Chevron Left
Вернуться к Буддизм и современная психология

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Буддизм и современная психология от партнера Принстонский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 3,412
Рецензии: 980

О курсе

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Лучшие рецензии

VC

Nov 16, 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

CV

Mar 03, 2016

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

Фильтр по:

151–175 из 962 отзывов о курсе Буддизм и современная психология

автор: Samantha E

Jul 28, 2019

Robert was very thorough in his lectures, including the use of many scientific studies as examples. I admire his energy and would love to meet him someday! To non-attachment and reducing dukkha in our lives!!! Thanks for a great course and better psychological understanding of Buddhism as a philosophy.

автор: Chee K N

Oct 10, 2019

Good course to relate the modern psychology to the buddhist view on human mind and thinking and how modern psychology supported the teaching of the buddha. Great course and special thanks to Dr Robert Wright and course provide Coursera. I truly enjoyed the course and the time was well spent. Thank you

автор: Manju A

Feb 27, 2019

The course designed beautifully, gives complete insight on Buddhism and modern Psychology. Mr. Robert Wright awesome teacher, he explains the concept in a very simple and effective way. I learned a lot from this course and would definitely practice some learnings in my day to day life. Thanks Coursera

автор: Nida R

Nov 17, 2015

I'm really enjoying this course, and especially like the written midterm and final (which we haven't submitted yet) and the peer review system which allows us to read other students' thoughts on the course material as well. Definitely recommended for anyone interested in either Psychology or Buddhism.

автор: Sarah V

Nov 14, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Dr. Wright did an amazing job intellectualizing core concepts of Buddhism and relating them to modern psychology- specifically evolutionary psychology. I finished this course with a strong curiousity to learn more about some of the subjects we looked at in the class.

автор: Ramchander K

Feb 04, 2016

This is a fantastic course with a fantastic premise. I look at the Buddha more as a scientist than a philosopher and hence it is very interesting for me to know similarities between Buddhist thought and psychology. Also the interviews of Buddhist monks that are intercut with the lectures are lovable!

автор: Jim K

Nov 16, 2016

It is a very interesting topic for me. Dr Wright's teaching are also great for us the learn the basic knowledge about both Buddhism and modern psychology, though the topic itself are very difficult because Buddhism is far more profound than we can expect and modern psychology are still very young.

автор: Francesco P

Oct 16, 2017

A very insightful course, that even if it does not release any certificate, can be a wonderful starting point to learn how the Coursera platform works and to those that are passionate about social sciences and spirituality can be a source for inspiration, further researches, and a detailed study.

автор: Martin O

Aug 17, 2017

This was a truly fascinating course. Robert Wright does an excellent job delivering the material in a very humorous and down-to-earth way. It's a great combination of spirituality and science. The finding from the course will change the way you live and give you ideas for improving your own life.

автор: Odile D

Nov 14, 2015

Brilliant and full of hope for humankind !

The teaching is great because it is easily understandable on a cognitive point of view, the reamaining inner path is up to you ! Let's rebel angainst our incomplete thus efficient human nature ! and benefit of the last discoveries of modern psychology

автор: Eduardo C

Nov 10, 2017

Excellent oportunity to learn about Buddhism under the light of moder psychology. It is "doable" with very concise and well organized lectures which make the course very enjoyable and smooth. Special mention to professor Wright and his dogs, they made the whole experience even more fun.

автор: Zhou H

Dec 17, 2015

这门课程虽然形式上基本是老师讲述为主,但穿插了很多访谈,包括老师自己和其他人对佛教的冥想的实践,无我、空、觉悟的理解。课程同时从现代科学的角度对人脑思维方式、冥想时的活动、心理学角度所看的自我意识、演化心理学对人的感觉、感情、自我意识的理论进行了说明。完成课程需要写两篇论文,从论坛的讨论和其他学员的论文以及对论文的点评来看,课程的水平很高。老师也给出了进一步对佛教和现代心理学进行学习的路径及相关链接。如果想要对佛教的一些基本理论,佛教修行的基本方法感兴趣,对佛教中所追求而又没有人宣称真正实现的无我、空、觉悟想有所了解,并寻找现代科学对其的论述,这是一门很好入门课程。

автор: Catherine R

Aug 07, 2016

I truly adore this course. I'm an engineering student and my strict class schedule doesn't allow me to explore as I'd like. I've always been interested in Buddhism and I'm an avid meditator. This course gives me a historical and psychological framework in which to look at my practice.

автор: ezgi b

Jul 10, 2019

A nice combination of the scientific facts and not religious learnings of Buddhism. Sone kind of a bridge connetcs me to my own personal perceptions. It is not like a course to follow the information instead it is more like questioning with the instractor and other experts. loved it!

автор: Monique S

May 15, 2017

Considering its his first time, i think he's doing a great job. I like when a professor is down to earth. I can relate to him thus, me finding this course more and more interesting. I actually look forward to using the internet, logging onto this website for classes. lol Thank you

автор: Brook M

Dec 10, 2015

After completing this course, I have to say I'm impressed. Normally I struggle to pay attention, but I found this subject absolutely captivating. Also, the teacher was very engaged in his lectures and did a wonderful job explaining all the concepts he talked about in the lectures.

автор: Natasha

Jul 14, 2017

I am so glad to have enrolled for this course. I thoroughly enjoyed every lecture, it was enlightening to a whole new level. I have learnt so much about Buddhism and being a Psychology student this has surely helped me understand and learn Psychology from a different perspective.

автор: Emily S

Nov 06, 2015

So far, I'm having a lot of fun - and writing proper essay assignments is proving to be something I've missed terribly since being in school/college etc!

I'm really enjoying everything about this course!

It's set out beautifully, there's a brilliant tutor and it's just fantastic!

автор: Jonas K

Nov 22, 2019

Very interesting course to get an overview about the original ideas of Buddhism and put them in a context of modern science. The course is well structured and I really enjoyed watching the lectures and to go into a deeper reflection about some of the ideas in the assignments.

автор: Rana E

Jun 14, 2017

Very interesting, informative and stimulating course. Dr Wright is a pleasure to listen to; he is enthusiastic about the topic and has a fantastic sense of humor. I appreciate the time he put in this course and in the office hours answering students questions. Chapeau bas!

автор: María J P C

Feb 13, 2020

Excelente curso, sin necesidad de comprender la psicología moderna es una buena manera de comprender el buddhismo, la psicología y la meditación. El profesor cuenta con invitados y material de excelente calidad. Definitivamente uno de los mejores cursos que e tomado.

автор: Germano G d F

Jun 27, 2017

This was my first course on either Buddhism and Psychology. I really enjoyed it. The lecturer does a great job and the division of the lessons was perfect. I also enjoyed the "office hours", where the lecturer was more free to express his opinions in an informal way.

автор: Maya K

May 21, 2017

Such an insightful course, thoroughly enjoyed every single lecture and writing the essays. Such an interesting topic, and really clear information. Robert Wright is a really engaging lecturer, absolutely loved it! I've encouraged lots of my friends to take the course

автор: Luz A R M

Oct 17, 2016

It was a very good and well organized course, that gave me extensive information about Buddhism that was the reason to choose it. Modern psychology information nicely complements the Buddhist theme. The given literature invites me to continue deepen the topic.

автор: Joy S

Jan 04, 2018

Really enjoyed the juxtaposition of Buddhism with side-by-side comparisons to its equivalents in modern thought. Found it helpful, thought-provoking. It enhanced my understanding of both disciplines. I like mixed-discipline classes and this was one of the best.