Chevron Left
Вернуться к Science of Exercise

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Science of Exercise от партнера Колорадский университет в Боулдере

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 4,053
Рецензии: 1,345

О курсе

Learners who complete Science of Exercise will have an improved physiological understanding of how your body responds to exercise, and will be able to identify behaviors, choices, and environments that impact your health and training. You will explore a number of significant adjustments required by your body in order to properly respond to the physical stress of exercise, including changes in carbohydrate, fat and protein metabolism, nutritional considerations, causes of muscle soreness & fatigue, and the effectiveness and dangers of performance enhancing drugs. Active learning assessments will challenge you to apply this new knowledge via nutrition logs, heart rate monitoring, calculations of your total daily caloric expenditure and body mass index (BMI). Finally, learners will examine the scientific evidence for the health benefits of exercise including the prevention and treatment of heart disease, diabetes, cancer, obesity (weight loss), depression, and dementia....

Лучшие рецензии

MB

11 сент. 2020 г.

It is a very great course. This course taught me many great things about the human body like how the body responses to exercise and nutrition. What, when, how we should do exercise and take nutrition.

NT

14 апр. 2020 г.

Love everything about this course. Nice module. Professor is really nice. However, I need to learn further about weight training (Pros, cons , etc). Looking forward to attend in weight training class.

Фильтр по:

1201–1225 из 1,356 отзывов о курсе Science of Exercise

автор: Kelly C

14 мая 2020 г.

T

автор: Anastasia B

3 июня 2018 г.

О

автор: Kamalir V

26 апр. 2020 г.

It was great information and I have learned a lot about the science of exercising. It has helping personally due to I am high risk with diabetes, high blood pressure and sometimes by weight changes. So I am grateful that I took this class since it is going to help me with my own aerobic training for myself.

The reason I don't give it a 5 star. I was not impress of the lack of information on the last assignment. It was confusing and frustrated about the instruction. It needs to be more clear of what it want and not have to guess. Ex: There was no font required or if you needed it, if it wanted resources, format references it just made hard for you to know what was expected beside using Module 1-3 and VO2max. It was all over the place especially when I had to grade my peer's assignment. As well, it was not clear in the syllabus as well. As I graded my classmate there was different format, hard to find the information, font size was different, maximum word allowed some students only did 179 words. It can improve by providing these instruction either in the syllabus or in the assignment. It will help to keep a structure as well. Beside that I loved the class.

автор: Ganesh S

9 дек. 2019 г.

Dr. Robert Mazzeo was excellent in his precise and data driven lectures. The base content that went IN is possibly very good for a 4 week course but while empirical data is proof for many scenarios, it would've helped if there was material that also said - here are some use cases where the given data may or may not be most representative. For example, when we talk about the intersection where burning fat goes down and the body starts seeking carbs, am guessing that the point of intersection could vary for people across different physical and physiological capabilities and ideally there could've been a small band - between say 40 and 70% of VO2 max - that could've been called out as a reference band.

автор: David D

29 окт. 2017 г.

This is really an outstanding course for anyone. It will inform you and shuld motivate you to start or continue exercising/physical activity. Mazzeo explains clearly and precisely if somewhat rapidly and provides ample proof of better health though exercise. If he published a book I would certainly consider purchasing it.

This course touches on all areas, from optimizing exercise itself, to how this can have such a positive impact on things like aging and disease...

I would have given a 5 star but as I audited this course and did not pay for an unnecessary certificate I could not get quiz results unlike almost all other MOOCs I have taken.

автор: Renato R

18 мая 2020 г.

Good afternoon! Amazing training course! very thorough and complete information related the most important key concepts and principles for exercise training and athletic fitness, explanations where deep and broad understanding of the multiple biological systems in play were acquired, I thank a lot the whole team of experts creating this amazing training course, as well as the many other students who kindly shared their essays explaining their own understanding of the key concepts from multiple different points of view which turned out to be very instructive and interesting as well

автор: Jen M

17 окт. 2017 г.

I liked the course a lot and I learned a lot. I wish there were more handouts related to the information in the lectures so I had it in written form (like an outline of what was covered, etc.). My biggest issue was the final assignment; the instructions said to include a bunch of things, but the grading rubric only asked for some of that info in more detail than maybe one would've thought. Maybe either have a bigger rubric that covers more or have the instructions be more specific about how much detail you want and forget about the parts you don't grade. Just a thought.

автор: Janet R

31 авг. 2020 г.

This course was more detailed than I anticipated. I learned lots about cellular changes and the interaction of other body systems during exercise. I would have liked to go back and review some of the lectures more than once. I just wasn't sure how to go back. Thanks for offering the course for free. I enjoy learning and applying new things now that I'm retired but I have little money to pay for college classes. I am trying to improve my fitness and this class has helped me put together a program for my own fitness improvement.

автор: Varun M

18 апр. 2020 г.

