Chevron Left
Вернуться к Буддизм и современная психология

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Буддизм и современная психология от партнера Принстонский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 4,588
Рецензии: 1,486

О курсе

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Лучшие рецензии

CV

Mar 03, 2016

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

VC

Nov 16, 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

Фильтр по:

126–150 из 1,458 отзывов о курсе Буддизм и современная психология

автор: Catrina

Dec 13, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I've always been curious about Buddhism and didn't really know what to expect. I'm a science nerd, so this fit right in. The course does a good job at pivoting back and forth between science and spirituality and then tying them back together. I can't wait to learn more-- this feels like just the beginning. Thanks to Dr. Wright for putting this info out there so concisely. It is much appreciated.

автор: Serra

Oct 28, 2016

During my 29 years of career, I have rarely had time to develop myself in the subjects that I wished but were unrelated to my profession. This course was fascinating for me now that I have just retired and am on a journey to do the things that I love. Mr Robert Wright has presented the material in a very organised and interesting way. There is a lot of food for thought. I definitely will sign up for any course that is to follow.

автор: Kate

Jun 20, 2016

This course was excellent. Robert Wright clearly and entertainingly covered complex and interesting material. He wove important themes throughout the course. His use of guest speakers and interviews was very helpful. His office hours were engaging and meeting his dogs was fun and instructive. I feel I really learned a great deal about Buddhism and Modern Psychology. I would definitely take another course with Professor Wright.

автор: Joly F Z

Sep 11, 2016

Thank you for putting this course together. I found it is extremely useful to understand Buddhism. especially selflessness with psychology knowledge. It gives the Buddhist philosophy a scientific foundation. It also helped my mindfulness meditation journey, gave me much clearer picture on what to 'watch' during the meditation journey. I recommend this course to anyone who's interested in Buddhism, Mindfulness, and meditation.

автор: Victoria D

Oct 13, 2018

This was my introductory course into Buddhism but also into how the neurological processes inside our brain impact our thoughts, feelings and actions. The material was very clearly presented but most importantly it was engaging enough to get me interested in the theory of self and mindfulness in a way I did not think possible. So I would say the course gave me an entirely new perspective on life, which is why I appreciate it

автор: Rebecca A S G

Dec 10, 2015

I loved Robert Wright before I took this class (I have read all his books and have REALLY enjoyed them!), and I love him even more after taking this class. His personality is fun, thoughtful, open, and kind (... and he's not bad to look at either), and his knowledge regarding Buddhism and Psychology is great. I learned quite a bit from this class. Thanks so much for this course. It's my favorite Coursera course thus far.

автор: Ming C

Jun 02, 2020

Great free course with good organization, user friendly IT platform and supporting materials. Dr. Wright is presented clearly and the messages are precisely delivered. One of my feedback to improve is, as a Chinese , I find the translation is even worse than I straightly studying the English . Also, the Chinese translation is not attached in every session and hence I prefer I don't rely on it. Hope someone can revise it.

автор: Patty L

Sep 18, 2016

Professor Wright did an outstanding job of presenting the fundamental principles of Buddhism and Evolutionary Psychology in a manner that a newcomer to these disciplines can understand. My greatest take away from the course will be further exploration of these ideas through the varied and rich resources he provided. My personal favorites were Bikkhu Bodhi, Judson Brewer and Joseph Goldstein.

Thank you Professor Wright

автор: Joseph S

Jun 09, 2020

Pleased to find a course that enables me to update personal views on Science and Meditation. I plan on reading more of professors Wright's books. Buddhism brought me to meditation a practice which has enriched my life considerably. I began practice at a time when science and psychology were just beginning to investigate meditation. It is very gratifying and beneficial personally to find this course on-line. Thank you.

автор: Jasna T

Jul 18, 2017

Robert Wright gives and amazing integration of Buddhism with Psychology. He teaches in unique way, integrating professionals and spiritualists and their conversations and insights into the lessons. The lectures are interesting and enjoyable adding much value to one's own personal development. It was a wonderful couple of month journey, I even feel like I'm gonna miss Robert and Maylo and Frazier. Strongly recommended!

автор: Shannon O

Oct 29, 2015

I still only partially through this course but I am very impressed. The professor is excellent; he brings humor into the lessons and explains everything in a way that we can understand. I also love the fact that he interviews various experts throughout the course in order to bring in even more perspectives. This class is extremely interesting to me and beyond my expectations. Thanks to the professor and to Coursera!

