Chevron Left
Вернуться к Буддизм и современная психология

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Буддизм и современная психология от партнера Принстонский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 5,047
Рецензии: 1,696

О курсе

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Лучшие рецензии

LW
25 окт. 2020 г.

I thought this was a great introduction to both modern Buddhist thought and evolutionary psychology. Professor Wright is an excellent lecturer, and his office hours are informative as well as amusing.

CV
2 мар. 2016 г.

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

Фильтр по:

1626–1650 из 1,665 отзывов о курсе Буддизм и современная психология

автор: Marni S

2 окт. 2016 г.

I enjoyed the course material and the idea behind linking Buddhist concepts with psychology; I just found some of the videos a little dry.

автор: Abhishek S

25 мая 2020 г.

The contents are in too much details if compared to the other courses of coursera,,only thing it should be made little precise

автор: Krishna S

17 апр. 2020 г.

Good course. It was informative and gave me information from the perspective of Evolutionary Psychology

автор: Pavankumar B

21 мар. 2020 г.

A unique course that has encouraged a fresh approach to theology.

автор: ANAND K R

26 мая 2020 г.

Could provide certificate. As of now no certificate provided

автор: RIYA B

13 сент. 2020 г.

There is no certificate for this course so don't join in

автор: Beatriz S

6 июля 2017 г.

Excellent! Pity there is no certificate for this course.

автор: Darleen M

13 июня 2016 г.

Loved the professor. Do not like essay questions.

автор: Beatriz C

7 февр. 2019 г.

good but not what i expected, too boring

автор: Kamala .

4 окт. 2020 г.

Nice course more information its give

автор: Srinivasan

29 апр. 2020 г.

Actually i have learnt most

автор: Francisco J L M

23 апр. 2020 г.

THANK YOU ALL. Namaste.

автор: Жураева М

28 авг. 2020 г.

good

автор: Guillermina E E A

14 июля 2020 г.

I finished the Buddhism and Modern Psychology course, I liked it but it has no certificate. However, I think that they should grant a proof of studies or diploma, even if it is not official, due to the effort and time invested.

I was excited that Princeton University offers the course, in fact it was one of the reasons why I signed up.

I would have liked to be able to say that I did these studies with the support of the knowledge offered by the University. Believe me, otherwise it's like I've read books and wikipedia.

автор: Georgiana S

23 окт. 2020 г.

There is no diploma at the end of the course! You invest your time for nothing! If I wanted ONLY information about Buddhism I would have read A BOOK! But I wanted A COURSE! With a DIPLOMA at the end! Please create a diploma for this course, there are LOTS of other people complaining on the forums about this too.

автор: Jo P

16 нояб. 2016 г.

I was attracted to this course because it offered the science behind Buddhism and I am studying neuro-science. I have abandoned it as it is yet an other exposition of Buddhism. Neglible science, neglible evidence - just stuff I already knew from non-scientific Buddhist sources.

автор: Andrea P R C

5 апр. 2020 г.

Los cuestionarios estan en ingles por lo que es difícil resolver aunque el curso tienen subtítulos y la resolución de dudas me pareció muy informal debido a los perros que muestra y habla de ellos

автор: TUSHAR V S

6 мая 2020 г.

THE VIDEOS GET BORING AFTER SOMETIME. IT NEEDS ANIMATION OR STORYTELLING TO UNDERSTAND MORE. THIS COURSE WAS NOT HELPFULL TO UNDERSTAND CONCEPT IN-DEPTH.

UNHAPPY WITH COURSE OUTCOME.

автор: Natalia S A

23 мая 2020 г.

Abandono el curso porque el contenido está muy basado en opiniones del profesor pero no brinda mucho contenido teórico.

автор: Terry C

9 нояб. 2015 г.

A bit thin on the psychology. References are not hard to find and post in Resources.

автор: Faridul A S

4 мая 2020 г.

Where is my course completion certificate?

автор: Anne

13 янв. 2016 г.

........u,mumjhmhjm h

автор: Aparna J

3 сент. 2020 г.

VERY LONG LECTURES WITHOUT PROPER STRUCTURE AND VERY TEDIOUS ASSIGNMENTS. TOO MUCH EFFORT AND TIME TO BE SPEND ON SOMETHING THAT DOESN'T EVEN OFFER A CERTIFICATE.

автор: MIRIAM P C

6 сент. 2020 г.

Indican que puede tomarse en español pero no tiene el acceso es una lastima espero lo puedan meter con traducción en español en breve.

saludos

автор: SEEMA S P

2 авг. 2017 г.

its very boring. the lecturer doesnt know to take class.its just he is reading a book.i am discontinuing the course.

sorry