Chevron Left
Вернуться к Russian History: from Lenin to Putin

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Russian History: from Lenin to Putin от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Санта-Крузе

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 538
Рецензии: 205

О курсе

In this course, Peter Kenez, Professor Emeritus at UC Santa Cruz, explains the events of modern Russian history and introduces its most significant actors—from Vladimir Lenin to Vladimir Putin....

Лучшие рецензии

RS
14 сент. 2020 г.

I found that course had a central theme, the incompatibility of the Communist structures with an increase in the standard of living, that was well documented from the time of Lenin to that of Putin.

MM
13 апр. 2020 г.

I recommend anyone interested in this period of Russian history to take the course. Professor Kenez is an authority on the period and delivers an excellent overview of the time.

Фильтр по:

151–175 из 205 отзывов о курсе Russian History: from Lenin to Putin

автор: Philip R

18 июня 2018 г.

The volume was a little low unless I used my headphones, which doesn't happen elsewhere? Great content.

автор: William M

8 дек. 2017 г.

Excellent introduction to Russian history, especially to the "short" twentieth century.

автор: Harmanpreet K

7 июля 2020 г.

I thoroughly enjoyed learning from this course and Dr. Kenez is a wonderful teacher.

автор: Cheneil A

3 мая 2018 г.

The subject matter was interesting, and I found the teacher nice to listen to.

автор: Iswarya k

14 июля 2020 г.

Though it was a three week course, it has vast details on Russian History.

автор: Alice E G

1 февр. 2018 г.

Interesting, interactive, varied in the assent form and quick to complete.

автор: Kousay a

18 мая 2018 г.

Enjoyed immensely professor Kenez's scholarly lectures!

автор: Henrietta A

8 июля 2020 г.

The course was really enlightening. I enjoyed it.

автор: DINESH K

18 июля 2020 г.

nice

автор: Novindah S

12 июля 2020 г.

This course is an excellent overview of Russian History. It will definitely help you grasp the most basic bits but you should keep in mind that there will be bias, propaganda, and gatekeeping. So my advice for anyone taking this course is to be critical of everything and stop being intellectually lazy. Radicalize yourself.

автор: Dan K

29 апр. 2020 г.

The professor is a terrible speaker, and his hmm-ing and haa-ing eventually was too much to endure. I decided to just read the transcription, but the transcriptor couldn't make much of what he was saying, either. I'm not speaking of his accent, that was not much of a problem. He just couldn't go through the material in a mostly linear way. I think he should take a look at Professor Shapiro's politics course from Yale. That's how it's done.

автор: Charlie H

6 авг. 2020 г.

I only got six minutes in to the literal first video when the professor began extolling "the greatness of European civilization." That was after completely missing the point of the oft-quoted phrase "Those who do not study history are doomed to repeat this." I don't need this kind of energy in my life.

автор: Marian P

9 дек. 2020 г.

Professor Kenez uses his deep knowledge of Russian history in a compelling presentation of the significant issues, people, events of this period. His lectures conclude with an explicit statement of empathy for all that the Russians have endured, but his appreciation of their suffering is evident throughout. He appears to speak without notes, so intimately familiar he is with the material. I strongly recommend this course for anyone who has the slightest interest in understanding a country which has generated such important contributions to music and literature, and yet has been cast as an enemy of the West for so long.

автор: David D

3 мар. 2021 г.

Definitely a worthwhile course delivered by an excellent lecturer. It's nice to find this perspective to cover a lot of ground from the time of the Russian revolution to the current. Too often there is a strong western bias in recounting history. These lectures tell of the suffering and failures but seem to summarize the different periods objectively. Plus I did enjoy all the pictures and musics and the fact the topics were varied and never too long to be boring.

автор: Otto V

17 апр. 2021 г.

I enrolled in the course looking for ways to keep busy during these pandemic times, thinking that the agenda was quite ambitious. For my delight, the professor was able to cover the topics with enough depth to enhance my knowledge of the political development of Russia. I also perceived that the peer review was a productive exercise where you had the opportunity of getting in contact with the thoughts of a diverse class of more than 35,000 students.

автор: Magdalene W

17 сент. 2020 г.

This course was highly informative and easy to follow. I enjoyed the review quizzes at the end of each week and thought that the freedom given to learners in the final essay was an excellent idea, as it enabled you to write about a subject that specifically interested you. I feel that I have learned plenty from both this course and other learners, whose essays I have marked as part of the course.

автор: Alberto D Á P

28 дек. 2020 г.

In my opinion, this course helped me to get more information about Russian history. I will definitely advise people keen on history, anthropology, sociology or Russian culture to take this lesson. I really enjoyed the explanations given to understand better some events during Russian Empire, the Soviet Union and nowadays Russia. You will not regret taking this course.

автор: Justin C

25 янв. 2021 г.

If you have a love for Russian history then you need to definitely enroll in this course. Professor Kenez does an amazing job teaching the complexity of the Russian Empire, the Soviet Union, and contemporary Russian politics. I have learned so much, I truly hope that Professor Kenez offers another course on Coursera about Russian history.

автор: Mary B S

28 мар. 2021 г.

This course was so intriguing and I really enjoyed taking it! Professor Kenez did a great job explaining this era of Russian history in these video lectures and was great to listen to. I learned a lot and have a much better understanding of contemporary Russia now that I know its history and what has happened.

автор: John W

30 дек. 2020 г.

I found this a most enjoyable course with clear explanations of the causes of the tumultuous events in Russia during the last Century. Prof. Kenez has an undoubted in depth knowledge of his subject which he imparts in a sympathetic, non-judgmental matter, often with a wry sense of humour.

автор: Mary E

29 дек. 2020 г.

I can't say enough about Professor Kenez's class. I never imagined I would receive such detailed information about the history of Russia. Highly recommend this course to anyone who desires more in-depth knowledge about the country of Russia. You won't be disappointed.

автор: Richard B

22 дек. 2020 г.

Fantastic course. The quiz questions throughout are not date/detail specific like other courses and focus on assessing your understand. Love the final essay to bring everything together. Highly recommended.

автор: Avi D

2 мар. 2021 г.

The course was very interesting and I feel I learnt a lot.

but, I found it uncomfortable that in most of the lectures- videos, the professor was shot in a profile to me and not looking straight forward.

автор: María F S S

27 окт. 2020 г.

Realmente disfruté mucho de este curso, los vídeos eran interesantes y la forma de explicar del profesor ayuda mucho a amar la historia y lo que él nos está contando. Me encantó, lo recomiendo mucho :)

автор: Tales M

31 авг. 2020 г.

This is the coolest, most intresting history course I've ever taken on Coursera. I would junt live more bibliographical material during the course. But it was incredible