Chevron Left
Вернуться к Буддизм и современная психология

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Буддизм и современная психология от партнера Принстонский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 4,639
Рецензии: 1,505

О курсе

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Лучшие рецензии

VC

Nov 16, 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

CV

Mar 03, 2016

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

Фильтр по:

501–525 из 1,477 отзывов о курсе Буддизм и современная психология

автор: Diana G F B

May 25, 2020

I really love the course, Dr. Wright know how to catch the attention of everyone using multiple ways to teach us about buddhism. Regards from Lima, Perú.

автор: Cathy S C

Dec 29, 2019

Excellent course! I enjoyed not only learning more about Buddhism but the impact it has had on modern society and Science! The proof is in the pudding.

автор: Leo C

Jul 30, 2019

Intellectually challenging and intriguing! Great professor with a wide array of materials and insights to thoughts of modernized Buddhism and psychology.

автор: Flavia M S

May 13, 2020

Very well structured, student-centered and the professor was really passionate about his subject. A well-done course and great approach to office hours.

автор: Kasia

Aug 20, 2018

A great course. So many highly interesting data packed up in just six weeks. Awesome studies´results. Nice videos, nice professor. Learned a lot here :)

автор: shikha b

Nov 29, 2016

thoroughly enjoying the sessions! thank you so much for putting such a wonderful and meaningful course together.. looking forward to the assignments :)

автор: Kim B

May 12, 2020

An interesting topic, taught by a great lecturer. Robert Wright completely made the course worthwhile. Shame there aren't more courses taught by him.

автор: Titov D

Oct 15, 2019

I think this is an interesting course for everyone who wants to learn more about buddhism and psychology, and find more positive things in our life.

автор: E C

Jun 27, 2017

Really interesting topic. Robert Hansen does a great job linking two (seemingly) completely different topics while explaining both of them in depth.

автор: Khlang H

Sep 27, 2016

THIS IS AN AMAZING CLASS.....LIFE CHANGING EXPERIENCE .....ITS HELP ME A LOT TO DEAL WITH MY CHILDREN GOD ONLY KNOWS CHILDREN ARE ALWAYS TESTING YOU

автор: Barbara C

May 17, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. I enjoyed a lot Robert Wright explanations and after hours. Want to thanks him and the people that made this training.

автор: Adriana V R

Apr 28, 2020

Un muy buen curso para aprender sobre budismo y cómo se relaciona con la psicología moderna. Un punto de vista moderno y práctico. Muy interesante!

автор: Ronald R

Jun 05, 2017

Very meaningful course delivered by a very well trained and qualified professor. This course gave me a deeper understanding of my Buddhist faith :)

автор: Vanessa M

Jul 02, 2020

Amazing course! The instructor explains everything in a manner anyone can understand (English is my second language). I would highly recommend it!

автор: cassandra t

May 02, 2016

Thorough, intelligently skeptical while reasonably open minded.

Professor Wright is phenomenally engaging and clear in his delivery and knowledge.

автор: Airyn M A

Jul 30, 2020

I learned a lot from this course. It made me become more mindful of my thoughts and it widens my perspectives on things that affect my existence.

автор: RAHUL S

Jun 19, 2020

A very detailed course illustrating the human predicament from a scientific perspective with pieces of evidence supporting the Buddha's findings.

автор: Barbara G

Oct 30, 2015

I really enjoyed the course. It gave me lots of new information about Buddhism and how it applies to modern life. Many thanks for a great course.

автор: Liza P P

May 24, 2020

It is a very interesting course. I am Biologist, and it was special to see, how modern science can explain the parts of the Buddhist philosophy.

автор: Pritika G

Mar 03, 2017

I am extremely happy I completed this course, it has lend me new lenses to view reality in a way I wouldn't have imagined otherwise. Thank you !

автор: Sonali V C

May 31, 2020

This is the great course and helpful to me to learn how buddhas thoughts we uses in modern pyschology as well as helps to me keep myself calm.

автор: Michael M

Dec 17, 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity to explore this material and learn how these two worlds intersect so wonderfully.

Thank you to Robert Wright!

автор: Vandana G

Mar 14, 2019

A difficult topic presented in a very intriguing way.

Beautifully elaborated views.

Reasonably understandable videos, I feel spiritually richer .

автор: Kazimirchik A

Aug 14, 2016

This course is tought by a real professional, Mr. Wright builds a very logical structure which helps dive deeper into the subject.Thanks a lot!

автор: R.L. W

Apr 05, 2018

Great course to learn about important psychological findings and ways to reflect on your own mindfulness. I recommend this course to everyone.