Chevron Left
Вернуться к Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course)

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course) от партнера Университет штата Мичиган

4.4
Оценки: 423
Рецензии: 160

О курсе

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course*, you will design a series bible and write a complete pilot episode for your own unique television or web series, be it drama or comedy or something in between. You’ll learn to break down the creative process into components, and you’ll discover a structured process that allows you to produce a polished and pitch-ready script in just a few weeks. Completing this project will increase your confidence in your ideas and abilities, and you’ll feel prepared to pitch your first script and get started on your next. This is a course designed to tap into your creativity and is based in "Active Learning". Most of the actual learning takes place within your own activities - that is, writing! You will learn by doing. "Thank you so much for your direct way of teaching this course. It was encouraging for us all to creatively flow and find our own voice in writing and developing our scripts. This aspect was very important to me." Ingrid The course curriculum is simple: you’ll write, revise your work, and share feedback with your peers. I am a proponent of Experiential Learning (active learning). My lectures are short (sometimes just two minutes long) and to the point, designed in a step-by-step process essential to your success as a script writer. I will guide you but I won’t "show" you how to write. I firmly believe that the only way to become a writer is to write, write, write. “David's lecture style for this course is inspired. The videos are succinct and engaging. When I watch the lectures I feel David’s sincere desire for me to create something truly amazing. He is teaching us how to write a script, and he is providing wisdom and tools that will help us do so in a compelling way - by writing; not by watching him talk at us.” - A R Adamson What you’ll need to get started: To begin with, any basic word processor will do. During week two, you can choose to download some free scriptwriting software such as Celtx or Trelby or you may choose to purchase Final Draft, or you can continue to use your word processor and do your own script formatting. Learner Review: "I am in love with this course. Having never written a script before, or any substantive fiction since college (15 years ago) I had a small idea in my head that has now exploded into something I really believe in. David's guidance is spot on, he's his own compelling story teller, he gives you enough, and then you have to figure it out, make it happen, WRITE! WRITE! WRITE! " *About Project-Centered Courses: This is a ‘project-centered course’, which means it is designed specifically to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share. Time: 1-2 hours of study, 30+ hours of active project work...

Лучшие рецензии

AA

Jun 14, 2016

David Wheeler is awesome, and I love this course! I am so glad that Coursera and Michigan State University have partnered to offer this course to those of us who have a thirst for learning! Thank you!

JF

Sep 28, 2016

Fantastic course, loved the way it walked you step by step through the process and the formatting. This course could have been ten weeks and still wouldn't be enough. Awesome hands on learning.

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 157 отзывов о курсе Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course)

автор: Faiz S

Aug 17, 2016

Very methodical, but still makes writing fun... and exciting.

автор: Lorenzo M V I

Jul 23, 2017

Great experience! You jump right into the meat, into the grind. It's a no nonsense approach that allows you to get hands on experience and critical critique.

автор: Matthew L

Apr 30, 2018

This is just what I needed to get moving! Very clear and helpful deadlines.

автор: Dominique W

Oct 20, 2016

As a professional actor I knew the ability to write my own material would be an invaluable skill. I've been writing tv/film ideas for years without a the slightest clue as to go about creating a full story in script form. Having no formal training, this class was the perfect introduction into the craft. Professor David Wheeler simplified the intimidating feat of writing a tv pilot into a realistically executable series of steps. I will definitely be revisiting this course in the future.

автор: May A

Apr 07, 2016

Such a great course. Jumping in and just doing it worked for me, as I tend to spend time reading up and educating myself theoretically before ever getting around to actually writing. Seeing sample scripts and discussions of form and writing criteria is definitely important, as I have managed to learn a lot through looking at many scripts and comparing, so I think there's a place for that in the course, but the actual project base was what really made the difference for me. The grading criteria points with every assignment have functioned as vital checklists in which to review not just my peers, but also my own work as well. I really learned a whole lot more about stretching my limits and what I am capable of doing by actually writing than just by dreaming of doing it one day. My confidence is at an all-time high, and now I am actively revising the pilot and working on the following episodes, as well as actively seeking opportunities for further courses, contests, and screenwriter communities and associations. Thank you, David. Before this course, I never actually thought I'd do it, and decided to sign up on a whim because I love writing and I love film and TV, but I never even considered screenwriting as a career or an option, and now this has all been changed. I am forever grateful. Please come back and give more courses on the different facets of writing for the screen, like developing compelling characters, world building, genre tips, etc. Your support has been phenomenal. Thanks to Michigan State University, Coursera, and all of my peers for the amazing encouragement and support.

