Chevron Left
Вернуться к Буддизм и современная психология

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Буддизм и современная психология от партнера Принстонский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 3,468
Рецензии: 1,000

О курсе

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Лучшие рецензии

CV

Mar 03, 2016

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

VC

Nov 16, 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

Фильтр по:

951–975 из 985 отзывов о курсе Буддизм и современная психология

автор: Frits v S

Sep 02, 2016

interesting, but monotonous lectures.

автор: Rahul D

Jun 20, 2016

Easy to follow , real life examples

автор: Hernan V

Feb 22, 2018

Very good course. Worth taking it.

автор: Robert H

May 16, 2016

Well articulated and structured.

автор: Divyansh B

Dec 26, 2016

Thank u so much....

автор: Paññānando B

Sep 21, 2016

Two (!) many dogs.

автор: Anisa I

Nov 08, 2016

Enjoy the course

автор: Atrione E

Nov 24, 2016

spiritual food!

автор: Gerlyn

Jan 03, 2018

Nice Course!

автор: Clyde E T

Apr 06, 2016

I would re

автор: MK.KANNAPHIRAN

Aug 09, 2016

thank you

автор: 方淳

Jul 01, 2016

nice

автор: Chemychen

Apr 10, 2016

ok

автор: Corinne S

Mar 08, 2016

The Professor is excellent. I enjoyed this course solely because of Professor Wright. If you have a positive outlook on Buddhism but do not know the ins and outs of the religion/practice I do not recommend this course. I have a totally different outlook on it now that I wish I didn't have. It is interesting information but the essays are in depth and difficult...and there is no chance to even purchase a certificate.

автор: Osman V

Feb 10, 2017

Great lectures. I really enjoy discovering the world of the teacher and friends. I'll give it 3 stars since it doesn't arrive at an awe inspiring conclusion or life changing experience as somebody interesting into these subject would expect. The part where our own importance is challenge is enlightening. Cheers to the good professor.

автор: James B

Mar 24, 2016

An interesting class but left me wanting more. I realize that this is an overview but the field of secular Buddhism seems very shallow. After going through this class and reading three of Steven Batchelor's books I have the distint feeling that I may have reached the end of the subject.

автор: Deleted A

Dec 13, 2016

The beginning is well prepared, interesting and informative, the end is undercooked, subjective and repetitive. Be it 2 separate courses, I would rate them 5 and 2.

автор: Marni S

Oct 03, 2016

I enjoyed the course material and the idea behind linking Buddhist concepts with psychology; I just found some of the videos a little dry.

автор: Pavankumar B

Mar 22, 2020

A unique course that has encouraged a fresh approach to theology.

автор: Beatriz S

Jul 06, 2017

Excellent! Pity there is no certificate for this course.

автор: Darleen M

Jun 14, 2016

Loved the professor. Do not like essay questions.

автор: Beatriz C

Feb 07, 2019

good but not what i expected, too boring

автор: Jo P

Nov 16, 2016

I was attracted to this course because it offered the science behind Buddhism and I am studying neuro-science. I have abandoned it as it is yet an other exposition of Buddhism. Neglible science, neglible evidence - just stuff I already knew from non-scientific Buddhist sources.

автор: Andrea P R C

Apr 05, 2020

Los cuestionarios estan en ingles por lo que es difícil resolver aunque el curso tienen subtítulos y la resolución de dudas me pareció muy informal debido a los perros que muestra y habla de ellos

автор: Terry C

Nov 09, 2015

A bit thin on the psychology. References are not hard to find and post in Resources.