekly module/tasks need to ignored. Monitor support weak as can be seen by the non-responses to questions in the forums.

автор: Joshua S

15 июня 2021 г.

This is my 6th course in the Data Analyst program. Like the other classes before this there was a lot of good information presented through the videos, the labs were very useful, and the quizzes were pertinent to the information learned in class. Also, like the courses before the final assignment is way more difficult than the practice labs and the "instructor" or coursera helpers answered ambiguously and was hard to get a hold of.

автор: Francisco M

21 янв. 2020 г.

The course is good but sometimes the exercise texts are not very clear and some of the lessons are very straightforward, leaving many doubts. The course should have a larger series of exercises and an automatic correction system that facilitates the review of the exercises. In addition, it would be interesting to have a module on how to use IBMDB2 without the online platform, but through Jupyter on the computer.

автор: SELEMANI S J

9 авг. 2018 г.

Apart from errors in the open source tools for the hands on labs, this course is fantastic and well crafted to introduce Databases and SQL. the optional sections are useful for those without good grasp of knowledge about databases and their types. make sure to take them. The labs are good, but always there is connection problems. If they will fix this, it will be one of the best introduction courses out there.