Chevron Left
Вернуться к Буддизм и современная психология

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Буддизм и современная психология от партнера Принстонский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 4,016
Рецензии: 1,246

О курсе

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Лучшие рецензии

CV

Mar 03, 2016

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

VC

Nov 16, 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 1,232 отзывов о курсе Буддизм и современная психология

автор: Kevin B

Dec 17, 2016

I got a lot out of this course. While the curriculum was by necessity very condensed, I thought that Dr. Wright did an impressive job of organizing the progression of concepts and including key information. The interviews he conducted with guest speakers in each of the lectures were helpful, and relevant to the topics being discussed. I also appreciated the supplementary reading materials included with each week's lesson. Most of all, I enjoyed Dr. Wright, who has a very relaxed, common sensical approach to what he's discussing. I would recommend this class to anyone who has interest in the topic and also to anyone who wants to learn from a very knowledgeable and effective teacher.

автор: Annika D

May 01, 2020

I really loved the course.

Mr. Wright really did a good job of breaking down this very complex content and communicating it very clearly (with simple, everyday examples, which I find very charming).

I like the approach of always combining Buddhist ideas with scientific knowledge. I've meditated before, but now I know what the exact background is and what's going on in my brain during that.

I had no previous experience in the field and was able to follow the course very well.

Now I've become a bit more curious and want to learn more about it, so I bought "Why everyone else is a hypocrite" by Rob Kurzban and I'm reading it right now.

Thank you very much for providing this course!

автор: abigail h

May 02, 2020

I found this course fascinating from start to finish. The light hearted and entertaining Bob talks you through the concepts, joined by his special guests to shed light and alternative argument on the subjects is well balanced and super interesting. I also enjoyed the further suggested reading and reviewing my peers assignments to see their interpretation on the lessons discussed in the lectures. This was my first course on the platform, but I will definitely take another. The system was user friendly and created an accessible learning environment. Thank you to everyone involved, it has been an excellent experience and has left me inspired and motivated for further learning.

автор: Emma T

Apr 19, 2020

Over the years I have started many, many online courses and rarely find them engaging enough to hold my attention until the end. This course was a rare exception, I found it utterly fascinating from the very beginning. When I signed up, I hadn't really intended to submit any of the assignments, but ended up submitting everything because I found the course material so interesting. I thought the style of the lectures was excellent too; plenty of information, presented in an interesting and easy to understand way. I plan to do a lot of further reading/study now on all areas covered in the course. Thank you to the course team for a really enjoyable learning experience :-)

автор: Alberto G C

Jan 11, 2016

Very delightful course as it is more than well taught and full of interesting data, opinions and experiments. The videos are very helpful and provide us of a large names to look for and read about. The resources are pretty enough and interesting. Office hours have been a discover: great questions from students and "being at home chatting with Robert" feeling all around.

I appreciate so much Robert´s enthusiasm and above all, his natural and funny way to explain course concepts with his dogs or with his attachments to dark chocolate or powdered sugar doughnuts.

Many thanks to Robert and to all the technical stuff for providing us this course with all the work they had done.

автор: eduardo c

May 15, 2020

Es un muy buen curso, especialmente por su apertura a las nuevas corrientes de la ciencia, en particular, las neurociencias y las experiencias que investigan los cambios a largo plazo en el cerebro de quienes meditan o han meditado durante mucho tiempo. Muy buen profesor, Robert Wright establece excelente rapport con la audiencia con la ayuda inestimable de sus mascotas, Milo y Frazer. Plantea dudas para ampliar el scope de sus análisis, ofrece varias alternativas ya exploradas y videos de quienes las desarrollaron. Este es un punto muy alto del curso. En síntesis, muy conforme, felicidades al profesor Wright, logró cautivar mi atención en muchos de sus videos.

автор: Nighat M

Jul 07, 2017

This is a wonderful course, both in terms of well-organized content, office hours and reference materials and in terms of insights it provides into a Buddhist way of life. I also enjoy the interviews Prof Wright conducts on Meaningoflife.tve.

I have benefited tremendously from regularly listening to the lectures and the reading materials assigned for this course, and have recommended it to several friends. Prof Wright is a great teacher, and I love his elegant, understated sense of humor.

I haven't been active on the discussion forum or FB. Nor have I been able to submit the first assignment yet, but this does not mean I am not following the course diligently.

