Chevron Left
Вернуться к The R Programming Environment

Отзывы учащихся о курсе The R Programming Environment от партнера Университет Джонса Хопкинса

4.4
Оценки: 887
Рецензии: 232

О курсе

This course provides a rigorous introduction to the R programming language, with a particular focus on using R for software development in a data science setting. Whether you are part of a data science team or working individually within a community of developers, this course will give you the knowledge of R needed to make useful contributions in those settings. As the first course in the Specialization, the course provides the essential foundation of R needed for the following courses. We cover basic R concepts and language fundamentals, key concepts like tidy data and related "tidyverse" tools, processing and manipulation of complex and large datasets, handling textual data, and basic data science tasks. Upon completing this course, learners will have fluency at the R console and will be able to create tidy datasets from a wide range of possible data sources....

Лучшие рецензии

MV

Dec 26, 2018

Very Very Rigorous Course for a beginner on R language and because of its nature, after completing just one course, I feel like I have gained a lot of knowledge and also familiarity with R language.

KV

Jun 18, 2019

A very good course to read and get the valuable content of R language. This is for the students who want to learn and practice the basic and some intermediate concepts of data manipulation.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 226 отзывов о курсе The R Programming Environment

автор: The B M H

Jun 17, 2019

This course uses a software package developed by the instructors for a portion of the required tests. There are serious bugs in this package that make it impossible for students to complete the tasks assigned. Going through the discussion boards, these flaws have been present for at least 2 years -- clearly Johns Hopkins in general, and the instructors in particular, hold the students' time and learning experience in such low regard it borders on contempt.

автор: Paul D

Apr 10, 2018

This course should be removed for two reasons:

1. The only videos are the introduction videos. Everything else is a text-based assignment. This is just lazy. If I wanted to google how commands worked, I can do that without paying for Coursera. There is no instructional material contained in this course.

2. The student is required to submit assignments through a third-party interface that doesn't work. Completed assignments are not given credit. There are many people in the discussion forums saying the same thing.

автор: S S A R

Feb 01, 2018

Swirl doesn't allow some codes even if its correct. '=' is not allowed for example.

автор: Mathieu G

Nov 19, 2017

Not possible to submit programming assignments, this course seems to have a lot of technical issues. Signing out during the first week and un-enrolling the specialization. I'll check again later to see if those technical problems are solved.

автор: David M

Mar 25, 2019

The content is good, but many students (including me) are NOT able to submit assignments with the course "token". I've commented in the course discussion forum about this, and I have opened a support ticket with Coursera, but no one is taking serious initiative to correct the malfunction.

автор: Andrew F

Jun 26, 2017

this course basically just has you run through the widely available SWIRL packages and then gives you a quiz it has poorly prepared you for and charges you for the privilege.

автор: Deleted A

Apr 17, 2017

This course, and the Specialization as a whole, is poorly structured and a rather cursory overview that is unlikely to satisfy serious learners. If the material is completely new to you then it will likely leave you confused as it does not adequately explain the concepts. If you are already somewhat familiar and are looking for deeper dive into R and programming you will be disappointed as the courses just don't have the depth of material needed to gain mastery over the subject.

Your money and time would probably be better spent on a couple of books by Wickham.

автор: Rokas K

Aug 07, 2019

When a number of students ran into an identical problem with an assignment, there were no support or help, for weeks. By the end, we never got any support. A work-around the glitch was found by a student. For a paid course that is not optimal.

автор: Anseh D

Jun 27, 2019

There was no mentor to help.

автор: Shane A

Dec 25, 2017

Not at all engaging. Its like a university lecturers notes without any personal interaction or videos.

автор: Damian S

May 08, 2018

If I wanted to read a book, I would have bought the book.

There are also many "right" ways to code, and the swirl tutorial, while helpful for learning specific syntax, should not grade correct answers as wrong simply because they use a different syntax. It is overly rigid.

автор: Maurizio C

Oct 12, 2017

Great gap between teaching and what is required to pass the course. Unnecessarily difficult.

The didactic material is not compelling.

Not recommended.

автор: Nguyen N T A

Aug 26, 2019

The course dumps a ginormous amount of content onto learners while being extremely poorly structured. The course materials are littered with spelling and formatting errors. There are assignment segments in the course that require R functions that were not covered in the syllabus. Multiple datasets required for stepping through the course materials as well as required assignments were at best not provided by mistake or neglect (datasets.zip file only contains the "Team Standings" data), or at worst provided only with the purchase of the textbook + dataset on top of the Coursera subscription fee. Some of these issues could potentially have been solved by having more responsive instructors in the forum, but they were nowhere to be seen, and there are questions with datasets or swirl token that date back years without replies. Overall, I highly recommend spending your money somewhere else. Perhaps downloading swirl alone with all its free materials without going through this course is a good start.

автор: Nitin S

Jan 15, 2019

Brilliant course to get the basics of data wrangling

автор: Shawn M

Jan 17, 2019

Loved this course! Beware that the material is at an intermediate level, and not really appropriate for beginner R programmers. The final quiz was extremely challenging, as it should be, and very useful.

I give this course six stars and take one away for the automated upload of answers from R (the swirl package). This package /process is really buggy and causes needless grief especially in Lesson 2.

The content of this course is A+++

автор: Alice M

Feb 01, 2019

Solid introduction to R and the tidyverse with very nice assignments to get practice on the command line.

автор: Pulkit D

Jan 04, 2019

very good course. I love it.

автор: Vibha S

Feb 14, 2019

The course was well designed for beginners. It helped me to gain lot of confidence in building my knowledge

автор: Georgios P

Mar 15, 2019

Neat and easy to read introduction!

автор: Vikesh K

Mar 21, 2019

Very good course. The pedagogy and the course content along with the assignments is rigorous and fantastic.

автор: Ivan Y P I (

Dec 07, 2018

The teaching is very practical. Apprciate

автор: Mayank V

Dec 26, 2018

Very Very Rigorous Course for a beginner on R language and because of its nature, after completing just one course, I feel like I have gained a lot of knowledge and also familiarity with R language.

автор: Yang Z

Jan 26, 2019

Very practical course with plenty of practices to get you started data handling in R. Course focus on Tidyverse series of packages which come in handy when dealt with data manipulation. Little is talked about on in-built functions of R and use of functions is not covered.

автор: Rajeev A K

Mar 11, 2018

This is a very good course. We need more practise.

автор: Le D A

Jul 28, 2018

Very usefull