This was a very thorough course and allows someone with zero understanding to gain knowledge into the world of exercise. What needs for this to receive a 5 star? course is called science of exercise- perhaps a full module dedicated to different kinds of exercise and their effects on body and a deep dive in rep ranges and how to maximize muscle growth or fat loss instead of 7 min video. Thank you prof- your explanations were straight forward.

автор: Salaam A

12 мая 2020 г.

An excellent course that truly reveals the biochemical and physiological mechanisms and adaptations your body goes through when training. In addition you learn about the role of the cardiovascular, respiratory and endocrine systems in supporting the body’s response and adaptations due to exercise. Finally it discusses the various health benefits of exercise and dangers of using performance enhancers.

автор: Alejandra I R C

25 июня 2020 г.

This was a really good course, but the majority of videos are in english with no subtitles in spanish and that makes a little bot hard to understand the part of fisiology. On the other hand maybe it would be easier if you have some kwnoledge in medicine. It was very interesting I really like the part that explain all the benefits that exercise have in our body and its influence in so many diseases.

автор: Michael P

15 июля 2020 г.

The description for the course says "Beginner" but this is DEFINITELY not beginner material (it is much more advanced). It also says course length is 10 hours. NOT if you have to write the essay at the end, it can be much longer. But the course is packed with higher level concepts and facts! Great course if you really want to understand exercise, physiology, health, etc., on a higher level.

автор: Aisling F

20 авг. 2020 г.

I enjoyed this course. It was much more comprehensive and well designed than previous courses I have followed pertaining to exercise science. I really liked how there were questions asked throughout the videos that helped monitor your understanding of the content and this was good for prompting me to revise a lecture efficiently if I felt unprepared to answer the questions.

автор: Jasmin P

17 июля 2020 г.

This course is highly informative, but in my opinion, too many irrelevant statistics were presented which you forget very fast. Also, I didn't like the final assignment at all... 1000 words from basically just one topic from the whole course. That is too much for someone who is not proficient in this field. Other than that it was very good, and I learnt a lot.

автор: Jonathan G

22 янв. 2018 г.

fascinating course. I learned a lot! Although, it would've been more fulfilling if they talked about exercise programs for different of body types i.e. meso-ectomorphic and so on. Such body types need more military style, "boot camp" exercises where the entire body has to work all at once and the body is seen as one big muscle. Just saying.

автор: Yael S

14 июля 2020 г.

I believe this course was very good and I did learn a lot. However, I did have to search for some terms and explanations in other sites because you definitely had to have some previous knowledge to fully understand. If you haven't taken some sort of biology class or something of the sort, I would recommend searching for an easier course.

автор: Jack H

17 авг. 2020 г.

I enjoyed this course! I took it to learn more about my body as I am a high-level athlete and I definitely learned a lot about the more subtle features to performance. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in sports, exercise, and biology. The videos could have been more engaging but they were very informative.

автор: Lok T T

7 февр. 2021 г.

Overall, gained a lot of knowledge on the science of exercise and everything's good.

just that now i'll need to upgrade and pay so that i could access to the exercises and quiz. Recommendation would be the upgrade only for the certs instead but without the payment, we can still access to the quizes and assignment.

автор: Carol F

5 апр. 2020 г.

Course was very good! Interesting lectures and reading. The peer assessment was a bit frustrating. Information that was clearly included in the assignment was missed by peers resulting in lower grades and need to resubmit. Need to add an additional reviewer from the university to balance peer assessment.

автор: Alexandros S

5 окт. 2020 г.

In reality, deep in my heart, the course should be 5-star rated from everyone who loves this subject. I would like to travel through this course with more of the Nutritional world except food metabolism added. Four stars, also remember 5 stars are not enough for this course. Congrats to Robert Mazzeo!

автор: Vaibhav G

30 апр. 2018 г.

The course content was excellent. Only improvement would be, the language was too technical to follow, and was a bit dry at times, even though this course was in the area of my interest, I found the videos a bit boring at times.

Also, the last few videos about aging, cancer etc were less relevant.

автор: Saibrata P

14 авг. 2021 г.

I​t was indeed a great experience to be a part of such a well laid out programme. It helped me gain the fundamental aspects of the science behind physical trainings and exercise and also helped me understand the science that needs to be applied for a healthier lifestyle.

автор: Durvankur P

15 нояб. 2017 г.

It was a thorough explanation of all the aspects of exercise. Being an endurance athlete, I was able to incorporate most of the concepts taught in this course. It has helped me immensely in better understanding the nuances of sports, body and overall aspects of health.

автор: Giulia C

26 мар. 2020 г.

Thank you for this amazing course! It has been very useful and pleasant. I could understand better some dynamics "behind the scenes" of a training program and I learned how being active an affect our health and fitness for real, I don't have to "trust" blindly anymore!

автор: Dipesh K T

16 июля 2020 г.

Concepts of how bodily functions are improved by regular physical training, importance of exercise to maintain good health and prevent diseases and several other related ideas were discussed with help of various studies, data and figures.