Chevron Left
Вернуться к Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.8
Оценки: 1,103
Рецензии: 277

О курсе

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this first part--part one of five--you will extend your understanding of Taylor series, review limits, learn the *why* behind l'Hopital's rule, and, most importantly, learn a new language for describing growth and decay of functions: the BIG O....

Лучшие рецензии

YG

Jul 03, 2018

Very well structured for a refresher course. Thank you Professor Ghrist for your effort in putting this course together. A little additional outside research was required but well worth the effort.

RH

Dec 16, 2016

Excellent class. Prof. Ghrist has a great teaching style, and his idea to use Taylor Series first is quite effective. Many functions I have shied away from in the past are now familiar to me.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 273 отзывов о курсе Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

автор: Benjamin S

Apr 08, 2019

Amazing course! I took Calc 1 and 2 way back when and plan to attend college again starting this summer to earn another degree. Being Engineering, I wanted to brush up on my calc 1 and 2 before I dive into DiffEQs and Linear Algebera and this course did just that for me. The best part about it was that he assumes you alerady have a basic understanding of the material so its not like starting from square 1.

автор: Gabe E

Feb 01, 2016

As I already have my Mathematics Minor, I wanted a quick refresher course. I would say this course is severely lacking in both practice problems as well as example problems done during video sessions. Students need more applied concepts to be able to understand and succeed if this content is not familiar. I got by only by preexisting knowledge of these Math concepts.

автор: Ynocencio G

Jul 03, 2018

Very well structured for a refresher course. Thank you Professor Ghrist for your effort in putting this course together. A little additional outside research was required but well worth the effort.

автор: Ryan H

Dec 16, 2016

Excellent class. Prof. Ghrist has a great teaching style, and his idea to use Taylor Series first is quite effective. Many functions I have shied away from in the past are now familiar to me.

автор: Stefan F

Jun 30, 2019

Interesting approach to start a calculus lesson. I liked it very much although I can understand that some people dislike the steep learning curve. On the other hand it was stated from the beginning that this is a tough course. Summarized I learned a trick or two for which I am grateful. Thanks! Lastly there are active mentors in this course that are very helpful. Overall the course is very recommendable for advanced and curious calculus students.

автор: Ruhollah E

Jan 29, 2018

very difficult for first time learner

автор: Kevin L

Jun 23, 2018

This course, which teaches calculus, assumes that the audience already knows calculus. That's so ridiculous!

автор: Anthony D

Jan 31, 2019

Excellent course from a great school and excellent professor. The videos were informative. I found this class to be very challenging. I ended up with an A and look forward to the next parts. I think you need some exposure to calculus before taking this class. I took calculus 8 years ago.

автор: Joseph S L

Jul 09, 2019

Ghrist makes math fun by putting a twist on the lessons. It may look childish/cartoonish, but Ghrist obviously understands what younger people well.

автор: Derek S

Jul 21, 2019

Enjoyed the whole journey in this course. Beautiful graphics, choir-base-like sound, concise explanation and instrumental exercises. Thanks Prof. Ghrist.

автор: Nikita V

Jul 24, 2019

Great course! Material is really dense and highly practical. Thanks!

автор: SG C

Apr 07, 2019

Interesting starting point for calculus which makes intuitive sense. The visuals in the lectures are excellent, specifically on the explanation of limits. Taking this course is akin to reading a spy thriller book, the farther one goes the more intriguing it gets.

автор: kathleensa

Jul 23, 2019

wonderful experince

автор: 江祖榮

Jul 14, 2019

Great one.

Teacher Ghrist is good at providing thought-provoking insight and visualization of basic function, math formula as well as series expansion.

In addition, this course starts with a set of basic functions and domain knowledge such as simple polynomial, trigonometric, exponential, natural log, hyperbolic trigonometric, simple derivative and integral, and so on.

Then we will go through Taylor series and its expansion. To be honest, Taylor series as well as expansion is the key essential part of this course, it is not only useful for us to evaluate function value and its error of a given point, but also practical to get better understanding of limitation within 0/0 and ∞/∞ as well as L'Hospital's Rule later.

Finally, this course ends with analysis of function growth rate, upper bound of function when it comes to zero point or infinity, and the application of L'Hospital's Rule.

It is strongly recommended taking this course to start our wonderful calculus journey.

автор: Nayaka S R

Jul 11, 2018

It was a great journey with Calculus with the help of Coursera. i learned many things about Functions, Taylor series and Order of Growth. Thank you for creating such a great platfarm for us.

автор: Mubashir-Ul-Hassan

Aug 06, 2019

One of the great course which helps me to Revise and also fill the missing topics

автор: John H

Feb 11, 2018

Good course but lecture material was not quite comprehensive enough to tackle the questions with confidence.

автор: Pooja R

Mar 02, 2016

Not worth it - better to just read a book on calculus, as the homework questions at the end of each session does not even reflect one single example in the 16min session. Disappointed, but then again what can you learn in 15 min sessions, very little.

автор: Much Z

Jan 15, 2019

I THINK THIS IS VERY HELPFUL FOR ME.THANKS FOR TEACHER'S TEACH AND COURSERA'S FAVOUR.

автор: Saptarshi C

Jan 16, 2019

Excellent course. A little bit of toughness but quite enjoyable and rewarding.

автор: Zheng J Y

Jan 29, 2019

It's a very nice course. I strongly recommend it no matter who your are, as long as you what to learn calculus.

автор: Cheng H

Jan 23, 2019

best math course i've had so far after long years out of school~ thanks!

автор: Bengmin S

Dec 30, 2018

Challenging but fascinating.

автор: Daniel M

Jan 06, 2019

A great course

автор: Moises C

Feb 24, 2019

Excelente, alto nivel