Chevron Left
Вернуться к Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 1,202
Рецензии: 310

О курсе

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this first part--part one of five--you will extend your understanding of Taylor series, review limits, learn the *why* behind l'Hopital's rule, and, most importantly, learn a new language for describing growth and decay of functions: the BIG O....

Лучшие рецензии

YG

Jul 03, 2018

Very well structured for a refresher course. Thank you Professor Ghrist for your effort in putting this course together. A little additional outside research was required but well worth the effort.

RH

Dec 16, 2016

Excellent class. Prof. Ghrist has a great teaching style, and his idea to use Taylor Series first is quite effective. Many functions I have shied away from in the past are now familiar to me.

Фильтр по:

101–125 из 306 отзывов о курсе Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

автор: Pavel K

Jun 16, 2019

Good explanation of quite complicated things. Bonus materials are especially useful for understanding.

автор: Xiaolin H

Feb 09, 2018

Wonderful lectures! Clear and succint! It would be greater if more application examples are involved.

автор: Eva N

Nov 19, 2019

This was very useful. Explanations were (relatively) simple and the quiz commesurate to the teaching

автор: Omar J

Sep 29, 2018

A very challenging course that makes the quizzes and challenges sweet and passing it even sweeter!

автор: Idiotcore0

Feb 15, 2020

Growth of functions approach is somewhat more effective tool for reasoning than the normal stuff.

автор: John H

Dec 21, 2019

Great course. Really good videos and the exercises seem to be at a really good level. Thank you.

автор: Adam O

Mar 29, 2017

This was very explanatory and helpful. I would recommend it to many of my friends and colleagues.

автор: Adam J

Feb 22, 2017

Professor Ghrist is a badass. Re-ordering things to put Taylor series first is a brilliant idea!

автор: Lijia L

Feb 27, 2017

I like this course very much. Prof. Robert Ghrist is humorous, and the mentor is very helpful!

автор: David L

Aug 26, 2019

The course is perfect and the professor put all his effort on the program. It did help a lot.

автор: Sabhrant S

Apr 07, 2020

I liked the difficulty of the questions. Very good course. Thank you sir for your hard work.

автор: CMC

Jun 26, 2018

The course is rigorous. I managed to learn something about Big-O that I did not know before.

автор: 黎健钊

May 01, 2017

learn a lot about calculus which is different from China Calculus Book, Thank you so much...

автор: Jerry M

Dec 26, 2016

This is an excellent course! I enjoyed the problem sets and the Bonus Lectures. Well Done!

автор: Zhu L

Aug 19, 2018

This is an excellent course, thank you professor, your analysis process helps me a lot!

автор: Huang-Yu C

Mar 22, 2018

I learn a lot by participating in the class! Thank you professor~ and also thanks UPenn

автор: Much Z

Jan 15, 2019

I THINK THIS IS VERY HELPFUL FOR ME.THANKS FOR TEACHER'S TEACH AND COURSERA'S FAVOUR.

автор: Guanni Q

Aug 28, 2018

The Pre-calculus is really helpful and meaningful. It deeps my understanding of math.

автор: Paras J

Jan 10, 2017

The course material was balanced and the Assignments questions were well selected.

автор: Walter C G V

Sep 19, 2017

MUY BUEN CURSO EXCELENTE PRESENTACIÓN DE LA INFORMACIÓN PARA LAS EVALUACIONES.

автор: Saptarshi C

Jan 16, 2019

Excellent course. A little bit of toughness but quite enjoyable and rewarding.

автор: 杨佳熙

Jun 21, 2016

the first four session is free which is econmic friendly. show u my respect :)

автор: Erik G

Feb 15, 2018

Really nice course. I expected it to be boring, but It wasn't! Good professor

автор: Jerome C

Dec 26, 2017

Great class. That is a good reminder of what might have studied in university

автор: Juan E B B

Feb 27, 2016

Realmente muy bueno, es un reto para los hispano-hablantes pero vale la pena