Chevron Left
Вернуться к Буддизм и современная психология

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Буддизм и современная психология от партнера Принстонский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 4,639
Рецензии: 1,505

О курсе

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Лучшие рецензии

VC

Nov 16, 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

CV

Mar 03, 2016

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

Фильтр по:

226–250 из 1,477 отзывов о курсе Буддизм и современная психология

автор: Ross N

Jun 16, 2020

Robert Wright is just as curious as us learners, and uses humour and easy examples to convey heavy topics. I find the idea of Buddhism for wellbeing fascinating. I work for the NHS providing Cognitive Behaviour Therapy and this course helped me understand the logic behind, and the power of [mindfulness] meditation.

автор: Tim S

Mar 04, 2017

Excellent course, recommended for less spiritual people. Specifically the link with evolutionary psychology gives this course a more scientific approach. The non-prescriptive rationale help people to see the why, before the what. One may eventually join, or in my case partially join, the buddhist view of the world.

автор: Rodrigo

Dec 20, 2015

Great course, so far. The way the connection between Buddhism, evolution and psychology is taught is VERY clear, concise and logic. I am a mathematician, who studies buddhism and loves psychology also, and have never seen an explanation so clear and connected to our culture like in this course. Awesome initiative!

автор: Meredith D

Feb 24, 2020

Loved this course, Richard Wright has a really simple and engaging way of explaining both the religion and the science and ties it together in a fascinating way. I also fell a little bit in love with his dogs, Frasier and Milo who were stars of the course in their own right. Good luck with the Buddhist path boys!

автор: Daan v R

May 12, 2019

This may be my favorite course on Coursera so far. I think especially in combination with Paul Bloom's Intro to Psych it was extremely helpful and insightful. The material taught and especially all the additional readings, videos and references was quite exhaustive and made for an incredibly enriching few weeks.

автор: Kaden G

May 21, 2020

It was very in depth and good to understand for all despite whatever religion you want to be classified as a part of. Also it was a short course for me which i liked as its not very time consuming and got the point across to understand how science can really relate to some of buddhist practices and teachings.

автор: roze a c

Jun 11, 2019

I truly enjoyed this course with Professor Wright and all of the other wonderful teachers who took part in the teachings. It has been a long time dream to be able to study at Princeton University. Now, a part of my dream has come to pass. Thank you for the opportunity to spread my wings a little bit further.

автор: larry g

Sep 01, 2017

I studied Buddhism decades ago from a historical prospective but could never really get a grasp on the underlying nature of the concepts involved. (Too much the engineer I guess.) This course finally provided the levers that I think may get me beyond dabbling in meditation techniques for stress relief only.

автор: Marcelo d J

Oct 07, 2015

Hice este curso hace un par de años y me pareció realmente excepcional, tanto que ahora lo estoy haciendo de nuevo y me parece cada vez mejor. El interés de los temas expuestos, la sencillez y accesibilidad a la hora de transmitirlos... Robert Wright es un verdadero maestro! Enhorabuena a él a todo su equipo!

автор: Helen R

Jun 09, 2016

Firstly I enjoyed it - it was interesting. Secondly I found it did what it said it would do - it was informative. The teaching was good. The assessments were relevant and did assess learning without being too time consuming or difficult. There was a forum which was interesting. I'd definitely do another one.

автор: Brendon M

Nov 15, 2016

Have been looking for something like this for twenty years - exploring Buddhism with a technical bent and relation to modern understandings of the mind. thank you. impressed with Robert Wright.

Would have liked to see a certificate and would have been a=happy to pay for this aspect if that was the barrier.

автор: Graham A

Mar 09, 2016

I find the subject and the material fascinating. Robert is a great lecturer with an obvious wealth of knowledge on the subject to impart to his students. I am thoroughly enjoying it and I look forward to studying with Robert again in the future. It has really opened my mind to a whole new field of study.

автор: Greer B

Jul 21, 2016

The professor is relateable, funny, and understandable. He explains the information thoroughly and provides a multitude of resources for deeper investigation. He approaches the topics from multiple points of views, and goes in depth in each of those views. It has been a very enjoyable experience so far.

автор: Denise T

May 13, 2016

Well worth the time. I am someone who has been meditating for a few years and I am practicing Psychologist and Psychotherapist. I was interested to understand how my experiences with meditation can relate to the word of modern psychology and this course was very persuasive in its approach and content.

автор: Juan G A S

Aug 08, 2020

Though an objective course in understanding Buddhism, it actually helps you understand a bit of yourself more and more you listen to the lectures. You begin to identify and make sense of the world and the assessments really reflect what you understand and even go personal with your beliefs as a person.

автор: Samantha E

Jul 28, 2019

Robert was very thorough in his lectures, including the use of many scientific studies as examples. I admire his energy and would love to meet him someday! To non-attachment and reducing dukkha in our lives!!! Thanks for a great course and better psychological understanding of Buddhism as a philosophy.

автор: Gabriela Q

May 15, 2020

Profesor Wright not only is super clear, but he makes the lessons with various contents, sources and information useful. He explains with detail, he is funny (the dogs made me laugh more than once) and the subject is interesting. I am so happy I could find something like this during these hard times.

автор: Chee K N

Oct 10, 2019

Good course to relate the modern psychology to the buddhist view on human mind and thinking and how modern psychology supported the teaching of the buddha. Great course and special thanks to Dr Robert Wright and course provide Coursera. I truly enjoyed the course and the time was well spent. Thank you

автор: Manju A

Feb 27, 2019

The course designed beautifully, gives complete insight on Buddhism and modern Psychology. Mr. Robert Wright awesome teacher, he explains the concept in a very simple and effective way. I learned a lot from this course and would definitely practice some learnings in my day to day life. Thanks Coursera

автор: Nida R

Nov 17, 2015

I'm really enjoying this course, and especially like the written midterm and final (which we haven't submitted yet) and the peer review system which allows us to read other students' thoughts on the course material as well. Definitely recommended for anyone interested in either Psychology or Buddhism.

автор: Sarah V

Nov 14, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Dr. Wright did an amazing job intellectualizing core concepts of Buddhism and relating them to modern psychology- specifically evolutionary psychology. I finished this course with a strong curiousity to learn more about some of the subjects we looked at in the class.

автор: Ramchander K

Feb 04, 2016

This is a fantastic course with a fantastic premise. I look at the Buddha more as a scientist than a philosopher and hence it is very interesting for me to know similarities between Buddhist thought and psychology. Also the interviews of Buddhist monks that are intercut with the lectures are lovable!

автор: Scott H

Apr 08, 2020

Good short lectures, interesting essays, and interesting peer-review process. The class provides a synthesis of some core Buddhist ideas with modern psych. Where the class deviates from 'conventional' Buddhist teaching, it flags the deviation for you to separately research if you are interested.

автор: Jim K

Nov 16, 2016

It is a very interesting topic for me. Dr Wright's teaching are also great for us the learn the basic knowledge about both Buddhism and modern psychology, though the topic itself are very difficult because Buddhism is far more profound than we can expect and modern psychology are still very young.

автор: Francesco P

Oct 16, 2017

A very insightful course, that even if it does not release any certificate, can be a wonderful starting point to learn how the Coursera platform works and to those that are passionate about social sciences and spirituality can be a source for inspiration, further researches, and a detailed study.