Chevron Left
Вернуться к Quantitative Methods

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Quantitative Methods от партнера Амстердамский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 1,305
Рецензии: 445

О курсе

Discover the principles of solid scientific methods in the behavioral and social sciences. Join us and learn to separate sloppy science from solid research! This course will cover the fundamental principles of science, some history and philosophy of science, research designs, measurement, sampling and ethics. The course is comparable to a university level introductory course on quantitative research methods in the social sciences, but has a strong focus on research integrity. We will use examples from sociology, political sciences, educational sciences, communication sciences and psychology....

Лучшие рецензии

LG

Jan 05, 2018

This course was excellent in all aspects, including the interesting and extensive material, as well as Dr. Annemarie Zand Scholten's brilliant lectures that help students digest and enjoy the content.

AL

May 08, 2018

It is well-structured and informative. The pop up questions are interactive and the animation is fun. I have learned a lot from the video instruction, recommended readings, and assignments. Thanks.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 440 отзывов о курсе Quantitative Methods

автор: James B

Jul 22, 2019

Found Annemarie Zand Scholten's presentation outstanding. The lean combination of simple supplemental illustrations with clear, condensed live narration was perfect for learning, keeping cognitive and visual load to a minimum and using each 'channel' (listening, viewing) to best effect. In combination with the possibility to save notes and use full transcriptions, it offered a lot of ways to study and review. A small critical note: it would be nice to know the reason for wrong answers on the final exam (there was no screencast or explanation). That leaves a learner curious :) Now - on to the other four courses in the specialty!

автор: Eva D

May 02, 2018

Excellent course. The lectures were very clear and the quiz questions that were embedded in the videos supported my understanding of the materials. The same is true for the assignments, the quizzes as well as the peer graded assignments.

I also want to say that I really enjoyed the illustrations on the slides. They were not only funny and sweet but really helped making the material easier to understand.

The interviews at the end of every module were very interesting and provided further insight into the respective topics.

Thank you to the entire team! It is obvious that you put in a lot of work into producing this online course.

автор: Vic D

Feb 10, 2018

This course was on a topic I have never been exposed to and will be necessary for ongoing research work. I was both amazed and gratified by the way that the University of Amsterdam and Professor Annemarie Zand Scholten conducted the course and imparted knowledge. The difficulty of the material for me was in the language and the newness of the content that was made quite easy to follow. The quizzes, assignments and tests were at the right level and built to a crescendo. Really can't say enough good things but will say that it was everything I needed and delivered with the highest professionalism than I had expected. Kudos!

автор: Fariza A T

Mar 24, 2016

Excellent organisation of the course! The content is also well thought and presented. i personally clarified many vague questions related to variables, measurements and research ethics. I did have the quantitative methods course at the university, in any case some blank spots were left, so this course was helpful. It is a useful course for revising, but I do not know how total beginners feel about it. If I were a beginner I would have some difficulties probably. It could relate to my personal "slowness" to grasp material like this.

Thank you Annemarie! I really like your lecturing/teaching style.

автор: Tyson P d M U

Nov 27, 2017

This was my first MOOC experience and only my second online class experience. I was entering with a little bit of reservation; however, I was extremely impressed and pleased both by the professor, course, and overall specialization in general by the University of Amsterdam. All-in-all, I strongly believe the dedicated work by Dr. Annemarie Zand Scholten, the course creator and professor, along with the whole team did a superb job. I certainly recommend it to anyone interested in research methods, statistics, or better preparing for graduate-level work and research in general.

автор: Luis M A d C

Jul 07, 2019

A lot I was previously exposed to. A lot I learned intrinsically through school and univeristy. And even more background and deep, embedded knowledge than I expected.. of which I knew nothing about!

The only note I have is that I had to rush through this course because I still have to do course 2 in order to be accepted into a Master in Vrije University, so I couldn't soak in everything I wanted. However, I was able to write most of it down and will refer to it forever, in hopes of retaining this precious knowledge!

