Chevron Left
Вернуться к Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 1,822
Рецензии: 497

О курсе

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this first part--part one of five--you will extend your understanding of Taylor series, review limits, learn the *why* behind l'Hopital's rule, and, most importantly, learn a new language for describing growth and decay of functions: the BIG O....

Лучшие рецензии

YG

2 июля 2018 г.

Very well structured for a refresher course. Thank you Professor Ghrist for your effort in putting this course together. A little additional outside research was required but well worth the effort.

NL

9 февр. 2021 г.

Excellent introduction to Calculus, I wanted to review the material to tutor my child but I am very happy that I learned a whole new way of looking at Calculus.\n\nThank you so much Prof. Ghrist.

Фильтр по:

101–125 из 490 отзывов о курсе Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

автор: Vishvas H P

31 мая 2020 г.

The course is awesome ,I learn lot from this course . Taylor's series and its applications to find limits is very good. Big-O is very useful. Thanks for giving such a wonderful course.

автор: Stephen w

2 июня 2018 г.

This course is difficult, and sometimes is not easy to know how to correct the homework questions since there are no analysis of them and the answers in the forum are not quite complete.

автор: Joseph E V

2 июня 2020 г.

Very Informative course and easy to catch. Although knowledge on the subject is a prerequisite before taking this. Not advisable to those with no knowledge whatsoever in calculus.

автор: Yan X

26 июля 2020 г.

Very good refresh course for calculus. Content could be tough and require a lot of thinking. But I learned a lot or reviewed a lot about the calculus concept in my college year.

автор: Edwin L

2 авг. 2020 г.

Wonderful course. I can't even remember when was the last time that I was challenged in this way. Congratulations. Great content, great videos, great practice, great challenges.

автор: Devarshi P

31 мая 2020 г.

Very creative way of teaching one of the most important and difficult applied math topic. The course is taught differently then traditional textbook and is challenging as well.

автор: Ning L

28 окт. 2016 г.

What can I say? It is so good that I watch the lectures when I have dinner alone. Prof Ghrist absolutely has presented calculus so well that it becomes such an entertainment!

автор: Sagar G

30 нояб. 2018 г.

Great UI and explanation.Started with the Engg. maths and taking it to high school and for the Developer like me Big O is something which introduced in a appropriate way..:)

автор: Pietro R

16 июня 2018 г.

I easily understood concept that i never understood before. I'd say that this is the perfecto goal of any possible course: make understandable the not-easily-understandab

автор: Bongani P

14 июля 2017 г.

This is one of the best mathematics courses I have ever taken. The lectures are straight to the point and the homework's are very very challenging. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

автор: jing s

1 сент. 2020 г.

I learned a lot from this course.With animation to explain the formula,makes it easily to be understood.The learning of calculus laid the foundation for my future study.

автор: Dl M

7 авг. 2020 г.

I have already taken it once. I am taking it again now. A wonderful course. I am always amazed at how clear Prof. Ghrist's explanations are. Thanks for this course.

автор: Catherine C

30 сент. 2020 г.

It really gets you to think but stick with it and it is doable! There is enough information and support in the videos if you watch and listen carefully.

автор: Wolfe G

17 февр. 2017 г.

A little scary to start with Taylor series, but once mastered, it gives a depth of understanding not given by other MOOCs I have found on the subject.

автор: Wenkai L

8 янв. 2016 г.

This course is very great and helpful. However, I think the course should provide more exercises to help students comprehend the new knowledge better.

автор: Alvin L

16 июня 2017 г.

Great lecturer. The quiz questions can get pretty tough, at least for me. I found the explanations of Taylor series clearer than any I had in school.

автор: Rui F

17 сент. 2018 г.

Excellent course with appropriate difficulty. Professor's speech is very clear. This is extremely helpful for non-english speaking students like me.

автор: Tom B

28 мая 2022 г.

This is a fabulous course. The professor uses Taylor Series to help us deepen our understanding of how calculus works. It's awesome.

автор: Mohamed K E

16 дек. 2015 г.

amazing class even for an experienced student like myself , i had many gaps in my understanding of calculus that was filled by this class

автор: Howard K

19 дек. 2020 г.

I'm jealous of my friends who went to Penn for having a professor as good as prof/g. He doesn't just spit out math - he really teaches.

автор: camillo s

19 дек. 2020 г.

very well structured intro to the subject. as non-native english speaker i particularly appreciated prof. ghrists clear pronunciation.

автор: Balalau M

5 апр. 2020 г.

Very well constructed course. I recommend it to all high-school students that want to develop their standard mathematical knowledge

автор: Serdal A

30 нояб. 2020 г.

I like the course. I attempted all quizzes and homework. I think I did them well. I wish I had its certificate as well. Thank you.

автор: ASHWANI K J

11 янв. 2016 г.

This course really boost up the knowledge of Calculus with depth of understanding.

The quiz of challenges were really awesome.