Chevron Left
Вернуться к Rails with Active Record and Action Pack

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Rails with Active Record and Action Pack от партнера Университет Джонса Хопкинса

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 765
Рецензии: 162

О курсе

You already know how to build a basic web application with the Ruby on Rails framework. Perhaps, you have even taken Course 1, "Ruby on Rails: An Introduction" (we highly recommend it) where you relied on external web services to be your “data layer”. But in the back of your mind, you always knew that there would come a time when you would need to roll up your sleeves and learn SQL to be able to interact with your own relational database (RDBMS). But there is an easier way to get started with SQL using the Active Record Object/Relational (ORM) framework. In this course, we will be able to use the Ruby language and the Active Record ORM framework to automate interactions with the database to quickly build the application we want. In Rails with Active Record and Action Pack, we will explore how to interact with relational databases by using Active Record, a Ruby gem, which Rails uses by default for database access. We will then take a look at what role Active Record plays in the overall request-response cycle, when a client (the browser) requests data from the server, as well as how to submit the data to the server. Of course, when accessing data, security is of paramount importance! We will talk about vulnerabilities such as SQL injection, as well as how to secure access to data by authenticating and authorizing users accessing the data. Take this course to build a Ruby on Rails application with Active Record to automate the detailed SQL interactions with our database....

Лучшие рецензии

AB

Aug 11, 2016

A nice continuation to course 1 of this specialization, deeper dive into RoR, among other things you will learn how to manipulate/display database data and how to authenticate/authorize users!

NL

Dec 17, 2015

Great explanation of not so easy to understand concepts. Lecturer provides good example that can help material better and see how what you've learned can be applied to real world scenarios.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 155 отзывов о курсе Rails with Active Record and Action Pack

автор: Yuri V

Feb 29, 2016

This course continues the Introduction with the same test-driven approach and delicious intensity of the material. Efforts to finish the course will be greatly rewarded.

автор: Steven J

Jun 05, 2016

I really liked writing the authentication myself. I've relied on Devise (and will continue using it mostly) but really got an appreciation for what was going on.

автор: eighty

Apr 02, 2019

A detailed, thorough journey through Rails' model, view, controller framework. I took this after the popular Rails tutorial, which served as a great intro. I learned a huge amount about the main components of Rails - Active Record, Action Controller and Action View. There are no boring code-along videos, just concise lectures with slides and assignments.

This course is not really for beginners. It's challenging, just because of the many potential technical issues you can run into with Ruby, Rails, databases, servers and tests. I recommend having at least six months of programming studies behind you before diving into this course.

The previous course in the series is also a must - even if you think you already know the basics, you'll have important stuff reinforced.

автор: Yifei H

Apr 22, 2018

This is a great course. I had no knowledge in Ruby and web development before this course (I skipped Intro to Rails course which is the first in this specialization). This course has very well designed coding assignment with tests written in RSpec. All four coding assignments all build upon the previous one, so there is no context switch, and they together build up Todo List App. I love the fact this course is very focused on MVC of Rails. I would recommend it to anyone who would love to learn Rails and MVC pattern.

автор: Asfand Y A R

Apr 29, 2017

Amazing course, i had complete Ruby on Rails tutorial by Michael Hartl and i was still doubtful about alot of things but i think this course has put me on the right path and now im really confident and i think i will go all the way, Johns Hopkins university courses are amazing, very good for learning. I highly recommend it to anyone wants to learn Ruby on Rails.

автор: Paul B

Oct 16, 2016

This course is a pretty detailed analysis of Controller and View roles in MVC with all it's syntax and conventions but it's definitely require some additional material for students to find by themselves. Anyway quizes and assignments are amazing - very good practice even for a little bit more advanced students than complete beginners!

автор: Vern

Jan 07, 2017

Great program. Well structured, with lots of additional resources that make for easier self-study. Videos are just the right length to provide the knowledge without being too long and too filled with details. All in all, this is an excellent 2nd course in my Ruby on Rails Web Development skills development.

автор: Scott B

Jan 03, 2017

What is an application without a place to store and retrieve data. I have a moderate amount of experience with SQL from working with SQL Server and Oracle DB, so picking up this material was a natural extension of that experience to leverage a database for a full-featured application.

автор: Edgar J S R

Jan 31, 2017

After this course you'll be able to develop a functional web app using Rails' build-in database. Now you can produce your own data using all the options Rails has to offer; that's nice because you don't depend on external API's to get the back-end stuffs. Recommended!

автор: Milos R

Aug 31, 2016

An example of how a course should look like. It has everything you need to learn :

1) good videos

2) good materials

3) a teacher that is active on the forum

4) very well explained projects

5/5 would recommend :D

Going of to listen third part of this specializations.

автор: Giuseppe V

Feb 28, 2016

Just like the Course about the introduction to ruby this course has helped me to understand more Rails and the active record i really want to say : Thanks! to the professor who give me the opportunity to take this course :D From venezuela! Gracias mi pana :)

автор: Ryan D

Jul 11, 2018

2 things are cerating if you take this course, - you will hate it when you take it. - you will LOVE it when it's over. You will really like where it takes you when it gets over and make you feel really good on how much your skills have improved.

автор: Kat T

Feb 11, 2017

Wonderful course. Thorough instructions with a great level of detail. Great assignments that reinforce the lessons. Would recommend to anyone wanting to learn about Ruby on Rails specifically or Web Development generally.

автор: DUTENGJIE

Jan 23, 2018

I learned so many knowledge from this course, not just the Rails , I also have comprehend the ruby , the ruby-gems and the HTTP/REST protocol. and the assignments are not particularly difficult for the beginners like me.

автор: Shane W

Oct 22, 2016

The first two courses in this series have really rekindled my interest in software development after many years away from it. Kalman does a great job - the lectures are interesting and the assignments are challenging.

автор: Abdurrachman M

Jun 17, 2020

This course is awesome, while the delivery is quite slow, I found it watching it at 1.5x speed and following all the graded assignment help me to ace Rails at my new job which uses Rails as primary Web Dev Framework.

автор: Sukanya S

Dec 10, 2015

Thank you Prof. Kalman Hazins. I like your course very much. It is useful and filled with a lot of information. Thank you for your hard work. I'm really appreciated it. Hope you have more courses on Coursera.

автор: Sarah H

Feb 14, 2018

I have worked with rails for sometime then stopped for a while and after that I took this course as a refreshment, and t really worth the time, actually I learned some new stuff that I did not came across before

автор: jongwon k

Nov 11, 2015

Thank you for your course. I am a penetration tester. I can get a better understanding for your course. After finishing it, I can give more security suggestion about code review and security architecture.

автор: Pantelis D

Aug 11, 2016

A nice continuation to course 1 of this specialization, deeper dive into RoR, among other things you will learn how to manipulate/display database data and how to authenticate/authorize users!

автор: Nikita L

Dec 17, 2015

Great explanation of not so easy to understand concepts. Lecturer provides good example that can help material better and see how what you've learned can be applied to real world scenarios.

автор: Intellisys

Aug 18, 2017

This course teach me a lot of complex things like authentication, nested resources and authorization. This is a great course for someone that want to learn Rails

автор: Carlos I M B

Mar 13, 2016

Awesome course, i have learned a lot about active records, rails database management, action pack, and so on. it's a very completed course.!

автор: Juan P P S

Mar 16, 2016

In this course I got new skills about the Ruby on Rails framework using the incredible Active Record ORM and the Action Pack. Great videos!

автор: Kuolai S

May 04, 2016

The course assignments is hard and takes lots of hours but are valuable to me as it systematically consolidates rails' components for me.