Chevron Left
Вернуться к Буддизм и современная психология

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Буддизм и современная психология от партнера Принстонский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 4,639
Рецензии: 1,505

О курсе

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Лучшие рецензии

VC

Nov 16, 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

CV

Mar 03, 2016

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

Фильтр по:

1276–1300 из 1,477 отзывов о курсе Буддизм и современная психология

автор: Anastasia R D

Jul 26, 2020

good

автор: Ruchita K

Jun 16, 2020

Good

автор: AMJITH S

Jun 09, 2020

Good

автор: Kumar k

Jun 01, 2020

nice

автор: Meenashree S S

Jun 01, 2020

good

автор: Chandan R I

May 29, 2020

Best

автор: SHUBHAM A M

May 29, 2020

Best

автор: K S C

May 17, 2020

Good

автор: Sanjay J

Apr 29, 2020

Best

автор: BRIGETTA C

Apr 26, 2020

GOOD

автор: Akshay R

Jun 13, 2017

good

автор: Tomas B

Sep 24, 2015

A+++

автор: timir b

Jun 12, 2020

Yes

автор: 肖晓伟

May 25, 2016

很不错

автор: Leonardo R C

Oct 06, 2017

ex

автор: Lilyana S

May 03, 2017

in

автор: Katy P

Jul 21, 2019

I

автор: Prince A

Jan 14, 2019

s

автор: DILEEP K B

Jun 26, 2017

-

автор: Robert P

Jun 17, 2016

H

автор: Atzin G

Jan 04, 2016

Y

автор: Irina R

Jan 09, 2018

A complete novice in the topic, I really apreciated the course. It allowed me to emmerge into the subject of Buddhist philosophy; it also opened the door to the evolutionary psychology. I have an impression to get a lot out of the course. Especially in terms of "what to learn next". My curiosity is on its highest now ;) - I think it is the best a student can get.

A university lecturer myself, I appreciated the way Robert delivered his lectures. Very animated, well paced and supported by a good portion of "side discussions", interviews and references to the literature, the course was mostly seamless and easy to follow. The analytical approach that Robert practices in the course also speaks a lot to me: every concept is explained and put into the context, providing the logical links to the other concepts discussed.

The lecture on the week 6 was the hardest for me: it seems like my lack of background in the subject became critical by that time. Or, probably, following the course during a trail running is not the best approach :). Any way, compared to the previous lectures (for example, the modular mind concept was very well debated), the concepts of "Morality" and "Naturalistic Buddhism" seemed fuzzy to me.

For example, from the course, I cannot get clearly a definition of moral truth. What is "moral" according to the Buddhist teaching or according to the evolutionary theory any way? I seemed to miss the point on how the "ethics" comes to play. I also did not grasp: What are the characteristics of Naturalistic Buddhism? (any differences with secular Buddhism or other schools? Sure, one can learn it on wikipedia. But to ensure the seamless lecture flow, this could be a good introduciton). Bottom line: the topic requires probably more structured and profound analysis.

Besides all said, I tried to catch up with the support materials and was mostly interested by video interviews - the darwindharma web site is most helpful. Having not much time to sit in the forum, I appreciated a lot the Office hours as they provided a sort of digest of the students' feedback.

Now I have the "Moral Animal" sitting on my bedside table. Time to read :) If you read this review considering to take the course - DO IT!

------ Irina Rychkova,

Associate Professor in Information Science,

University Paris 1, Pantheon-Sorbonne, France.

автор: Hasan E

Aug 19, 2019

Some reference to existentialism could be helpful, I believe, in relation to Buddhist idea of breaking the bondage of Samsara (existentialist ideas on creating meaning for life, assuming responsibility for it, and rebelling against the status quo, would perhaps go hand-in-hand with Buddhist doctrine of the cessation for suffering. Besides, dependent arising and karma could have been tackled a bit more - the flow of consciousness from one life to the other without the necessity for a 'self' to be. That line of reasoning as a third alternative to Deistic religions and materialism, perhaps, is the brightest allure of Buddhist, and not Hinduist, doctrine of rebirth.

I loved Prof. Wright's personal and fun way of engaging with students (specifically during office hour videos). However, presentation in videos could sometimes easily get distracting (30 minutes of directly facing you and listening to you, sir, is a bit hard to sustain attention - enrichment with video materials or short clips could further the active interest of students imho).

I am so happy to have been part of this journey with you.

автор: Daniel N d S

Jan 24, 2019

This course makes a sincere effort to bring together Psychology and Buddhism. Although it can be very informative on Buddhist views and ideas, in particular kind of dissecting them individually, it also can be misleading when tries to interpret the Dharma without a deeper understanding of Non Duality. For example, based on the teachings of great Buddhist masters, I strongly disagree that Emptiness is a form of removing "essences" from phenomena rather than clearly "seeing" the lucidity of reality and the creative aspect of the mind that build and transforms that "essences" - and even get attached to its creations. There is so much more to explore, for example, the idea that real Emptiness experience cannot be explained by concepts and words, which are just pointers to a Deeper Truth. To be fair I think this may be beyond the field of Modern Psychology.

автор: Sky U

Mar 20, 2020

It was a super-enjoyable course comparing two diverse topics and examining the evidence for Buddhist ideas. One aspect I particularly enjoyed was the constant references to accesstoinsight.org, which encouraged me to do my own research and read Buddhist scripture to learn more by myself. The interviews were also particularly interesting, and as a big fan of Paul Bloom, I was excited to watch Dr. Wright's interview with him. One critique I might add is that I felt like some of the lectures were long-winded, and I felt like too much time was spent on theories such as the modular theory of the mind. However, please take this with a grain of salt, since I have some prior knowledge of the basics of modern psychology, and as such did not require extensive explanation of these theories.