Chevron Left
Вернуться к Geospatial and Environmental Analysis

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Geospatial and Environmental Analysis от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Девисе

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 785
Рецензии: 150

О курсе

Apply your GIS knowledge in this course on geospatial analysis, focusing on analysis tools, 3D data, working with rasters, projections, and environment variables. Through all four weeks of this course, we'll work through a project together - something unique to this course - from project conception, through data retrieval, initial data management and processing, and finally to our analysis products. In this class you will learn the fundamentals of geospatial and environmental analysis during four week-long modules: Week 1: Tour ArcToolbox and learn how to use common geospatial analysis tools built into ArcGIS Week 2: Gain a working understanding of raster data models: symbolize, reproject, overlay, and assess rasters. Take a detour into 3D data models, and interpolation of observations into 3D surfaces and rasters Week 3: Go in-depth on projections and coordinate systems, which are foundational to all GIS. Learn how to use environment variables to constrain your analyses and get better quality data products. Week 4: Expand your knowledge of symbology. Learn how to visually display your data by classifying it in logical groupings and then symbolizing it on your map. Take Geospatial and Environmental Analysis as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. You should have equivalent experience to completing the first and second courses in this specialization, "Fundamentals of GIS" and "GIS Data Formats, Design, and Quality", before taking this course. By completing this third class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program....

Лучшие рецензии

AA

May 05, 2019

Like the previous courses on this specialization, this course is well prepared, the lectures are clear and the assignments designed to reinforce the learner's skills. I have really enjoyed it.

AC

Oct 02, 2019

Useful information on spatial analysis, rasters, coordinate systems.\n\nAnd a guided tour on approaching a personal project.\n\nThe lessons are well structured and the teacher easy to follow.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 146 отзывов о курсе Geospatial and Environmental Analysis

автор: Asif N

Oct 30, 2016

Good chance for learners to indulge more practically than just theoretical work.

автор: Blake S

Feb 20, 2020

This course is a wonderful exploration of some of the tools at the disposal of a GIS practitioner. Nick provided wonderful applicable examples and did a great job clearly explaining the process of doing, and the processes behind doing many of the geospatial analysis functions available through Arc GIS. The only issue with the class was the use of Arc Desktop instead of Arc Pro. The benefit of this was the value in seeing the stripped down GUI behind the scenes of many of the more user friendly functions of Pro. However, with industry standards moving towards Pro, it would have been nice to get more experience on the platform that many of us will probably be using in the field.

автор: Bojan C

Sep 15, 2016

This was very demanding course for me. However, at the end that is the only way one can learn things properly. Video lessons are interesting as well as exercises, and the tools and workflows that have been shown to us have been very clearly explained and demonstrated. I hope I will be able to continue with next course in a row and finally finish Capstone Project and earn the Certificate.

автор: Pratyush

Jul 12, 2017

This course was very interesting and the final assignment was quite challenging although we had been provided with sufficient knowledge on how to do the analysis, there is always a difference between knowing the formula and doing the formula.

Anyway, the practice materials and demo data provided was quite good enough to get the understanding of doing an analysis.

Thanks Nick

автор: Alexander W

Jul 04, 2018

Excellent way to learn GIS, challenging but very rewarding class. Nick does a great job integrating many tools and data analysis techniques in real-world situations. These classes are definitely for anyone who wants to try to apply themselves and learn GIS skills. I really like the grading structure and how the course is scheduled through the month. Cheers!

автор: Jose B

Aug 27, 2019

Nick has hit it out of the ballpark again. The information provided was very powerful, and it was explained in clear and concise way. Some of the topics seemed slightly out of place when first presented, but it all came together in the final project. Learned a lot from the course. Kudos to the instructor and the UC Davis team.

автор: Simon D

Jun 21, 2018

The courses for this specialism have been very good, I have learned so much already that I can put into practice. It did take some time to get to grips with the final project, I was told I was over thinking things. Thanks Nick for another great course, will see you for the next one once I get the mountain of work out of the way.

автор: Lucia F

Apr 20, 2018

Nice course part of the specialisation. The final assessment was a bit confusing and then, the review criteria did not take into account some of the 'products' we had to do according to the instructions. It was almost like you could have submit whatever. Anyway, I do not work in that way so I did it right. that is why 5 stars.

автор: Shwahibu M

Jun 15, 2017

I am real thankful and joyful for this accomplishment! though challenging but I made it, for those who are yet to decide to get enrolled to this course I encourage you not to hesitate any more, it is a great course to make you more comfortable as a GIS analyst.

автор: Ziyi W

May 23, 2019

Wow, the Geospatial and Environmental Analysis course has an impressively deep coverage of GIS knowledge! I truly learned a voracious number of useful skills. I also enjoyed the additional videos on how to design and conduct a project in GIS. Excellent course!

автор: Tulaci B

Oct 30, 2017

O curso foi muito surpreendente para mim, apesar de conhecer algumas das ferramentas, a forma de trabalho foi muito importante e as maneiras de usá-las para análises que pode em muito contribuir para quem deseja fazer mais com estudos em geoprocessamento.

автор: Akhil C

Sep 08, 2018

I have learned GIS from many platform and all of them were based on vector analysis. This particular course was based on raster analysis which takes you altogether to a new dimension of GIS. Overall, I am more than satisfied with this course

автор: Jafed E

Jul 06, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

автор: Garima

Aug 27, 2018

This was overall an amazing course. It was a bit different from other course especially the final assignment which lay more stress on raster analysis than vector analysis. Overall, I am personally more than satisfied with this course.

автор: Benjamin S

May 16, 2018

This series continues to be a good introduction to the capabilities of ArcGIS. The videos are laid out in a progression that makes sense and the final assignment does a good job of incorporating the major points from the videos.

автор: Cornelya F C K

Jun 28, 2017

This is a great extension of the previous two ArcGIS courses and I learned a lot! Nick Santos, the teacher, is really very nice and competent and manages to be concise in his instructions and lectures.

автор: Abdulaziz A

May 05, 2019

Like the previous courses on this specialization, this course is well prepared, the lectures are clear and the assignments designed to reinforce the learner's skills. I have really enjoyed it.

автор: Olushola ( A

Oct 18, 2017

I enjoyed this part most of the three courses in the GIS specialization that I have earned certificates. Thanks to Dr. Nick Santos for his interactive teaching, assignments and projects.

автор: Alexa C

Oct 02, 2019

Useful information on spatial analysis, rasters, coordinate systems.

And a guided tour on approaching a personal project.

The lessons are well structured and the teacher easy to follow.

автор: Clara F

Feb 13, 2018

It is a great course. The videos are easy to understand and the final assignment makes you work with almost every tool they show during the 4 weeks. Excellent! 3 down, 2 to go!

автор: Evan R

Aug 14, 2017

What I liked most about the course is the gradual progression is so great! Great deal of efforts invested for making this course so awesome. I had a great time leaning.

автор: Prabuddha D B

Oct 22, 2017

This is 3rd course in GIS specialization which gives more insight into capability of Geospatial and environmental analysis if you are more serious in learning ArcGIS.

автор: Daniel T

Feb 20, 2020

Great course. It focused on building a strong foundation on the critical thinking process of analyzing problems with the tools available in ArcGIS.

автор: Jernej K

Aug 27, 2018

The course is very well constructed first show you some real life problem to solve as analyst and then is up to you how dip you are willing to go.

автор: Sylvain T

Aug 19, 2016

Very demanding and rewarding. The course is full of detailed videos and practical work, and the final project helps to make sense of it all.