Chevron Left
Вернуться к Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark от партнера Федеральная политехническая школа Лозанны

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 2,497
Рецензии: 515

О курсе

Manipulating big data distributed over a cluster using functional concepts is rampant in industry, and is arguably one of the first widespread industrial uses of functional ideas. This is evidenced by the popularity of MapReduce and Hadoop, and most recently Apache Spark, a fast, in-memory distributed collections framework written in Scala. In this course, we'll see how the data parallel paradigm can be extended to the distributed case, using Spark throughout. We'll cover Spark's programming model in detail, being careful to understand how and when it differs from familiar programming models, like shared-memory parallel collections or sequential Scala collections. Through hands-on examples in Spark and Scala, we'll learn when important issues related to distribution like latency and network communication should be considered and how they can be addressed effectively for improved performance. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - read data from persistent storage and load it into Apache Spark, - manipulate data with Spark and Scala, - express algorithms for data analysis in a functional style, - recognize how to avoid shuffles and recomputation in Spark, Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Parallel Programming: https://www.coursera.org/learn/parprog1....

Лучшие рецензии

CC
7 июня 2017 г.

The sessions where clearly explained and focused. Some of the exercises contained slightly confusing hints and information, but I'm sure those mistakes will be ironed out in future iterations. Thanks!

BP
28 нояб. 2019 г.

Excellent overview of Spark, including exercises that solidify what you learn during the lectures. The development environment setup tutorials were also very helpful, as I had not yet worked with sbt.

Фильтр по:

376–400 из 498 отзывов о курсе Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark

автор: Tri N

29 апр. 2018 г.

Excellent course, RDD, DataFrame, Dataset are better discussed in this course than most of Spark books. SparkSQL is light however. The missing star is because some code suggested by the course is more imperative than functional.

автор: Mark M

20 нояб. 2017 г.

Dr. Miller's lectures are clear and concise. An excellent intro to Spark! This would have gotten a 5 star rating from me, if not for the unfortunate inclusion of the awful kmeans problem from the Parallel Programming class.

автор: Adam R

25 авг. 2021 г.

Enjoyed learning about apache spark and optimizations in distributed data processing. I still feel like I've only been introduced to spark. Maybe if there was a Spark 2 course? I would like more familiarity with this tool.

автор: Prateek G

15 апр. 2017 г.

Informative. Although, it a week course on architecture of Spark (especially YARN mode), explaining Spark Jobs, Stages & Tasks would be nice addition. Thank you for sharing knowledge and a wonderful learning experience!

автор: Miguel D

3 апр. 2017 г.

I learned a lot and I really enjoyed the course. What I would improve - reference material from upcoming weeks should be organized (or at least added as recommended reading) if it helps the current week assignment.

автор: Srinivas S

24 окт. 2018 г.

The exercises were below the standard of previous courses. Also the instructions on exercises could have been better. Lost a lot of time figuring out as a new bee in Spark.

автор: Benjamin L T L

3 апр. 2020 г.

some of the questions are unnecessarily specific (i.e. needs to be rounded to 1 decimal and sorted exactly for it to work)

but otherwise, great lecturer and great content

автор: Changli H

17 нояб. 2017 г.

although spark part is taught nicely, it also takes a lot of time to understand the sql part and remember a lot of sql operations as a zero background man in sql

автор: Alisdair W

20 апр. 2017 г.

Great course, I learned a lot through the course. However, some of the lectures are quite long and could do with being broken down in to more smaller segments.

автор: antonin p

25 февр. 2018 г.

Great Sparks introduction. Still sometime unsure about the distributed vs local : should I compute this or that locally ? Or in a distributed manner ...

автор: Eduardo

16 июля 2017 г.

Quite insightful as a first or second approach to Spark. After being introduced to Spark dataframes, what's the value of Scala API over the Python one?

автор: Du L

2 июня 2018 г.

Very good introduction to spark. The assignment would be better if they were more targeted at spark, the underlying working of spark, efficiency etc.

автор: Yilong W

11 мая 2018 г.

Very practical course. You can quite freely apply the course material to the programming assignments. I feel like I really learnt Spark in details.

автор: Vikash S

22 июня 2020 г.

The spark internal details was quite descriptive for few topics. Need to add more topics mostly related to transformation and spark submit flow

автор: MAHESH S

18 июля 2017 г.

Introduction to kmeans or asking to read about kmeans would have helped. I found programming exercises more difficult then some other courses.

автор: Tyler F

6 окт. 2018 г.

Somewhat specific, hard to reuse knowledge but do recommend if you're someone who works with Spark or even just work with someone who does.

автор: Pravina

8 сент. 2018 г.

It would be great if there are 2 assignments covering dataframes and datasets spanning week3 & week4 instead of week 3 with no assignment

автор: P.K

15 июля 2017 г.

Way Much Better Presentation than the previous 2 courses in this Specialization!!!

Dr Heather and M. Odersky are really good professors!!!

автор: Frédéric D

18 июня 2017 г.

With this course, I surely improved my knowledge about Spark... But I am still thinking that Spark is an overly intricate framework.

автор: Valter F

29 мая 2019 г.

I love the indepth aproach at the RDDs. I'd say DataFrames and DataSets required a bit more examples and testing material though.

автор: Björn W

10 апр. 2017 г.

Quizzes in the lecture videos would be nice. Also more, but shorter videos would be enjoyable. Programming assignments very nice!

автор: Evgheni E

24 мар. 2017 г.

The video speed is way to fast, this woman is speaking really fast, first as i slowed the video down at 75% was its ok.

автор: Rudolf Z

29 окт. 2017 г.

Good course. Lectures intoduce main concepts of spark very well. Also good explained how spark works under the hood.

автор: Jose R

8 февр. 2018 г.

Creo que es un curso muy educativo y muy práctico con retos que permiten conocer las herramientas en profundidad

автор: Andrejs A

8 янв. 2020 г.

Specially the last lectures where useful. but there is quite some gap between the lectures and practical task.