Chevron Left
Вернуться к Наука о Солнечной системе

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Наука о Солнечной системе от партнера Калифорнийский технологический институт

4.9
Оценки: 348
Рецензии: 116

О курсе

Learn about the science behind the current exploration of the solar system in this free class. Use principles from physics, chemistry, biology, and geology to understand the latest from Mars, comprehend the outer solar system, ponder planets outside our solar system, and search for habitability in our neighborhood and beyond. This course is generally taught at an advanced level assuming a prior knowledge of undergraduate math and physics, but the majority of the concepts and lectures can be understood without these prerequisites. The quizzes and final exam are designed to make you think critically about the material you have learned rather than to simply make you memorize facts. The class is expected to be challenging but rewarding....

Лучшие рецензии

PK

May 25, 2019

The lectures are engaging and replete with thought provoking material. Professor Brown's in depth knowledge of the field and his passion for planetary science aroused an everlasting curiosity.

GN

Nov 29, 2017

Challenging. Amazing. Mind-Blowing.\n\nSpace enthusiasts should totally do this course. And yeah, did I say that Mike Brown is the coolest teacher ever. Never a dull moment in the lectures. :)

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 111 отзывов о курсе Наука о Солнечной системе

автор: Brian P

Jun 02, 2017

Excellent overview of the current state of solar system exploration. The lectures were amazingly entertaining, even if the quiz questions were typically convoluted and designed for confusion. By sheer repetition, repeating the quizzes until all the answers are correct, the information is hammered home. The most interesting part of the course for me was the planetary science, the astrobiology coverage at the end was, of necessity, much less rigorous. Discussion of recent spacecraft exploration missions is good but it's hard to keep a topic like this up to date when the lectures are meant to be reused for multiple sessions of the course. Wanted to dislike the instructor because of his arrogance in the Pluto affair, even if I can't argue with the substance of it, but just couldn't because even though he is arrogant, he knows his stuff, is obviously good at what he does, and more importantly he communicates his knowledge really, really well.

автор: Naomi M

May 19, 2016

Way over my head but has definitely given me a reason to pursue learning more about physics and the solar system.

автор: Lilly H

Mar 30, 2017

My favorite Coursera class!

автор: Nitesh B S

Jun 29, 2016

I really liked it.Interesting and thought provoking.

автор: Alejandro D

Mar 05, 2018

Awesome! Highly recommended to anyone interested in astronomy. Thank you Prof. @plutokiller!

автор: Rich K

Oct 15, 2016

Absolutely fantastic course. It's both broad and rigorous and uses the appropriate math and chemistry to show how we know what we know.

автор: Bruna P C

Apr 27, 2018

Excellent!!!!

автор: Eoin P

Jul 09, 2017

simply amazing. The pluto Killer is a genius

автор: Sara B

Jun 09, 2017

Awesome! Challenging & thought-provoking, with excellent teaching!

автор: Jocelino R

Aug 15, 2016

Very good lecturer - keeps things interesting and uses of figures and results from published peer-reviewed papers. Explains things from first principles and does a very in depth historical analysis of the topics studied.

Only criticism I would give would be to have more regular feedback or tests regarding what is learnt. There are 4 topics in this course for the 10 week duration and there's only a test at the end of each topic. A test at the end of each week would keep students on their toes.

Nevertheless, still a 5 star course. Thanks for letting me take this!

автор: Fátima C C P

Dec 21, 2016

Shame I didn't get to see the updated lessons..

автор: Richard H

Aug 13, 2017

Having now taken a couple other Coursera MOOCs, I'm getting the feeling this one is even more exceptionally good than I realized when I took it. Aside from a few videos it's mostly presented by Prof. Mike Brown, who is erudite, engaging, and accomplished. The course emphasizes not the "what" but the "why" and "how" of the evolution of the Solar System. I like to think I'm fairly well informed about astronomy and astrophysics at a lay outsider's level but I learned a lot from this course. Remind me to re-take it after he revises it to cover the discovery (any year now) of Planet 9!

автор: Ritabrata M

Jan 02, 2017

Incredible Content on Display. Amazing Execution by the Profs. Besides fundamental prerequisites of physics and math(which are required) ,each topic is taken up from scratch and dealt with respect to its application.No wonder Caltech is the world leader in planetary science.Go Ahead and immerse yourselves!

