Chevron Left
Вернуться к Spatial Data Science and Applications

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Spatial Data Science and Applications от партнера Университет Ёнсе

4.4
звезд
Оценки: 172
Рецензии: 57

О курсе

Spatial (map) is considered as a core infrastructure of modern IT world, which is substantiated by business transactions of major IT companies such as Apple, Google, Microsoft, Amazon, Intel, and Uber, and even motor companies such as Audi, BMW, and Mercedes. Consequently, they are bound to hire more and more spatial data scientists. Based on such business trend, this course is designed to present a firm understanding of spatial data science to the learners, who would have a basic knowledge of data science and data analysis, and eventually to make their expertise differentiated from other nominal data scientists and data analysts. Additionally, this course could make learners realize the value of spatial big data and the power of open source software's to deal with spatial data science problems. This course will start with defining spatial data science and answering why spatial is special from three different perspectives - business, technology, and data in the first week. In the second week, four disciplines related to spatial data science - GIS, DBMS, Data Analytics, and Big Data Systems, and the related open source software's - QGIS, PostgreSQL, PostGIS, R, and Hadoop tools are introduced together. During the third, fourth, and fifth weeks, you will learn the four disciplines one by one from the principle to applications. In the final week, five real world problems and the corresponding solutions are presented with step-by-step procedures in environment of open source software's....

Лучшие рецензии

MW

Aug 14, 2018

Great course. It helps I have a background in both Data Science and Geographic Information Science, but still found it equally interesting and challenging! I would highly recommend this course.

IE

Jul 05, 2019

very insightful and impacting session laced with applicable examples and contemporary issues. Thank you coursera. Thank you Yonsei University.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 56 отзывов о курсе Spatial Data Science and Applications

автор: Jesús A A E

Jun 07, 2019

Excellent course content overall. However, the lack of practical exercises to actually apply what is covered in the lectures really decreases the course value. I would advise to make this an specialization with hands-on practice, since the range of topics the course includes is just too dense to effectively leave a solid, real-world applicable knowledge in 6 weeks.

автор: Rustom S S

Apr 08, 2018

Very boring and no hands on content.

автор: Gopinath P

Sep 03, 2019

The course is way overloaded with way too many concepts.It should have clear prerequisites and defined educational background before taking.Some concepts are really vaguely described and pushed on.Can really improve on this.

автор: Kumar R

Jul 27, 2019

The course is at introductory level and not intermediate. There is a good "basic information", but no hands-on exercise. That leaves a lot that actually needs to be learned upon the student. So, in my opinion, the course doesnt even consider the skill building at introductory level from an introductory standpoint.

автор: CHESSEL P

Jul 16, 2019

The course presents a good overview of Data Science techniques applied to Spatial Data topics. It is very compact and exhaustive. Mostly theorethical.

I think a second part of this course should be created with in-depth coverage with practical exercises (e.g setting up a hadoop system with MapReduce, pig, Hive).

This way, students could learn a lot more than by simply watching the videos offered. Further, please provide the well designed slides for download.

автор: Stanislava G

Aug 06, 2018

Very good overview of tools used for Spatial Data Science and explained their benefits and limitations for many real-life problems. Applications are shown on examples using real-life data, and it also provides a few good tips for external resources. Some hands-on exercises would be nice.

автор: Zack D

Jun 08, 2018

Overall good course. Rated as intermediate but more beginner in my opinion. Lots of overlap with what i would expect in an 'vanilla' data science course. If youve taken anything like that expect to hear alot of things you have heard before but does thuroughly extend in to the spatial aspect and application.

I would have perferred a little more emphasis on analysis techniques and deeper applications. I was also suprised by no direct application of for the student at all. all video based no hands on.

Last couple of quizes are also pretty tough, mostly from the fact that they are poorly written and difficult to answer from an infromed perspective.

автор: Satish M

Mar 02, 2019

The course was very knowledgeable. But there were some lack of practical exercises. The students should have been provided with the basic tutorial of the software. We have learned many things in theory but not practically. Overall I rate it 3 out of 5.

автор: Michael B

Jun 11, 2018

I learned about different spatial data science techniques, but didn't get a chance to try them out. I wish we spent more time on the spatial data analytics portion of the curriculum, and less on spatial data science architectures.

автор: Daniel L

Apr 04, 2018

This was an excellent course. I honestly thought I had pretty good handle on this topic, but I learned a lot of new concepts and applications and deepened my existing knowledge base. Furthermore, I really enjoyed the real world examples in the last section. In particular, the military infiltration example was very interesting. Thank you!

автор: Rodrigo V

Nov 24, 2018

This course was very comprehensive, explanatory and introduced me to some complex applications of spatial data science.

I found the practical problem applications of the last week most useful to integrate the concepts. I think having some similar problems as homework assignments throughout the course could also be very helpful.

автор: Robson M d S

Nov 15, 2019

Excelent course for a quicly introduce and comprehension of tools and principles of spatial data science. Of course as all thecnological courses it do not allow your to develop professional works without a pratical trainging but offers a very good background for a search by ourself.

автор: Rudy M P

Aug 05, 2019

The class struck a great balance between technology, science and business, which really helped me find my way through GIS. I need to praise the teacher for the structure of the class and for his diagrams: the clearly conveyed a conveyed the his experience and mastery of the topic.

автор: Johans A A

Oct 12, 2018

An excellent course, it was an introduction to spatial data science and all techniques that we might apply for different solutions. This course gave us a valuable idea of spatial data science and the importance of the 4 main disciplines of this exciting field. Thanks a lot!

автор: Aleksandar M

Feb 10, 2019

Good course that gives quality review on what spatial data science is and what can you do with it. It doesn't teach you how to use programs, rather gives you instructions what programs you should learn and powers of each program.

автор: Michael B W

Aug 14, 2018

Great course. It helps I have a background in both Data Science and Geographic Information Science, but still found it equally interesting and challenging! I would highly recommend this course.

автор: David A E

Nov 11, 2019

Excellent course. Knowledge in the course is well presented and concise and gives you basic and even intermediate level of understanding spatial daa anlysis.

автор: Imoh E

Jul 05, 2019

very insightful and impacting session laced with applicable examples and contemporary issues. Thank you coursera. Thank you Yonsei University.

автор: Pankaj W

Dec 07, 2019

Great course which starts with basics, gets descriptive with examples, real life scenarios, usage of software. Definitely recommended.

автор: Rolando N F V

Oct 03, 2018

Very good course, especially regarding spatial database, because my knowledge was limited only to a spatial analysis.

автор: Yeosan Y

Mar 14, 2018

Thanks for your wonderful lecture! :)

It really helped me to understand Spatial Data processing.

автор: sachin j

Mar 21, 2020

most of the part is covered a good value addition course for spatial data science.

автор: Bernard D W J

Feb 15, 2018

The most comprehensive introductory cause in Geo-spatial Data science . I love it.

автор: Sergiy S

Jan 19, 2019

Nice course! But need more practice, something like project-oriented course/

автор: Alejandro R

Jul 02, 2018

Excelent!! It could be an specialization of Spatial Data Science!!