A huge, wholesome thank you to whole team!

автор: 赵秀艳

Oct 08, 2015

I learned much more in this course than other courses about quantitative methods. It is clear and useful and inspiring. The quizzes are very good, because they are not only about konwledge,but also about whether you can apply the knowledge. And the interviews are very good too, which give us more information in different subjiects, or from different perspectives. But I feel the speaker's speaking speed is a little fast, and I hope that there will be exercise or quizzes in which we are given situation,and asked to come up with RQ, methods, analysis, etc.

автор: Celina T C

Dec 07, 2019

This is an excellent course that I widely recommed, it is very well explained by the instructors, all the assignments really help you to understand the knowledge and apply it in practical cases. Reviewing your fellow learners gives you a opportunity to be critical and strengthen your knowledge. Also you have bonus videos at the end of eac module with academic experts in the subject. And I also want to say that the instructor explanations are enriched with very nice illustrations and diagrams that help you a better understanding!

автор: kamlalbel n

Oct 12, 2016

Of all the lectures i have come across, (along with social psychology course of Wesleyan University), this one stands out, the profound depth and the sheer amount of information packaged, in simple language without simplifying, it's one of the best course i have come across, the instructor is very eloquent and articulate, its stimulating and interesting, i can't ask for more, thank you.

P.S. though i listen to all the lectures, making notes - as i'm preparing for my psychology research methodology exam-, i'm a non-active participant.

автор: Stephanie S

Feb 22, 2016

This course is excellent! I found the content of very high quality, the lecture videos are very clear and easy to understand. What I find remarkable however, is the quality of the exams and assignments! The staff have put in a lot of effort in creating questions and assignments which really test your understanding and knowledge with a clever marking system which always works out to give you a fair mark even when the assignments are peer reviewed. Well done to Anne-Marie and the other staff who put together this course :)

автор: Andreas Z

Nov 08, 2017

I discovered this course by chance after having done UvAs excellent statistics courses, in which I enrolled for refreshing my memory. Being a physicist by education (got my Master degree in the 1990s) many concepts of this course were familiar but new at the same time. The material presented is probably mandatory for students of the social sciences but not less relevant for any practitioner with a math/engineering/natural sciences background. Thank you very much for keeping me busy on all those wonderful evenings!

автор: Apoorva V S

Dec 19, 2015

This is a course that is well thought out, informative, descriptive, and enjoyable! I was excited to start each new week of Quantitative Methods, and to learn more about research methods! I definitely recommend this course to anyone who is interested in research, and this will help strengthen your basics in quantitative methods. I commend Prof. Annemarie Zand Scholten, and the rest of the team from UAmsterdam for bringing a wonderful course to the Coursera platform! I can't wait to start & finish the rest!

автор: Karen l

Nov 25, 2017

This was a clearly structured and clearly presented course. The lecturer, the explanations and the examples used also well supported the course content. I would highly recommend this course to those new to the subject. For some constructive criticism, I noted that some of the questions in the tests in particular were somewhat strangely worded which sometimes made me question what exactly you were trying to get at. I'd suggest simpler and more precise wording to avoid that. All round, great course though.

автор: Ahmed R

Aug 04, 2017

My deepest Gratitudes to Assistant Professor

Annemarie Zand Scholten.

for her amazing work ( well-prepared lectures with lot's of assignments to solve in addition extra reading links and bonus videos are very helpful and very beneficial.

To sum up, the course is a great experience if anyone is interested in obtaining and gaining useful information and knowledge about Social Sciences further, Quantitative Methods.

Finally, I am so excited to finish the entire track one course done 4 to go.

автор: Claudia L

Jan 24, 2016

Funny, useful, clear and serious too. I loved it. Many methodology courses before, but this one addresses also ethics on research practices and History of philosophy of science. simply I adored it and learned a lot. I strongly recommend it. It is so useful for my work and my everyday life. Interviews with real researchers and revising real publications helped me to conect contents with my inmediate reality.. Thanks to all team and congratulations for such a great course.

