Chevron Left
Вернуться к Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 1,537
Рецензии: 415

О курсе

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this first part--part one of five--you will extend your understanding of Taylor series, review limits, learn the *why* behind l'Hopital's rule, and, most importantly, learn a new language for describing growth and decay of functions: the BIG O....

Лучшие рецензии

YG

Jul 03, 2018

Very well structured for a refresher course. Thank you Professor Ghrist for your effort in putting this course together. A little additional outside research was required but well worth the effort.

KR

Aug 18, 2020

Very good and challenging material! This motivated me to do better in my Calculus Courses. Would definitely have more of these courses soon, as this is suited for higher mathematics in college.

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 409 отзывов о курсе Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

автор: trshant

Mar 25, 2016

i am finally beginning to understand calculus!

It is perfectly paced, and the core homework, while simple really makes you think about what you learned. And prepares you for tougher things, like the challenge homework.

автор: Hayk M

Sep 15, 2019

Overall, the course is very useful and well structured. I think in some parts of the videos, other methods of explanation should have been chosen in order to allow students to grasp the content of the course easily.

автор: I.W.

Dec 28, 2018

This was great, thank you! The only thing that would be useful is solutions to missed problems after the assignment has been completed because it's hard to know what you did wrong when you are working by yourself.

автор: Utkarsh R

Jan 09, 2016

Feeling calculus!

I'm loving this series of lectures. If you have taken any basic calculus course before, this is the perfect course.

I wish to thank Professor Ghrist and University of Pennsylvania for this course.

автор: Oscar O

Jul 28, 2020

It is a Masterful creation of Dr Ghrist......deserves even more stars.....not easy, lots of work , challenging but rewarding in every way.....Thanks Dr Ghrist.....(and forum course Mentors as well!!!).....

автор: Abdulla A

May 26, 2019

Wonderful course delving into the basics of calculus. I loved the explanatikon and colors. Although I am still not sure about Orders of growth, everything else was explained perfectly and enthusiastically.

автор: Leonardo G

Apr 13, 2020

Fue una grandiosa experiencia, los ejercicios me permitieron afianzar mis conocimientos en el cálculo y desarrollar habilidades como resolución de problemas en el abordaje de las situaciones de reto.

автор: Mengyun Z

Jun 14, 2016

The lectures are delivered in a clear and straightforward manner. Videos do a good job in walking me through the key points related to the topic. And the exercises were well designed to capture the

автор: Karl R d C R

Aug 18, 2020

Very good and challenging material! This motivated me to do better in my Calculus Courses. Would definitely have more of these courses soon, as this is suited for higher mathematics in college.

автор: Haniyeh B

Sep 28, 2020

As a mathematics student in high school who just wanted to learn and explore more in calculus and university math this was a great first step to start with. Can't wait to go for chapter 2!!!

автор: Vishvas H P

May 31, 2020

The course is awesome ,I learn lot from this course . Taylor's series and its applications to find limits is very good. Big-O is very useful. Thanks for giving such a wonderful course.

автор: Stephen w

Jun 02, 2018

This course is difficult, and sometimes is not easy to know how to correct the homework questions since there are no analysis of them and the answers in the forum are not quite complete.

автор: JHONNY L L

May 14, 2019

I really liked this Calculus course, there were many interesting problems and with a good degree of difficulty. I give them five stars, and I greatly appreciate them for this course.

автор: Joseph E V

Jun 02, 2020

Very Informative course and easy to catch. Although knowledge on the subject is a prerequisite before taking this. Not advisable to those with no knowledge whatsoever in calculus.

автор: Yan X

Jul 27, 2020

Very good refresh course for calculus. Content could be tough and require a lot of thinking. But I learned a lot or reviewed a lot about the calculus concept in my college year.

автор: Edwin L

Aug 02, 2020

Wonderful course. I can't even remember when was the last time that I was challenged in this way. Congratulations. Great content, great videos, great practice, great challenges.

автор: Devarshi P

May 31, 2020

Very creative way of teaching one of the most important and difficult applied math topic. The course is taught differently then traditional textbook and is challenging as well.

автор: Ning L

Oct 28, 2016

What can I say? It is so good that I watch the lectures when I have dinner alone. Prof Ghrist absolutely has presented calculus so well that it becomes such an entertainment!

автор: Sagar G

Nov 30, 2018

Great UI and explanation.Started with the Engg. maths and taking it to high school and for the Developer like me Big O is something which introduced in a appropriate way..:)

автор: Pietro R

Jun 16, 2018

I easily understood concept that i never understood before. I'd say that this is the perfecto goal of any possible course: make understandable the not-easily-understandab

автор: Bongani P

Jul 14, 2017

This is one of the best mathematics courses I have ever taken. The lectures are straight to the point and the homework's are very very challenging. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

автор: Sheng X

Sep 02, 2020

I learned a lot from this course.With animation to explain the formula,makes it easily to be understood.The learning of calculus laid the foundation for my future study.

автор: Dl M

Aug 08, 2020

I have already taken it once. I am taking it again now. A wonderful course. I am always amazed at how clear Prof. Ghrist's explanations are. Thanks for this course.

автор: Catherine C

Sep 30, 2020

It really gets you to think but stick with it and it is doable! There is enough information and support in the videos if you watch and listen carefully.