Chevron Left
Вернуться к Quantitative Methods

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Quantitative Methods от партнера Амстердамский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 1,390
Рецензии: 487

О курсе

Discover the principles of solid scientific methods in the behavioral and social sciences. Join us and learn to separate sloppy science from solid research! This course will cover the fundamental principles of science, some history and philosophy of science, research designs, measurement, sampling and ethics. The course is comparable to a university level introductory course on quantitative research methods in the social sciences, but has a strong focus on research integrity. We will use examples from sociology, political sciences, educational sciences, communication sciences and psychology....

Лучшие рецензии

LG

Jan 05, 2018

This course was excellent in all aspects, including the interesting and extensive material, as well as Dr. Annemarie Zand Scholten's brilliant lectures that help students digest and enjoy the content.

AL

May 08, 2018

It is well-structured and informative. The pop up questions are interactive and the animation is fun. I have learned a lot from the video instruction, recommended readings, and assignments. Thanks.

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 482 отзывов о курсе Quantitative Methods

автор: Heater B

Oct 26, 2015

The first time I actually finished a coursera course! The course creators have obviously put a lot of time and effort into creating this course. The lectures extremely well done, the material and assignments are challenging but not impossible and the material is presented in such a way that even qualitative researchers like myself (no know for their passion for quantitative research) can get excited about the material!

автор: Soh W K

Apr 10, 2020

This Course, perhaps is one of the most Important Course that I learnt in my lifetime! It is not easy to go through this course, it requires a lot of logical analysis, deduction, induction, Hypothesis Postulation, and also reading and detecting Good Science versus Sloppy Science! I would recommend it to any Scientist pursuing, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Sociology, Psychology, Political, the method is wonderful!

автор: Megan

Nov 27, 2016

This course is very dense. The videos are short and to the point, making it a great overall review of the material, or very easy to review the challenging portions if it's your first time being introduced to it.

The explanations are very clear, and assume no previous knowledge or subject-specific vocabulary. The illustrations help a great deal with my ability to stay focused, and the digestibility of the content.

автор: Mava S

Apr 16, 2020

I thought the concepts taught in the course were really useful and clearly explained. The assignments were interesting and really pushed us to apply the knowledge learned in the course to real life research. I just regret there wasn't a correct answer with explanation provided for each quiz and assignment. It would help those who take this course to really learn the concepts beyond getting a certificate.

автор: R. E

Mar 31, 2018

Useful information presented in a step-by-step, easy to follow way. I stayed motivated throughout the course and was pleased with the content. Moreover, the additional interviews after each week extended the material from the virtual classroom to the real world of scientific research. This course is a solid introduction to Quantitative Methods. I plan to continue and finish the entire Specialization.

автор: Mayte V

Dec 12, 2016

Me ha gustado mucho realizar este curso. No ha sido facil para mi, que no soy experta en la materia, y me hubiera gustado tener acceso a tutorias personalizadas, a alguna via de pregunatr dudas a los/as profesores, pero salvo esa "deficiencia! eu ela entiendo, estoy muy satisfecha. Las clases, los materiales, los ejercicios.... permiten un aprendizaje más que aceptable sobre metodos de investigacion.

автор: Kira K

Sep 08, 2015

Excellent! The course is extremely well thought over and executed, even in minor aspects of the course, like scripts, additional pieces of information, exams, created just for practice with feedback, great exercises. The content is highly relevant, well structured and illustrated, clearly laid out. The course is very challenging, thought provoking and stimulating, though it is not an easy course.

автор: Chuwen Z

Aug 22, 2019

This course is great because it teaches me a lot things about basic academic research. From the philosophy to the ethic principles we are required to follow. The assignments are interesting because it not only checks our knowledge but also trains our writing and expressing capabilities . The peer review section give me an opportunity to receive more different perspective which are wonderful.

автор: Andrae A

Oct 27, 2017

This was a great introduction to Quantitative research methods. It is not an easy course by any means, but if you take notes as you watch the videos and do the practice tests, you will do fine. After taking this course, I decided to take the rest of the courses to complete the Research Specialization. If you want to learn about research and statistics, this course is a great starting point.

автор: Giulia L

May 13, 2020

I would implement a part regarding the analysis of the data - just talking, for instance, about the types of statistical analysis, the parameters that are most useful, or how to represent data in different graphics.

However, very well done. I enjoyed that course and I also like the first part on the epistemology, etc... which I think is important to know.

