Chevron Left
Вернуться к Soul Beliefs: Causes and Consequences - Unit 2: Belief Systems

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Soul Beliefs: Causes and Consequences - Unit 2: Belief Systems от партнера Ратгерский университет штата Нью-Джерси

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 164
Рецензии: 40

О курсе

Throughout history, the vast majority of people around the globe have believed they have, however defined, a “soul.” While the question of whether the soul exists cannot be answered by science, what we can study are the causes and consequences of various beliefs about the soul and its prospects of surviving the death of the body. Why are soul and afterlife beliefs so common in human history? Are there adaptive advantages to assuming souls exist? Are there brain structures that have been shaped by environmental pressures that provide the foundation of body/mind dualism that is such a prominent feature of many religions? How do these beliefs shape the worldviews of different cultures and our collective lives? What is the role of competing afterlife beliefs in religion, science, politics, and war? This course explores several facets of this relatively unexplored but profoundly important aspect of human thought and behavior. The course consists mainly of 70 to 80 minute lectures, typically broken up into 3 segments, recorded from a course offered by Rutgers University School of Arts and Sciences. These videos include slides and some embedded video clips. Most lectures are accompanied by slides used during the lecture, also including recommended reading assignment which may provide additional opportunities to reflect on your studies. Due to the lengthiness of this class and natural progression, the online course has been separated into 3 units, this is Unit 2....

Лучшие рецензии

MM
21 июня 2016 г.

An excellent presentation. Guest lecturers outstanding. Forces a person to really question beliefs rather than accepting at face value. Excellent points raised by learned professionals.

GC
22 окт. 2015 г.

Amazing class that really helps you to look your core beliefs and understand why and how your are the person that you are!\n\nReally good professors and materials~ 10000 worthily!

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 40 отзывов о курсе Soul Beliefs: Causes and Consequences - Unit 2: Belief Systems

автор: Richard L

19 июня 2017 г.

I am unable to complete this course as I did not receive enough peer reviews on the final assignment. I know I was the first student to submit this assignment as there were no others to peer review. When they became available I reviewed more than required as it was apparent student enrolments were low. Coursera's only response to what is a chronic problem is pathetic. It says you should enrol again and hope that in a few years you might be able to complete a unit. It should instead require the institution which offers a course to ensure its tutors clear any backlog (which would not be time consuming as the issue is caused by low enrolments).

автор: Daryl R

2 нояб. 2015 г.

This course was well assembled, presented and interesting. Regardless of your beliefs or lack of there is food for thought for everyone. The instructors and guest speakers did an excellent job. This course has a lot to offer and finally addresses things many people just won't or don't talk about but should.

Perhaps in understanding one another in a educational way we can learn to live together if nothing else.

Among my highest recommendations.

автор: Kimberly K

28 нояб. 2015 г.

This three unit course on Soul Beliefs I have found to be very interesting and it is something that connects to one's everyday life and is thought-provoking in that regard. It is also a very unique opportunity, you won't find this course elsewhere. Anyone who has worked and enjoyed unit 1 will certainly want to carry on with the subsequent courses.

автор: Omar C

24 авг. 2017 г.

Great experience! This is a unique course, I always have been interested in the relation between psychology and religion and, I never believed it will be molded in an academical way with this mastery. I already enroled in the last unit!

Don't miss it, is a great chance to deeper your knowledge in this exciting subject.

автор: Ramnath S K

11 янв. 2021 г.

Exceptionally insightful course which touches upon beliefs and traditions and questions the rationale behind these. This course questions our established time honored beliefs and analyses these in a very rational way without raising one's hackles. I would love to do it again.

автор: Jeanne C

4 апр. 2018 г.

Excellent course. Congratulations to the team that put this material together! You have answered questions and addressed issues which have been on my mind for a long, long time. I will recommend this course to everyone that I know.

автор: Tarey L K

19 окт. 2015 г.

This class was both informative and enjoyable. The two professors made their lectures interesting and thought provoking and the guest lecturers were an absolute delight. I highly recommend this course series to one and all.

автор: Mark M

22 июня 2016 г.

An excellent presentation. Guest lecturers outstanding. Forces a person to really question beliefs rather than accepting at face value. Excellent points raised by learned professionals.

автор: Gabriela C

23 окт. 2015 г.

Amazing class that really helps you to look your core beliefs and understand why and how your are the person that you are!

Really good professors and materials~ 10000 worthily!

автор: Alaa H

20 дек. 2019 г.

A unique course that combines science, religion, psychology, and history for the purpose of understanding human nature and the human mind. Thanks for the valuable course.

автор: Nobuko S

13 мар. 2021 г.

Thought provoking with lots of concrete scientific evidence to support the topic. Enjoyed the class and assigned readings very much.

автор: John M

9 нояб. 2015 г.

The professorsoffer science and facts; the superstitious offer dogma.

автор: Bruce B

22 дек. 2016 г.

Thoughtful, multi-disciplinary course.. Bravo for the effort.

автор: Alejandro P

16 авг. 2015 г.

Interesting contents, and good presentation.

автор: Heidrun S

7 авг. 2016 г.

great subject and even greater professors!

автор: Andrea H

27 дек. 2015 г.

very enlightling and also very important!

автор: Susan H

17 апр. 2019 г.

Always enjoy learning from Prof. Ogilvy

автор: Sharon D

15 окт. 2015 г.

Very thought provoking. Great class.

автор: Manuel F B B

29 авг. 2017 г.

I think it is very interesting.

автор: Bart S

8 сент. 2016 г.

great class, please repeat it

автор: Hilary A

11 янв. 2016 г.

Loved it …..thank you.

автор: Winston A W

2 февр. 2021 г.

Excellent, thank you.

автор: Mohamed S E

13 февр. 2018 г.

Amazing, must have

автор: Emil

11 нояб. 2018 г.

Very nice course.

автор: Puneet K

3 окт. 2015 г.

Great experience