Chevron Left
Вернуться к Спорт и общество

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Спорт и общество от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 1,062
Рецензии: 289

О курсе

Sports play a giant role in contemporary society worldwide. But few of us pause to think about the larger questions of money, politics, race, sex, culture, and commercialization that surround sports everywhere. This course draws on the tools of anthropology, sociology, history, and other disciplines to give you new perspectives on the games we watch and play. It's the new and improved version of Professor Orin Starn's original "Sports and Society" for Coursera, which drew more than 40,000 students. We will focus on both popular sports like soccer (or “football,” as anyone outside America calls it), basketball, and baseball, and also lesser-known ones like mountain-climbing and fishing. You will never watch or think about sports in the same way again....

Лучшие рецензии

MM

11 нояб. 2016 г.

I loved this particular course. The topics are relevant. Each topic is supported by historical facts and examples and how is it relevant in the present time. It was a great learning experience!!!

RK

13 янв. 2017 г.

This course tells us about how social customs and traditions have contributed to the evolution of sports and how sports has vice versa reflected the changes in social order of any age.

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 289 отзывов о курсе Спорт и общество

автор: Michael R

10 мая 2020 г.

Videos were awesome and readings were still applicable even in 2020. Only feedback would be update some of the readings to more current and a section on E-Sports.

автор: Joshua J F

12 июня 2017 г.

The content and delivery of the course were excellent. Professor Orin Starn is a star educator: knowledgeable, entertaining, funny, engaging, and very accessible.

автор: Susan M

1 февр. 2022 г.

​I really enjoyed this course. I am a sports fan but learned so much! Things I never thought of! Really liked the professor. He made this course so interesting!!

автор: Valeria F

13 июня 2020 г.

Very interesting cours! i've enjoyed evrey single lecture.

I learned a lot about sports world, that's great!

Thank you Professor Orin Starn and Duke University.

автор: Carlos A H H

29 авг. 2020 г.

Muy bueno. Naturalmente, el curso no puede ser detallado, aunque sí remite a una cantidad conciderable de fuentes para continuar con estudios sobre el deporte.

автор: Patricia G

25 мая 2021 г.

I signed up for this course to learn about the history of global sports and found the course and professor to be detailed, informative, and very interesting.

автор: Timothy T

10 сент. 2019 г.

Very interesting and a lot of great information. Easy to pick up and learn, and get through it to broaden my knowledge of sports! Had a great time learning.

автор: Andrew V

8 апр. 2017 г.

This course was very good and well structured. Professor is very professional. I get a lot inmportant information and many fun moments. Thank you so much

автор: Donald L C

8 нояб. 2021 г.

As a Physical Education major, average athlete, and coach, this was an excellent opportunity to study play, games and sport from a different perspective

автор: Anne M v B

25 апр. 2018 г.

I really enjoyed the course! I feel it touches all of the subjects around sports and helps you understand the evolution and impact they have in society.

автор: Willard J

23 мая 2019 г.

Really great course that explores the various ways sports have an impact and are reflections of human society and various cultures. Really interesting!

автор: Junior L A

22 мая 2020 г.

Excelente curso, excelente material, super entendible y agradable. Muchas gracias a todo el equipo que hizo posible tremendo curso!. Felicitaciones!

автор: Yash C

11 нояб. 2017 г.

ABsolutely loved the course, Dr. Starn's words are very intricate and have taught me very well. Looking forward to more classes by him on coursera.

автор: Jose O G B

24 июля 2020 г.

For all those who are in the sports bussiness, it is fundamental to understand the role it plays in modern society and economics, great content

автор: varun h

7 мая 2020 г.

This course was really helpful in order to understand the various different aspects of different types of sports.Prof. Orin was simply amazing.

автор: Devan F

28 июня 2020 г.

Well, throughout lectures that were interesting and engaging. I found that I was never bored and that it was challenging but still manageable.

автор: Tim H

13 сент. 2019 г.

Great course that brought to light something we watch and do everyday but without knowing the history of it. Look forward to further courses.

автор: Pietro R

27 окт. 2020 г.

The teacher is quite engaging, the man has showmanship! Add that the content is really interesting and you get a 5 stars course. Recommended!

автор: ADITYA S

27 мая 2018 г.

The course covers every aspect on which the modern sports foundation have been laid. Many thanks to Mr. Orin for sharing his knowledge to us.

автор: Annigje F

21 янв. 2016 г.

Great course! Basic info on how sports were, and are, looked at from a society point of view. Broad information about many various subjects.

автор: Launee R

28 апр. 2021 г.

Very good course. As a PE teacher it has allowed to greater understand the sociology behind some of the content I teach. Very enlightening.

автор: Carlos A M P

4 июля 2017 г.

This is a great journey with the great Orin Starn's guide through the history and different perspectives of sports in the human history.

автор: Dawit A

26 окт. 2021 г.

An eye opening course that helps to shed light on different aspect of sports. Really enjoyed it and learned to see sport holistically.

автор: Claudia R B

29 окт. 2020 г.

Great course , excellent classes .

I really enjoyed it .

It was great to have a course which analysed sports from this perspective .

автор: Abhishek G

1 сент. 2017 г.

This course has given me a whole new perspective of looking at Sports now. It's been enriching, informative & insightful. Thank You!