Thank you for such a good course!!

автор: DINH M

Oct 03, 2016

I must admit that the assignments were more demanding than expected but overall this course is fabulous. The videos are extremely well done and Anne-Marie makes complicated points understandable for everyone, with lively and fun examples. Expect to spend some time on the written assignments (several research articles to study) if you want to completely take advantage of the course.

автор: Eren J G

Feb 09, 2020

This was a really solid interaction to Quantitative Research Methods. However, please be aware that the course content is very packed and that every word that comes out of Annemarie Zand Scholten's mouth is quite important, so no fillers out there. With that considered, this course may take a little bit more effort than you think it needs. I really enjoyed the extra interviews.

автор: Tay J

Aug 07, 2017

This was a great course overall. It had quite a lot of content, which is rare of an online course. All the contents were explained in enough detail. The assignments demanded more time than many other online courses but were feasible based on the course content. I've completed 8 courses on Coursera so far and this was by far one of the best! Thank you for creating this course.

автор: Timija F

Apr 08, 2017

Quantitative Methods is a great course to get started with the topic. Since there is a lot of information especially if you don't have previous knowledge about the topics, the course handles it with simple examples that occur. If you are interested in more information there is bonus material provided on the end of each week which is very interesting.

автор: Amanda G

Jun 12, 2020

I learned a lot in this course. The material was concise as well as informative which is one of the reasons people like using this type of course. The material was more complicated than I expected which was a welcome challenge. The instructor was also very engaging. I enjoyed it and left with applicable valluable knowledge that I didn't have before.

автор: Kaushik M

Jun 04, 2020

What a wonderful course...! I admire the instructor and her team for offering such a wonderful course.

Highlights: 1. The Course ensures that learner is on track. 2. Assignments really make you think and apply the learnings. 3. Able to download video transcripts is a wonderful way of scaffolding the learners.

I really loved this course.

автор: Safdar R

Jul 05, 2020

This was a beautifully designed course. Prof. Anna Murry puts every complicated concept of social research in a simple(but not simplistic) and crisp form. The examples for every situation and concept made this course highly important for people who want to pursue social research in their academic life. Thanks for bringing this course.

автор: Thomas G S

Mar 15, 2016

An excellent course that really does provide you a challenge. Some of the courses I have done on different MOOCs were rather too easy, but this one did push me a lot. It informs you in a clear, but detailed manner. It is necessary to do extra reading and to review videos and notes in order to complete assignments. Best course yet

автор: Oyku A A

May 06, 2020

Great course with a lot of quality learning material. The assignments were challanging but did a great job at teaching the concepts. As a person who had zero knowledge on research methods in social science, I'm now equipped with a lot of information and practical experience. Special thanks to Prof. Annemarie Zand Scholten!

автор: Judith T

Feb 09, 2016

I really enjoyed the course and I learned a great deal. The course design is thoughtful and well-carried-out. The illustrations are delightful! The instructor is obviously expert on the topic as well as in teaching and information is delivered very clearly. I will be building on this new knowledge for some time to come!

автор: Richard R

Jun 20, 2016

This tutor is very knowledgeable. I like the way she communicates and connects things. She seems to have very good hold over the topics she deals with.

I especially liked the interviewees she brought in to give us an 'expert' or extra perspective on the topics of each week she dealt with. kudos to this professor.

автор: Anastasiya K

Feb 08, 2020

This course is really one of the best courses i've ever seen! Thank you, UvA professors and other cool people for creating this course. And thank you, Annemarie – lectures were understandable even for me as person who don't understand english so well (aurally). Now i can go to next – qualitative methods course :)

автор: Ibrahim N

May 23, 2017

This course actually was a revolutionary one for me. By the help of "Quantitative Methods" now I have some ideas how to star my Ph.D. research in the upcoming year. The format was perfect and pretty straightforward. Annemarie Zand Scholten is just perfectly explaining the basic ideas of the quantitative methods.

автор: Isheunoziva

May 16, 2020

For anyone contemplating carrying out research, writing a research paper or just reviewing academic publications, this course is a necessity. The lecturer is good with her stuff, and by the time you complete the final lecture, you will be confident to both critically review other people's work and your own.

автор: Robert S

Jan 12, 2018

This course was a nice introduction to quantitative methods. I have previously taken university-level courses in quantitative methods, and was taking this course as a refresher, particularly in research design and sampling. I found it achieved this purpose. The lecturer was great: very engaging and clear.