автор: Sian P

Jun 28, 2020

I gained a lot from this course - specifically from the style of dialogue and reflective discussions that Robert Wright adopts as his teaching approach on this complex subject. I thoroughly enjoyed the Professor's humourous engagement with his dogs in sharing in his reflective teachings of Buddhism, and will personally take a lot from this course into my own approach to life and meditation practice. Thank you!!

автор: James F

Apr 21, 2020

I found this course a good way to consolidate what I learned through reading Professor Wright's book 'Why Buddhism is True'. The lectures contain much of the same content, it is great to hear the delivery from Robert and I found the Office Hours segments interesting and engaging. Completion of the two course assignments provided some focus and I enjoyed writing a couple of essays for the first time in 20 years.

автор: Mihkel H

Feb 06, 2017

I'm very happy to have found this course. He has put together a sound explanation of what ulimately troubles us, the origins of those feelings, and solutions, starting with first taking a step back and understanding the big picture and then, well, in theory that shoud do it. However far teachings like this take people, I only see positives for someone, who understands the inner workings of a brain a bit better.

автор: Charles d S

Jan 11, 2017

Excellent course. Thoughtfully presented, by an instructor with considerable expertise in the field of evolutionary psychology who has also spent a lot of time thinking about religions and religious experience. Wright is ideally suited to navigate the content, and his interviews with other experts in the fields (and the fields are diverse) add greatly to the learning experience. Fantastic experience overall.

автор: DanielSubach

Feb 22, 2016

Terrific course and delivered by one of the most intellectual persons I have ever encountered. Fabulous course and well presented in a logical flowing detail covering the concepts and technical relationships exceptionally. Robert Wright is one of the best teachers and assembled a difficult course for delivery in a beautiful fashion. All modules excellent. The flow of the information and logic was great.

автор: Maria D

Jul 12, 2020

El curso me ha servido mucho, proporciona bastante información en los dos aspectos. tanto el científico como el del budismo y te lleva a sacar tus propias conclusiones.Creo que personalmente me deja una alternativa confiable para mejorar mi calidad de vida y mejorar mi relaciones con los demás y el entorno. Estoy satisfecha y Mi reconocimiento al Dr. Robert Wright por compartir sus conocimientos. Gracias

автор: Ruth P

Jun 02, 2020

I learned so much about evolutionary psychology and Buddhism and how they might be connected from excellent lectures cleverly sectioned into easy bites to digest, from the highly entertaining office hours and from the diverse variety of additional resources to compliment the main content. You honestly can't cover more ground in a six week online course - and if you like dogs, this course is for you!

автор: GAYATRI G

Jun 08, 2020

I enjoyed this course by Prof Wright - found it to be very interesting and at the same time quite intense. The references to evolutionary psychology and the various writers, scientists and practicing Buddhists he introduced us to via their work and videos was especially informative. His office hours were refreshing and I always looked forward to seeing Milo and Frasier. Thankyou for a good course.

автор: Katya R

Nov 04, 2015

I really enjoyed this course! I have had an interest in Buddhist ideas, particularly meditation, but come from a very scientific mindset and want to see all ideas supported by experiments and empirical evidence. This course does a great job connecting results from psychology and neuroscience that aren't specifically about testing Buddhist philosophy and explaining how they support these ideas.

автор: Jagdeep G

Aug 18, 2016

The Course is well designed. It takes you through the Buddhist principles and co-relates how the findings of Modern Psychology are supportive of Buddha's teachings.It has normally been held that Religion and Science cannot converge.However this Course has to a large extent been able to show that it is possible to explain the matters of conciousness and beyond in terms of modern psychology

автор: Joseph W

Jul 06, 2016

I think professor Wright is an effective teacher. The class introduces these concepts in a clear way. It isn't academically challenging in the sense that there are difficult assignments, but there are a couple essays that help ensure that you are understanding the content. It's a great introduction for someone who knows little about Buddhism or how it stands from a psychological standpoint.

автор: Paula S

Jun 23, 2017

I am only half way through this course but I am addicted! It is exactly what I have been looking for not only to help me understand the basics of Buddhism in layman terms but in to offer scientific explanations to back it up. Robert Wright is easy to understand and easy to connect to, I think he has done an amazing job at putting this course together and presenting it, so I say THANK YOU!

автор: Matthew B

Sep 21, 2016

Robert Wright does an excellent job presenting Buddhist ideas and putting them into context with modern psychology studies. I felt he offered a unique and scientific approach to the discourses and very much enjoyed his interviews and insights. The questions at the end of every lecture were very helpful to solidify new concepts. I look forward to digging deeper into supplemental materials.