Chevron Left
Вернуться к Russian History: from Lenin to Putin

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Russian History: from Lenin to Putin от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Санта-Крузе

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 280
Рецензии: 85

О курсе

In this course, Peter Kenez, Professor Emeritus at UC Santa Cruz, explains the events of modern Russian history and introduces its most significant actors—from Vladimir Lenin to Vladimir Putin....

Лучшие рецензии

JM

Aug 29, 2019

My first ever online course, and what a great start. The Professor leading it was very good at explaining the fasicating and recent history of Russia with a personal touch. 5/5

AG

Mar 26, 2018

Great class and the professor did an excellent job relaying the information. Honestly, I wish it was a little longer and a little more in depth. Definitely, learned a lot.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 85 отзывов о курсе Russian History: from Lenin to Putin

автор: Chris

Feb 04, 2020

The topic was very interesting, and I was very fond of Professor Kenez and his presentation style.

автор: Olga S

Mar 09, 2019

Thank you, professor, for your deep understanding of Russian history and Russian soul.

автор: Armando B M

Jan 29, 2019

Great course!!!! Thank you very much prof. Peter kenez. I've learned a lot!!!!!!

автор: Daniel D

Apr 11, 2018

Está increíble. Gran profesor, gran clase. Thank you very much for this.

автор: Ricardo M A

Apr 07, 2019

I had the feeling of great impartiality in this course.

автор: Elisandra S

May 31, 2018

Wonderful course. Very well structured and dynamic!

автор: Shaleen P

Jun 14, 2018

Very clear and in-depth discussion of events.

автор: Yasiru R

Aug 15, 2018

Good course to learn the Russian History. <3

автор: Derek Z

Jul 14, 2018

I really appreciated Prof. Kenez's knowledge and passion of the topics covered, as well as he style of communication. Great for an introductory course, for someone with no previous knowledge on Russian history. I would recommend taking this course, very interesting. However, a 3 week course may not be long enough to cover 100 years of Russian history. I found the quizzes to be extremely easy (the quiz questions are pretty much all previously asked during the lectures), and the transcripts of the lesson are way off.

автор: John C

Sep 10, 2019

This course gave me a greater understanding of some of the misconceptions of Russia, I came to realize that people are similar the world over. Very interesting course.

автор: Stella M

Dec 23, 2017

A great introduction to Russian history.

автор: Tetiana D

Nov 20, 2017

up to the last lecture it was more or less ok. But the last lecture is outrageous. Almost all of its statements took directly from russian propaganda. If i were more paranoid I would think that it is paid by russia propaganda, but maybe professor watched to much russia today channel. I don't recommend to take this course it, especially last part. It is misleading and full of inaccuracy with facts. If you want more detailed analysis see my post in discussion forum week3

автор: Annie M

Apr 12, 2019

The professor may well know his subject but he cannot lecture. His speech is so slow and the sentences complex, therefore making it difficult to follow. I'll just read the text I bought. Coursera, you failed again.

автор: pierre v

Feb 11, 2018

What a gem of a course! I loved everything about it. When I was a boy in the 1970s, my interest in history was kick started by an ITV series called 'The World at War', with Laurence Olivier as the narrator. It was fascinating to me. The thrill of listening to this series of lectures, reconnected me with the excitement and sense of wonder which I experienced back then. Peter Kenez has so much knowledge on this subject, and his presentation and treatment of the information was fascinating. I gained so much insight into the history of Russia and the events which shaped modern day Russia. Thank you for enriching my life and allowing me to see the world in new ways.

автор: Carol L S

Jan 28, 2020

The material was presented in a very clear and coherent way. I knew a little about Russian history from my study of theatre. This course filled in many gaps and gave me a better understanding of the Russian people--more compassion for them than I already had. The lectures were excellent and the quizzes helped to re-enforce material covered in the lectures. The only thing I found disappointing was that there was no interaction in the discussion forums. The professor interacting with us or TAs interacting with us would have encouraged more students to get involved. In some classes I've learned almost as much in the discussion forums as from the lectures.

автор: Maksim H

Dec 20, 2017

I cannot recommend this course more than giving it five stars. Actually a one-star review have sparked my interest to go through the history of my motherland from the perspective of the foreign professor. Reviewer claimed that professor is biased towards Putin and watches Russia Today all the time. It cannot be further from the truth! After listening week three I am convinced that this "reviewer" is actually a Kremlin-paid-troll whose only aim to discredit this material.

The story is filled with empathy to russian people and I am genuinely grateful to professor Kenez for sharing these lectures and his efforts to shed light on troubled russian history.

автор: Leo P

Aug 13, 2019

I came across this course as a second thought. I don't know anything about Russian History aside from the very basics and what one can catch from watching the news. However, to listen to Peter Kenez speak is a blessing. He is informative without being pedantic and does something that is often taken for granted, he passes on his passion for the subject to the students. I am now incredibly interested in Russian history, even as far as implementing it into my work. Thank you Coursera!

автор: alejandro

Nov 25, 2017

Great lectures with outstanding photo-illustrations. I highly recommend this course because it is delivered without bias, as it is all too easy to view events from your own cultural perspective.

This is the first time the Molotov–Ribbentrop Pact was placed in context of the Allies "tacit approval" of the Nazi invasion of Czechoslovakia and the Nazi assistance to Franco's destruction of Republic Spain.

автор: Howard G M

Mar 14, 2018

Well done. I will be taking a Russian History at Emory this Spring and this course: Russian History: from Lenin to Putin will have prepared me well. For me, taking this course was a bit of a rush since I do not need a certificate and had to reschedule it in order to complete it. That is the only thing I do not care for at Coursera; I am not allowed

автор: Elena

Jun 13, 2019

I'm native Russian and obviously I studied russian history at school and had a short course at the university. This course gave me a deep understanding of the reasons, the connections and the order of historical events, which I couldn't get anywhere else before. This is my first week, but I can't stop watching it and I already got to Week 3.

автор: Robert K

Apr 27, 2018

Major featers: exellent narration, informative and perceptive, unbiased and thought-provoking.

I liked the structure and the way the topics were identified and discussed. My knowledge of Russian history greatly expanded and I learned interesting ways of approaching and explaining historical events.

Thank you.

автор: bonnie

Nov 20, 2019

Having just come away from Russia, I couldn't but take this course. It has in no way disappointed me.. In fact it has upheld a certain mystique and majesty that I've always visualised Russian history as having.

Thank you so much! I shall re visit the course over and over again till I maintain a100% Score!

автор: Gabriel H B

Nov 28, 2017

Pretty good for a short Coursera course, though it's much easier to follow if the subject matter is already familiar to you. To get the most out of it I recommend reading a short book about the history of Russia in advance, such as "Russian History: A Very Short Introduction" by Geoffrey Hosking.

автор: Beatriz m D

May 30, 2018

Ha sido una experiencia maravillosa,le doy las gracias al profesor Kenez por acercarnos un poco más a un país tan bello y a la vez tan hermético como es Rusia.

No hago el ensayo al no optar al certificado.Gracias profesor,saludos,Bea.

автор: Keith D

Jun 15, 2019

This course fully met my expectations and I learned a ton from the class. I feel like I have a more informed viewpoint of Russian history, and why Russians may see world events through a different lens.