Chevron Left
Вернуться к Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 1,207
Рецензии: 311

О курсе

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this first part--part one of five--you will extend your understanding of Taylor series, review limits, learn the *why* behind l'Hopital's rule, and, most importantly, learn a new language for describing growth and decay of functions: the BIG O....

Лучшие рецензии

YG

Jul 03, 2018

Very well structured for a refresher course. Thank you Professor Ghrist for your effort in putting this course together. A little additional outside research was required but well worth the effort.

RH

Dec 16, 2016

Excellent class. Prof. Ghrist has a great teaching style, and his idea to use Taylor Series first is quite effective. Many functions I have shied away from in the past are now familiar to me.

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 306 отзывов о курсе Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

автор: Wolfe G

Feb 17, 2017

A little scary to start with Taylor series, but once mastered, it gives a depth of understanding not given by other MOOCs I have found on the subject.

автор: Wenkai L

Jan 08, 2016

This course is very great and helpful. However, I think the course should provide more exercises to help students comprehend the new knowledge better.

автор: Alvin L

Jun 16, 2017

Great lecturer. The quiz questions can get pretty tough, at least for me. I found the explanations of Taylor series clearer than any I had in school.

автор: Rui F

Sep 17, 2018

Excellent course with appropriate difficulty. Professor's speech is very clear. This is extremely helpful for non-english speaking students like me.

автор: Mohamed K E

Dec 17, 2015

amazing class even for an experienced student like myself , i had many gaps in my understanding of calculus that was filled by this class

автор: Matei B

Apr 05, 2020

Very well constructed course. I recommend it to all high-school students that want to develop their standard mathematical knowledge

автор: ASHWANI K J

Jan 11, 2016

This course really boost up the knowledge of Calculus with depth of understanding.

The quiz of challenges were really awesome.

автор: JORGE E M L V

Mar 18, 2019

ES MUY BUENO ESTE CURSO DE VERDAD QUE SE APRENDE MUCHO AQUÍ, LO RECOMIENDO BASTANTE YA QUE TIENE CONTENIDOS MUY INTERESANTES

автор: Eric H

Jun 18, 2017

Lectures are clear and well presented, slides are dynamic and very well done. Prof Ghrist put together an excellent course.

автор: Jarrod K

Nov 11, 2016

Fantastic applied mathematics course for students interested in engineering. Extremely challenging but amazingly rewarding.

автор: Фесенко Г Е

May 20, 2017

Great course, thank you! Easy explanations for complecated math theorems is exactly what I wanted to see in online course.

автор: Noe G S G

Apr 27, 2016

Mr. Robert Ghrist is an excellent teacher. It's a dificult course.,You wil need to practice very much. But you can do it.

автор: Zeda L

Jun 13, 2017

Excellent!Professor makes it so easy for me to understand and learn the difficult part of this course. Thanks a lot!

автор: Yuji N

Oct 28, 2016

I liked these fancy lecture videos in this course! It's really fun to learn and yet I can learn an advanced stuffs.

автор: oximas

Jan 28, 2020

this is a great course, it talks about a lot of important points in calculus and I really got a lot of value of it

автор: Ujjwal K

Jan 04, 2018

I sincerely thank the professors and the coursera.org team for bringing out to the public this excellent course.

автор: Zheng J Y

Jan 29, 2019

It's a very nice course. I strongly recommend it no matter who your are, as long as you what to learn calculus.

автор: Yalçın C K

May 29, 2018

This approach of defining taylor series and using them to study limits , function etc is realy a great idea:)

автор: Xiaoming J

May 22, 2017

Very good organized and I especially like the exercises in this course which is both challenging and doable.

автор: Tom W

Jul 08, 2018

very interesting and fun course! it's not an easy course. but it worths the challenge. highly recommended!!

автор: SUBRAMANIAN R S

Oct 06, 2019

COURSE IS VERY GOOD

I LIKED THE WAY OF TEACHING AND THE PROBLEMS IN THE HOMEWORK AND QUIZ SECTION

THANK YOU

автор: Benjamin N

Dec 03, 2019

Passionate, heart-felt teaching combined with challenging homework make this a course worth investing in.

автор: Xiyang S

Mar 19, 2019

Great course series to learn, thanks for the work of the staff! Hope to study Multi Variable series soon.

автор: Keqin H

Jun 13, 2018

Extremely concise lectures. Good aiding graphics. The HWs are challenging yet doable. Highly recommended.

автор: Maksym S

Mar 31, 2020

Very good video lecture. Very good speech for not native english students. But little difficult for me.