автор: Ivan J S L

Mar 27, 2020

I enjoyed my enrolment in this course. I wanted to be refreshed in quantitative methods, from my classes in university, but I didn't know there was just a lot to be reminded of! There is a lot of terms, but I enjoyed it because I love keeping notes. The pdf transcribed notes were a really huge help. The instructor, Annemarie Scholten, is really fun to listen to, and very bright. I recommend this course, especially to teachers, writers, and young researchers like myself.

автор: Stephanie d R

Feb 21, 2016

The course convenor is lively, personable and enthusiastic, which helps keep the learner engaged and interested.

All the concepts discussed are exemplified explicitly via simple case studies, so that learners can make sense of new, abstract knowledge.

The learning material is broken down into logically sequenced, bite-sized chunks, and there are plenty of concept visualisations - the illustrations are great!

Thank you, Annemarie and Team, this is a fantastic course.

автор: Matthew L

Jan 31, 2019

This was my first MOOC - I was really impressed with the level of detail in the lectures and I found the bonus videos to be really interesting and insightful. The short quizzes throughout the lecture videos helped me to focus on the content of each video, and the assignments were fun and really made me reflect on the content of the lectures. I thought the lecturer prepared very well, and seemed to genuinely enjoy the content which I really appreciated.

автор: Tom C

May 23, 2019

A great introduction to social science methods. I'm a philosophy of technology PhD student who was in desperate need of learning the fundamentals of social science methods and this course definitely delivered. The course is clearly structured and presents its material in a logical, engaging manner. Would recommend to anyone that wants (or needs to) learn how to conduct and evaluate solid social science. Plus, there's plenty of cat animations!

автор: Linda.Zh

Jun 04, 2017

It is a fabulous course. It helps me to understand basic concepts in quantitative research methods, and the way how scientific discoveries should work and actually works. Most important of all, I have benefited greatly from professor Scholten's clear and logic style of lecturing and well-designed assignments, which has developed my evaluative skills in applying the new knowledge to assess the methodological quality of real research work.

автор: Shklyaeva O

Dec 18, 2017

This course was just amazing! I love the way it is structured and especially the way the matherial learned was reflected in the tasks for each week. It is nothing like the formal education I've got in my country and I'm really grateful for an opportunity to learn form greatest minds while sitting at home. Thank you so much for the structured fundamental information and the additional interviews which were very valuable!

Best of luck!

Olena

автор: Ilina I

Feb 07, 2016

An excellent course! Quantitative methods are very well explained, starting from philosophical roots. I liked a lot the challenging tasks and peer review principal. By checking my peers' work I was able to learn several times more than from just going through the videos and completing my own work. I enjoyed the whole design of the course, including the professional illustrations and graphic design work. Great thanks to the whole team!

автор: Kerry

Mar 09, 2020

Excellent management of this course! The animated lectures kept me interested and assisted with a thorough explanation of content. Great examples! The sessions with interviews from experts was an added bonus. The peer grading exercises provided additional opportunity for me to study and strengthened my knowledge. I applaud the facilitator and highly recommend this course to persons interested in learning about quantitative methods!

автор: Heater B

Oct 26, 2015

The first time I actually finished a coursera course! The course creators have obviously put a lot of time and effort into creating this course. The lectures extremely well done, the material and assignments are challenging but not impossible and the material is presented in such a way that even qualitative researchers like myself (no know for their passion for quantitative research) can get excited about the material!

автор: Soh W K

Apr 10, 2020

This Course, perhaps is one of the most Important Course that I learnt in my lifetime! It is not easy to go through this course, it requires a lot of logical analysis, deduction, induction, Hypothesis Postulation, and also reading and detecting Good Science versus Sloppy Science! I would recommend it to any Scientist pursuing, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Sociology, Psychology, Political, the method is wonderful!