автор: Allan E

May 24, 2017

Fantastic. I never knew that the formation of the solar system was so complex.

автор: Jared A

Dec 07, 2017

Excellent Course! Very informative and gives a brief overview of the history of the Solar System and some of the questions driving new and current missions. Thank you.

автор: Brendan C

Oct 25, 2016

Excellent course with engaging speakers, and a good community.

автор: Simon C

Apr 08, 2016

Who only five stars? Because that is all I have to give. I'm sorry, this course deserves more.

I am repeating this course,but not because I need to. I passed last year, but I know that there will be new material that I want to learn. I'm pleased to see that there are familiar faces from last year.

Prof. Mike Brown obviously know his stuff, and enjoys communicating it to students. There are plenty of references for students who want to explore things further. The discussion forums are excellent, with people sharing information, and Mike somehow finds the time to monitor the forums and contribute to the discussion.

автор: Marina D

Jan 03, 2017

Very interesting Course.

автор: Steve R

May 17, 2016

I don't want it to stop !

автор: Alexandra R

Jun 17, 2018

Great course, nicely taught and regularly updated. It taught me a lot.

автор: Monika K

Apr 27, 2016

I love Prof Brown's enthusiasm. He is very engaging, clearly he enjoys reaching so many students around the world. His efforts are much appreciated!

I'm taking this course more from data science's point of view. I need to understand concepts and a bit of physics and maths in order to run my tests but not to the degree of an astronomer (not yet, anyway). It's been hugely educational and interesting.

автор: Gary L

Aug 28, 2017

This is a serious-minded and often inspirational introduction that reaches out to the space enthusiast inside us. References are extensive, about half taken from original literature, with the remainder being mostly review articles or educational presentations and vetted Wikipedia pieces. Useful and important web-sites are invoked. Video format lectures are presented by Professor Mike Brown in a good-humored conversational style best watched at least once in advance of the week designated for the topic, especially if the learner would like to take part in or learn from an online discussion group. There is a weekly quiz. When quiz questions are graded, comments are usually appended that are intended to advance the student’s learning. These are a nice touch, and helpful.

Each week’s lectures are usefully broken up into about ten rather digestible mini sections of 10 - 20 minutes each. Selected special topics are presented by other Caltech faculty as guest lecturers, often those who have done original research on the topic, which adds to the depth of the material. I found the course very informative, and felt challenged. A lot of the material is qualitative and much of it speculative, probably a necessity given the nature of the observational data. I found it difficult to remember details such as names of the satellites and asteroids, and the classifications of geochemistry and geology. Fortunately, there are computers to help with that. I spent an average of at least 10 hours/week on the course.

автор: Brice B

Jun 19, 2017

Could you add a sixth star, just for this course please? To this day I have attended something like 15 courses on Coursera and this is the best one hands down. Not only is Mike Brown one of the top planetary scientists in the whole world (and in this course, you'll follow some of his research as he is doing it – AWESOME!) but he is also a terrific teacher. If you take this course you won't only learn a bunch of facts about the solar system, you will learn how to think like a planetary scientist (ok, you'll start at least). The course is very well structured, very comprehensive, a massive amount of data is presented in a very digestible way, you're exposed to most of the theories which are out there, there is little maths (unfortunately, some will think, but don't worry there is plenty of scientific reasoning) and it is introduced in a piecemeal way and very nicely explained. Mike Brown is enthusiastic, passionate, but not so much that he cannot relate to someone who doesn’t share his passion with him (as was my case when I began following this course). He is nice and relaxed but don't act as if he was your pale. There are guest lecturers and the quality of their teaching is on average significantly lower than Brown's but don't worry, even when he is not there, he is still there: he has annotated their slides when their presentations were unclear. Plus, it's nice to have a glimpse at what experts say on the topics on which Brown is not an expert. Is there room any for improvement? Maybe there could have been more recaps of the evidence in the sessions on water of Mars but I'm quibbling here. If you like science, you'll like this course. If you don't, you will (well, at least it's very likely you will.) Beware though, this course will make you sad. You will be sad not to be able to fly to Los Angeles and enroll at Caltech to study planetary science under Brown's supervision (no, this is NOT a joke).

автор: Steve B

Sep 03, 2017

Fascinating subjects presented brilliantly by Mike Brown (and his two colleagues)

автор: Andrew C

May 05, 2018

Really excellent material from a leading expert in the field. I really enjoyed this course!