автор: Erica E

May 12, 2016

This is a fun and challenging course.

автор: Maysoon M

Jul 10, 2017

it's simple, it tells you exactly what you need to do, it's the bare truth with no magic wands.

автор: Mariia S

Oct 20, 2017

This course is very practical, it's not about theory how to write - it's a direct message to write right now.The lector gave a lot of useful hints about writting for TV. The main task is divided into several parts with different deadlines, so there is enough time to make it. Also reviewing the peers was interesting and valuable, it gave me a chance to compare my own work with others, to think what might be improved. Probably the only regrettable thing is that the "comments" graphe in peer review is optional. Sometimes I'd really like to get different comments and straigth opinions more than just good point score.

автор: Jeanne H F

Sep 28, 2016

Fantastic course, loved the way it walked you step by step through the process and the formatting. This course could have been ten weeks and still wouldn't be enough. Awesome hands on learning.

автор: 朱思伟

Dec 15, 2016

Here are great Professor,Mentor and other Teachers.

автор: Ameer Q

Jun 13, 2017

A big thank to David Wheeler, it's a lovely way to teach about the script writing. I'm very much happy that by taking that course I wrote my first TV Pilot, and its not only writing, I learned what made me stop to write. off-course I'm not perfect not but now I earned the craft to write and learn more. Thank you for this Course.

автор: Elyrice A

Oct 07, 2016

I learnt a lot . I am most appreciative of reviewers who spent a great deal of time reading my work, and leaving constructive comments.

автор: Amy A

Jun 14, 2016

David Wheeler is awesome, and I love this course! I am so glad that Coursera and Michigan State University have partnered to offer this course to those of us who have a thirst for learning! Thank you!

автор: Monique

Feb 19, 2017

Fantastic, hand-on opportunity. You can't learn to write unless you are doing a project. Great course structure!

автор: Daniella H

Mar 13, 2016

I'm actually writing my first TV series pilot. This is the furthest I've ever gotten. I love this course. Thanks to David Wheeler, everyone at Michigan State University and Coursera for making this accessible to so many. Sending tons of gratitude from Daniella Horsford.

автор: Andrea C

Apr 06, 2016

It was wonderful to get writing again and to get all the wonderful feedback from my classmates.

автор: Rennes L T

Jul 26, 2017

A really tough module but definitely fruitful in getting you started in writing!

автор: David L

Apr 06, 2018

This course is challenging and has pushed me to develop my ideas and writing.

автор: David L

Jun 07, 2017

This was a good course. It really made me write. It was a great oppertunity to learn by doing.

автор: Terrence M

Jul 04, 2017

Really enjoyed this course. I learned a lot, and it got me writing.

автор: Luis C

Oct 06, 2016

Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV Course changed my life. I took several courses in Coursera at the time, but this was the most engaging. It really made want to learn and to achieve the goal of producing a final script. I recommend it to all who look for a real way to understand the process of writing for a TV show.

автор: Irene P

Dec 27, 2016

Through this course, I transformed a scene I wrote for a full length movie into a pilot for TV. I'm happy I learned the process and I'm working on the series episodes to follow. Thank You for developing this course. The lessons were explained well and the videos were very helpful. I'm especially glad this course was presented through Michigan State University. That was a deciding factor in signing up for it. Go Spartans!

автор: Lisa E

Jun 13, 2016

Wonderful class to get that idea out of your head and on paper...finally!!!

автор: Sasha J D E

Feb 05, 2018

This course is really fun. It really gets my creative juices going as a writer.

автор: Sebastian P

Jun 29, 2017

Very activity driven. Attentive and active staff.