Chevron Left
Вернуться к Буддизм и современная психология

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Буддизм и современная психология от партнера Принстонский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 4,049
Рецензии: 1,259

О курсе

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Лучшие рецензии

CV

Mar 03, 2016

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

VC

Nov 16, 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

Фильтр по:

226–250 из 1,237 отзывов о курсе Буддизм и современная психология

автор: Zhou H

Dec 17, 2015

这门课程虽然形式上基本是老师讲述为主,但穿插了很多访谈,包括老师自己和其他人对佛教的冥想的实践,无我、空、觉悟的理解。课程同时从现代科学的角度对人脑思维方式、冥想时的活动、心理学角度所看的自我意识、演化心理学对人的感觉、感情、自我意识的理论进行了说明。完成课程需要写两篇论文,从论坛的讨论和其他学员的论文以及对论文的点评来看,课程的水平很高。老师也给出了进一步对佛教和现代心理学进行学习的路径及相关链接。如果想要对佛教的一些基本理论,佛教修行的基本方法感兴趣,对佛教中所追求而又没有人宣称真正实现的无我、空、觉悟想有所了解,并寻找现代科学对其的论述,这是一门很好入门课程。

автор: Catherine R

Aug 07, 2016

I truly adore this course. I'm an engineering student and my strict class schedule doesn't allow me to explore as I'd like. I've always been interested in Buddhism and I'm an avid meditator. This course gives me a historical and psychological framework in which to look at my practice.

автор: ezgi b

Jul 10, 2019

A nice combination of the scientific facts and not religious learnings of Buddhism. Sone kind of a bridge connetcs me to my own personal perceptions. It is not like a course to follow the information instead it is more like questioning with the instractor and other experts. loved it!

автор: Kelley C

May 14, 2020

I enjoyed this course and Professor Wright immensely. I was fairly unfamiliar with the concepts of Buddhism, and the lectures and reading material were extremely thought-provoking. Although my brain was sometimes pushed to its limits, the course was well laid out and easy to follow.

автор: Monique S

May 15, 2017

Considering its his first time, i think he's doing a great job. I like when a professor is down to earth. I can relate to him thus, me finding this course more and more interesting. I actually look forward to using the internet, logging onto this website for classes. lol Thank you

автор: Brook M

Dec 10, 2015

After completing this course, I have to say I'm impressed. Normally I struggle to pay attention, but I found this subject absolutely captivating. Also, the teacher was very engaged in his lectures and did a wonderful job explaining all the concepts he talked about in the lectures.

автор: Natasha

Jul 14, 2017

I am so glad to have enrolled for this course. I thoroughly enjoyed every lecture, it was enlightening to a whole new level. I have learnt so much about Buddhism and being a Psychology student this has surely helped me understand and learn Psychology from a different perspective.

автор: Emily S

Nov 06, 2015

So far, I'm having a lot of fun - and writing proper essay assignments is proving to be something I've missed terribly since being in school/college etc!

I'm really enjoying everything about this course!

It's set out beautifully, there's a brilliant tutor and it's just fantastic!

автор: Fidelia H

Apr 26, 2020

Great course! Prof. Robert Wright does not only offer objective insight into both modern psychology as well as Buddhism - he also manages to make you smile and laugh during every lecture and office hours, making any examples or references he make stay in your mind. Thank you!

автор: Jonas K

Nov 22, 2019

Very interesting course to get an overview about the original ideas of Buddhism and put them in a context of modern science. The course is well structured and I really enjoyed watching the lectures and to go into a deeper reflection about some of the ideas in the assignments.

автор: Guillermo

May 06, 2020

Great course! It has deffently helped me understand better concepts of Buddhisim and modern Psychology. Also triggerd to start meditating, not easy though :)

Thank you Robert Wright and all the team at Princenton and Coursera that made this possible, for sure it was worth it!

автор: Rana E

Jun 14, 2017

Very interesting, informative and stimulating course. Dr Wright is a pleasure to listen to; he is enthusiastic about the topic and has a fantastic sense of humor. I appreciate the time he put in this course and in the office hours answering students questions. Chapeau bas!

автор: Natalia G

May 18, 2020

I really enjoyed the course, I started without any knowledge about Buddhism or modern psychology, and now I feel I have an undertanding of the topics and how they can be linked. The course was also very easy to follow and the teacher was clear and fun to watch. Congrats!

автор: Gary S

Jun 02, 2020

Really like the way Robert Wright explained not-self and especially emptiness. I also liked how he discussed meditation as a therapeutic endeavor verses achieving full enlightenment. It allows one to continue exploring the topic without worrying about such a lofty goal.

автор: Madhukar V

Apr 27, 2020

I am really delight to gone thru the whole course. One thing is sure that the finding of Buddha 2500 years in past is still relevant and good area of scientific work. It seems modern psychology have to go long way to understand the secret of buddism doctrine completely

автор: María J P C

Feb 13, 2020

Excelente curso, sin necesidad de comprender la psicología moderna es una buena manera de comprender el buddhismo, la psicología y la meditación. El profesor cuenta con invitados y material de excelente calidad. Definitivamente uno de los mejores cursos que e tomado.

автор: Germano G d F

Jun 27, 2017

This was my first course on either Buddhism and Psychology. I really enjoyed it. The lecturer does a great job and the division of the lessons was perfect. I also enjoyed the "office hours", where the lecturer was more free to express his opinions in an informal way.

автор: Maya K

May 21, 2017

Such an insightful course, thoroughly enjoyed every single lecture and writing the essays. Such an interesting topic, and really clear information. Robert Wright is a really engaging lecturer, absolutely loved it! I've encouraged lots of my friends to take the course

автор: Luz A R M

Oct 17, 2016

It was a very good and well organized course, that gave me extensive information about Buddhism that was the reason to choose it. Modern psychology information nicely complements the Buddhist theme. The given literature invites me to continue deepen the topic.

автор: Joy S

Jan 04, 2018

Really enjoyed the juxtaposition of Buddhism with side-by-side comparisons to its equivalents in modern thought. Found it helpful, thought-provoking. It enhanced my understanding of both disciplines. I like mixed-discipline classes and this was one of the best.

автор: Aung O

May 29, 2020

The professor did well explaining many of the psychological concepts and different aspects of Buddhism in a way that the learner can connect this ancient philosophy to the modern sciences, without leaving the learners feeling like why they are learning mysticism.

автор: Randy B

May 27, 2020

I really enjoyed learning the fundamentals of what Buddhism is, I've been searching for a while to have basic understanding and this gave me that. Not only do I connect with Buddhism now but see that there is so much for all of us to take from a course like this!

автор: Priya H

Aug 24, 2018

Really loved the lectures and short video conversations that the professor presented. A great balance of relatable, understandable with just a few advanced concepts to keep you interested and know that there's much more to learn. Thanks for this course offering!

автор: Elena W

Jul 30, 2016

Excellent! I thoroughly enjoyed the professor's explanations and all the guest speakers he invited to give their input. He is very dedicated and answered many questions in his office hours, with humor and genuine care. Also, Frasier and Milo are impossibly cute.

автор: Veronika C

May 12, 2020

Very enriching course that will completely change the way you see yourself and the world around you. It gives you knowledge relevant for anyone. It´s well structured and professor Wright did an amazing job putting the lectures together. I enjoyed every session