автор: Mariam A

Oct 17, 2017

Excellent course! I had the chance of taking it around the same time Prof. Wright's book, Why Buddhism is True, hit the shelves, so I enjoyed reading several interviews about the book and the subject of this course in mainstream Buddhist online magazines and publications. It was really interesting to put it all in perspective and read the critiques' opinion pieces too. The course itself is very well organized, the structure is clear, with many references, good examples, even anecdotes. Dr Wright's teaching style is lighthearted and enjoyable, yet very clear and on point. If you have an interest in evolutionary psychology and Buddhism, don't miss this course.

автор: Mark L

May 27, 2019

Four and a half stars!

I enjoyed this course and learned a lot from it. As a meditator, someone who has an interest in science and pshchology as well as buddhism, I found the course enlightening and was particularly interested in some of the parallels drawn between the buddhism and modern psychology. This course provides insight into the workings of the mind. Points for improvement are amending the time requirements as the additional resource section took hours to complete rather than the 10 minutes or so alloted. I liked Robert style and the way he shares his thinking process, but sometimes felt he could have got to the point a bit quicker than he does.

автор: Brittany H

Apr 04, 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed the content of this course, and writing the two written assessments. Peer reviewing assessments was a new experience, but I enjoyed reading other peoples views and thoughts and research. I was able to take my learnings and not only use it in my personal and professional life but also able to review it in terms to the similarity it has to my own culture and has really encouraged a break-through perspective to my outlook. Highly recommend - although I personally prefer self-directed research, and struggled to walk some of the video lectures, they were filled with information and were a great insight to support my own research. 10/10

автор: Madras A R K

Oct 23, 2017

I found this course a lot of learning and great deal of fun. Prof. Wright's method of teaching allows us to come up with our own ideas and insights from our experiences and journey. I found the extra suggested readings, more importantly the video discussions (one hour long with Bhikku Bodhi, Prof Kurzban) meaningful and augmented the learning substantially. I am planning to enroll in Vipasana for 10 days in Igatpuri, India.

Also the last two weeks I was in Myanmar and met with Therevada Monks. The country follows the teachings of the Buddha quite in a pure form. Most kids go through being a 'novice'. Most come out. But that grounding seems to help.

автор: David D

Nov 26, 2015

I really enjoyed this course which was novel to combine some of the essential Buddhist teaching with what modern psychology could support and interpret. I would say, even if you studied psychology and read some Buddhist writers, that Dr. Wright delivers a professional and engaging course that will give one food for thought as well as making clear some esoteric Buddhist concepts one may struggle with. It's refreshing to find similarities between what science and the Buddha postulate regarding the self, attachment and that the assigning of form/feelings to our environment may cause unhappiness/dissatisfaction. Great course and well presented!

автор: Olivia G

Feb 07, 2016

I have never encountered a discussion of the first two noble truths that made so much sense to me. Having studied biology and discovered that science could not give me the answers I was seeking, I explored many different thought avenues. I am not a Buddhist, but I can identify with Buddhist thought. But what I absolutely agree with is what His Holiness the Dalai Lama says about the necessary collaboration between Buddhism and science. I think it is the only way for humanity to go to the next level and I think all spiritual and scientific directions should participate in the dialogue.

I am looking forward to the rest of the course.

Thank you

автор: Juan L N

Oct 22, 2017

What a great course! It may sound a bit dry or tedious but Robert, the instructor, makes it very exciting and above all hilarious. I'm not sure if he's aware of it but he's a really funny guy. The course strikes a good balance between the seemingly abstract ideas of Buddhism and the learning and insights from psychology. The course starts off quite basic and gradually builds up solid pieces of (sometimes sophisticated) proof/insights that logically answers the question if Buddhism can be considered a (naturalistic) religion. Highly recommended if you're interested in the topic of meditation/mindfulness with a light spiritual touch!

автор: Ann S

Jun 28, 2016

Loved this course. It was a lot of fun. The Prof. really cares about the subject and how his students contribute to his own understanding of it. (He takes a lot of time reading students' comments and replying to them during "office hours.") He also reaches out to experts in both psychology and Buddhism and shows you his dialogue with them. Finally, the guiding questions for the assignments are a good challenge and the instructions for structuring the paper very clear. I didn't have time to write the papers but will as soon as I've the time. Bonus: you get to meet his dogs, and they're awesome.

автор: Wind

Jun 15, 2017

I've taken more than 10 courses on coursera, edx and udacity and this is the one course that I love most so far! I've read a few books on meditation and evolution by now and I have to say I learned from this professor more than any other people on these two subjects. And let's not forget it's actually a course on buddhism. So thank you so much for this course! One big aha moment for me for example is "evolution doesn't care about whether we're happy but it does care that we care about we're being happy. And that's how evolution 'designed' us to do its bidding." That's so mind blowing.

