Chevron Left
Вернуться к Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 1,189
Рецензии: 306

О курсе

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this first part--part one of five--you will extend your understanding of Taylor series, review limits, learn the *why* behind l'Hopital's rule, and, most importantly, learn a new language for describing growth and decay of functions: the BIG O....

Лучшие рецензии

YG

Jul 03, 2018

Very well structured for a refresher course. Thank you Professor Ghrist for your effort in putting this course together. A little additional outside research was required but well worth the effort.

RH

Dec 16, 2016

Excellent class. Prof. Ghrist has a great teaching style, and his idea to use Taylor Series first is quite effective. Many functions I have shied away from in the past are now familiar to me.

Фильтр по:

276–300 из 303 отзывов о курсе Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

автор: Bashir A

Jan 18, 2019

the big O part is a bit ubiquitous. But everything else is amazingly described.

автор: Raphael z

Apr 01, 2020

good course, not too hard. would like a little bit more of theory and proofs

автор: Yiwen W

Dec 06, 2019

Videoes of the course is very good but some questions are little difficult.

автор: Roshan N

Sep 24, 2018

Very Tough Part

Learn lots of things that I never know before

Thank You

автор: Minindu

Feb 26, 2020

If there are man questions regarding the content it would be helpful.

автор: Timur S

Mar 31, 2020

thanks great course! please, make about stability and dynamic system

автор: Wenruo H

Dec 05, 2016

It could be better if we can see the key or tips for the homework.

автор: Mohammad H

Mar 22, 2018

a good and neat course, I used it for reviewing and it went well

автор: Yashh S K

Nov 29, 2018

Everything was exceptionally well taught except the Big-O part.

автор: Peanut G

Jun 11, 2017

my first math.It is the best lecturein in my university life

автор: Fulgence I

Jan 07, 2019

Very well and simply explained

Made review easier for me

автор: Shwet R

Jan 10, 2016

Its really challenging and rewarding course.

автор: Amangossov A M

Jun 17, 2016

This is very good course for students!!!

автор: Rajasekhar

May 21, 2016

Good illustration of complex topics.

автор: Atef H

May 21, 2016

Great new approach towards calculus.

автор: Ahsan M

Jan 25, 2020

great course fot beignners !!

автор: Jaspreet S

Jan 25, 2016

very good learning process

автор: Johannes M

May 20, 2016

Very good!

автор: Aditya T

Jun 25, 2017

good

автор: Senanayake H

Dec 19, 2016

good

автор: Jonah A

Feb 11, 2019

E

автор: Suyash M

Mar 18, 2019

Very good course for revisiting calculus. It never feels old as it tackles functions and limits from a different perspective - that of the Taylor Series. But it is mostly concerned with evaluating limits and series. Some things were assumed to be true without explanation, which, I admit, might have made understanding them easier. But it slightly chafes the mind to know something without knowing proof for it, and how it came to be. Some questions that may arise but remain unanswered in the lectures include : How to find the domain of convergence of a series? Where did the Taylor's Series formula come from? These and some more are not addressed in this course, but they might be in the future chapters (which I have not completed)

автор: Emil E H

Feb 15, 2016

The lecturer wasn't very engaging. I gave up and continued with Ohio's Calculus course instead.

автор: james.v

Jul 17, 2019

Lot of gab between video lecture and assignment problems