Chevron Left
Вернуться к Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 1,337
Рецензии: 349

О курсе

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this first part--part one of five--you will extend your understanding of Taylor series, review limits, learn the *why* behind l'Hopital's rule, and, most importantly, learn a new language for describing growth and decay of functions: the BIG O....

Лучшие рецензии

YG

Jul 03, 2018

Very well structured for a refresher course. Thank you Professor Ghrist for your effort in putting this course together. A little additional outside research was required but well worth the effort.

RH

Dec 16, 2016

Excellent class. Prof. Ghrist has a great teaching style, and his idea to use Taylor Series first is quite effective. Many functions I have shied away from in the past are now familiar to me.

Фильтр по:

101–125 из 346 отзывов о курсе Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

автор: Yalçın C K

May 29, 2018

This approach of defining taylor series and using them to study limits , function etc is realy a great idea:)

автор: Xiaoming J

May 22, 2017

Very good organized and I especially like the exercises in this course which is both challenging and doable.

автор: Tom W

Jul 08, 2018

very interesting and fun course! it's not an easy course. but it worths the challenge. highly recommended!!

автор: SUBRAMANIAN R S

Oct 06, 2019

COURSE IS VERY GOOD

I LIKED THE WAY OF TEACHING AND THE PROBLEMS IN THE HOMEWORK AND QUIZ SECTION

THANK YOU

автор: Benjamin N

Dec 03, 2019

Passionate, heart-felt teaching combined with challenging homework make this a course worth investing in.

автор: Xiyang S

Mar 19, 2019

Great course series to learn, thanks for the work of the staff! Hope to study Multi Variable series soon.

автор: Keqin H

Jun 13, 2018

Extremely concise lectures. Good aiding graphics. The HWs are challenging yet doable. Highly recommended.

автор: Maksym S

Mar 31, 2020

Very good video lecture. Very good speech for not native english students. But little difficult for me.

автор: Pavel K

Jun 16, 2019

Good explanation of quite complicated things. Bonus materials are especially useful for understanding.

автор: Xiaolin H

Feb 09, 2018

Wonderful lectures! Clear and succint! It would be greater if more application examples are involved.

автор: Eva N

Nov 19, 2019

This was very useful. Explanations were (relatively) simple and the quiz commesurate to the teaching

автор: Omar J

Sep 29, 2018

A very challenging course that makes the quizzes and challenges sweet and passing it even sweeter!

автор: Idiotcore0

Feb 15, 2020

Growth of functions approach is somewhat more effective tool for reasoning than the normal stuff.

автор: John H

Dec 21, 2019

Great course. Really good videos and the exercises seem to be at a really good level. Thank you.

автор: Adam O

Mar 29, 2017

This was very explanatory and helpful. I would recommend it to many of my friends and colleagues.

автор: Adam J

Feb 22, 2017

Professor Ghrist is a badass. Re-ordering things to put Taylor series first is a brilliant idea!

автор: Nesrine Z

Apr 10, 2020

I really enjoyed the course, it was very helpful to understand the Taylor series. Many thanks.

автор: Lijia L

Feb 27, 2017

I like this course very much. Prof. Robert Ghrist is humorous, and the mentor is very helpful!

автор: David L

Aug 26, 2019

The course is perfect and the professor put all his effort on the program. It did help a lot.

автор: faraz g

Apr 30, 2020

It was really useful. But, the tests were very hard. I did enjoy this course. Thank you all.

автор: Sabhrant S

Apr 07, 2020

I liked the difficulty of the questions. Very good course. Thank you sir for your hard work.

автор: CMC

Jun 26, 2018

The course is rigorous. I managed to learn something about Big-O that I did not know before.

автор: 黎健钊

May 01, 2017

learn a lot about calculus which is different from China Calculus Book, Thank you so much...

автор: Jerry M

Dec 26, 2016

This is an excellent course! I enjoyed the problem sets and the Bonus Lectures. Well Done!

автор: Zhu L

Aug 19, 2018

This is an excellent course, thank you professor, your analysis process helps me a lot!