автор: Francois Y L

Apr 29, 2020

Well I really got what I was looking for when I enrolled for the course; which is some sense of what Buddhism was about. I not only got that, but I also got a really good view of how it is linked to Modern psychology. The materials made available for the course are really precious to me and are very useful as I tried to understand the two subjects. They not only deepened my knowledge but also inspired me on different themes and things I want to look into next. I am very grateful to Coursera for making this freely available and for Prof. Wright for teaching his passion with passion.

автор: Jose M M

May 11, 2020

First, I want to express my sincere gratitude to Professor Robert Wright, for his dedication and human warmth. This course on Buddhism and modern psychology allowed me to add new tools to face daily life situations from another perspective. All the material presented in the course is developed in a clear and enjoyable way and encourages us to go on investigating and reflecting. I have enjoyed this course from the very beginning to the end, and taking responsibility for reading my classmates´ assignment has been enriching. Once more, thank you so much Professor Wright.

Jose M Muñoz.

автор: Susanne W

Feb 10, 2019

A very informative and intriguing course that draws clear parallels between evolutionary psychology and the concepts behind Buddhism. Robert Wright's lectures offer thought provoking ideas and combine them with vivid, everyday examples to aid understanding of each concept on the deepest levels. . His personal experience, knowledge and enjoyment of the topic at hand are evident in each lecture and he is a joy to learn from. I also enjoyed hearing from the other experts he interviewed throughout the course in this very interesting field of study.

Thank you for a great course!

автор: Dharav S

Jan 12, 2017

I personally believe this course should be taught in residential campuses and colleges all around the world. The course does introduce Buddhist ideas, but more importantly, it helps us realize our flaws in a Darwinian setting. It is more about Darwin and evolution than it is about Buddhism. It helps us understand why people sometimes are vicious, irrational or why we act in ways that we don't associate with us. I would recommend the course to everyone I know, and any one who is reading this: just finish the course in one small video at a time and put all of this in practice!

автор: Tom S

Nov 18, 2015

I admit to being a novice when it comes to Buddhist thought, but I've followed Robert Wright's work since reading The Moral Animal many years ago. I found the course to be a wonderful introduction to Buddhist thought, but more importantly an inventive and thoughtful attempt to connect that worldview and its prescriptions to current thinking in western psychology. Whether you're interested in evolutionary psychology, neuroscience or mindfulness - or better yet, all three - I think you'll find this course well worth your time. Mr. Wright is a wonderful writer and teacher.

автор: Kristina R

Jun 23, 2016

Professor Wright is very engaging and knowledgeable! He breaks down Buddhism in an intellectual manner that does not demean the spirituality of it, but also does not adhere to it. This makes the course both educational and easy to digest, for anyone with an aversion to spiritual matters (which you will learn in this course may be a source of suffering...). I am only on the 2nd week of lessons and can't wait to see this through to the end! In an unattached appreciative manner of course... haha. Thanks to everyone that put forth the effort to design and share this course!

автор: Ricardo A

Feb 25, 2019

It is a pleasant and amusing introduction to Buddhism and Modern Psychology. This course focuses on meditation as a way of trying to reduce the impact of unproductive patterns of thinking. I find it an interesting and worthwhile course. Mr Wright proposes interesting theories based on natural selections. The central points in the course is how our modern life presents us with stimuli that were useful in our prehistoric environment but which cause us to overreact. Meditation makes us realize this and temper down or eliminate our responses and bring peace to our mind.

автор: Andrea

Sep 19, 2016

I loved this course, the professor is very clear at explaining and giving different points of view of the theories. Personally it was a huge help because of the situation I was in when I enrolled in the course and I think having a different view of the world and ourselves is incredibly useful and positive, This course helps attain just that so I highly recommend it for someone who wants to test a little their ideas and perceptions of the world and themselves because its not just a theoretically course because it has science and experiments that help support ideas.

автор: Anna P M

Oct 19, 2016

Overall, the course has been very satisfying and it has provided me with precious knowledge concerning not only psychology and Buddhism in particular but also religion, philosophy and the way science can creatively interact with them. The lectures were almost always very easy to follow and Dr. Wright explained all concepts in a very clear and interesting way. I would maybe decrease the length of certain video lectures though. It is totally recommendable to anyone wanting to discover new perspectives that are based on really up to date facts.