Chevron Left
Вернуться к Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 1,537
Рецензии: 415

О курсе

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this first part--part one of five--you will extend your understanding of Taylor series, review limits, learn the *why* behind l'Hopital's rule, and, most importantly, learn a new language for describing growth and decay of functions: the BIG O....

Лучшие рецензии

YG
2 июля 2018 г.

Very well structured for a refresher course. Thank you Professor Ghrist for your effort in putting this course together. A little additional outside research was required but well worth the effort.

KR
17 авг. 2020 г.

Very good and challenging material! This motivated me to do better in my Calculus Courses. Would definitely have more of these courses soon, as this is suited for higher mathematics in college.

Фильтр по:

376–400 из 409 отзывов о курсе Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

автор: Peanut G

11 июня 2017 г.

my first math.It is the best lecturein in my university life

автор: Fulgence O I

7 янв. 2019 г.

Very well and simply explained

Made review easier for me

автор: Kasym N

23 июня 2020 г.

Still, I couldn't grab the meaning of Limits.

автор: Shwet R

10 янв. 2016 г.

Its really challenging and rewarding course.

автор: adilet a

17 июня 2016 г.

This is very good course for students!!!

автор: Rajasekhar

21 мая 2016 г.

Good illustration of complex topics.

автор: Atef H

21 мая 2016 г.

Great new approach towards calculus.

автор: PADMA A

12 мая 2020 г.

The course is really informative

автор: Ahsan M

25 янв. 2020 г.

great course fot beignners !!

автор: Jaspreet S

25 янв. 2016 г.

very good learning process

автор: Balakrishnan M

11 апр. 2020 г.

Improve knowledge

автор: Sattam S S A

26 апр. 2020 г.

it was great

автор: Johannes M

20 мая 2016 г.

Very good!

автор: Aditya T

25 июня 2017 г.

good

автор: Senanayake H

18 дек. 2016 г.

good

автор: Suman K

21 июня 2020 г.

nic

автор: Jonah A

11 февр. 2019 г.

E

автор: Arthur H G

4 окт. 2020 г.

Much of the couse is good but the Homework test for Exponentials is attrocious.

Firstly the person setting it needs to learn English. Questions 6 & 7 say "which of the following expressions describes ..." describes is the singular form of the verb and leads one to expect only one expression applies. I did these questions twice being marked wrong because I had only included one answer It needs altering to "describe".

There are 2 correct answers listed for the first question but the marking system does not recognise one of them,

Question 8 again expects 2 answers but does not indicate there is more than one.

I did this test twice getting 50% but on realising these weaknesses i had no problem getting 100% but resdent wasting a whole morning because of your errors.

автор: Suyash M

18 мар. 2019 г.

Very good course for revisiting calculus. It never feels old as it tackles functions and limits from a different perspective - that of the Taylor Series. But it is mostly concerned with evaluating limits and series. Some things were assumed to be true without explanation, which, I admit, might have made understanding them easier. But it slightly chafes the mind to know something without knowing proof for it, and how it came to be. Some questions that may arise but remain unanswered in the lectures include : How to find the domain of convergence of a series? Where did the Taylor's Series formula come from? These and some more are not addressed in this course, but they might be in the future chapters (which I have not completed)

автор: Becky B

17 авг. 2020 г.

I find the forums much more difficult to navigate than the edx.com MIT calculus course forums. So when I had a question on a homework question or needed additional explanation for a particular topic or type of problem I found it frustratingly difficult to find help in the forums.

I know he is very popular, and his videos are well done, but I didn't learn nearly as much as when I took the MIT courses on edx. I didn't feel like the videos adequately prepared me to be successful on the homework.

автор: NA

5 сент. 2020 г.

This course is good and the lecture is okay. However, I hated lengthy question that only assess your time in multiplication and addition of terms. I expect hard questions mean question that trigger higher level order thinking not complex multiplication and addition that is really time consuming but can be done without using critical thinking skills.

автор: Tomas R

21 мая 2020 г.

Great course, but I think that Calculus One (

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Calculus_One) is even beter. I found it more comprehensible.

автор: Canan G

19 апр. 2020 г.

Thanks for your efforts for this course but despite i have finished the course, it was hard for me

автор: Emil E H

15 февр. 2016 г.

The lecturer wasn't very engaging. I gave up and continued with Ohio's Calculus course instead.

автор: Elany A d C

3 мая 2020 г.

Taylor series is not important. I miss derivate, integral and more about limits and functions.