Chevron Left
Вернуться к Applied Text Mining in Python

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Applied Text Mining in Python от партнера Мичиганский университет

4.2
звезд
Оценки: 3,655

О курсе

This course will introduce the learner to text mining and text manipulation basics. The course begins with an understanding of how text is handled by python, the structure of text both to the machine and to humans, and an overview of the nltk framework for manipulating text. The second week focuses on common manipulation needs, including regular expressions (searching for text), cleaning text, and preparing text for use by machine learning processes. The third week will apply basic natural language processing methods to text, and demonstrate how text classification is accomplished. The final week will explore more advanced methods for detecting the topics in documents and grouping them by similarity (topic modelling). This course should be taken after: Introduction to Data Science in Python, Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, and Applied Machine Learning in Python....

Лучшие рецензии

JR

4 дек. 2020 г.

Excellent course to get started with text mining and NLP with Python. The course goes over the most essential elements involved with dealing with free text. Definitely worth the time I spent on it.

CC

26 авг. 2017 г.

Quite challenging but also quite a sense of accomplishment when you finish the course. I learned a lot and think this was the course I preferred of the entire specialization. I highly recommend it!

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 705 отзывов о курсе Applied Text Mining in Python

автор: Alex G

9 янв. 2021 г.

This course is a headache. Much of the lecture videos have errors that are lazily corrected with popups. The assignments can be incredibly buggy with little help from the forums. Even worse these bugs have existed since the courses creation 3 years ago and they're still present. How have they not been addressed yet? It's unacceptable. If you're taking this for the specialization, then fine. Otherwise this is a strong pass.

автор: Przemek P

22 июля 2020 г.

For me it's the 7th Course completed on Courserea and by far the worst.

The topics covered by course are explained in an unclear way, with fast pace.

There are too many topics and too little time to explain them.

Lecturer constantly uses shortcuts and chaining when explaining new concepts.

Lecturer codes in a un-datascience way, ommiting dataframes and apply family functions, constantly looping trough lists instead.

And most annoying of all - you spend hours digging through forum to finish assignments, because each instruction is written in a very, very unclear way and autograder is set to accept only one anwer. Belive me, it's very frustrating - take a look at the forum of this course.

автор: Gregory B

22 дек. 2017 г.

I hope that the author of this course is fired. I had hoped for more review and exercises on topics such as sentiment and topic analysis, things that are PRACTICAL. Instead the focus was on things like document path similarity, part-of-speech tagging, and counting words in spam vs. ham documents. Adding to the frustration is the autograder, and the arcane formats for submitting answers. Wish that I could give this less than 1 star, it definitely earned it.

автор: Pablo B

25 июля 2020 г.

Worst course of the

specialization. The lectures were so shallow for the level required to approve. I learn from internet more than from this course. Also the automatic grader is out of date and full of bugs. Do not recommend at all this course.

автор: Benjamin C

5 авг. 2020 г.

I was expecting to learn at least something

автор: Maruf H

18 окт. 2017 г.

Short and concise introduction to text mining and natural language processing. The presentation of the instructor is very good. The course could be organized in a better way, more course material should be added. I like the assignments so much, they taught me a lot although I think there have some problem with the Grader. Overall it's a recommended course for a CS student.

автор: Ben K

26 июня 2018 г.

Would love to see these courses have more practice questions in each weeks lesson. Would be helpful for repetition sake, and learning vs only doing each question once in the assignments.

автор: Carl B

20 сент. 2017 г.

Excellent course! Video lectures are high quality, with realistic problems and applications. Exercises are reasonably challenging, and all quite fun to do! Strongly recommend this course

автор: atul s

11 июня 2020 г.

Course needs to be taught better. Assignments were way too difficult. Usually this happened in 1 out of the 4 weeks in all the previous courses of this specialisation. This course had all assignments having students do lots of searching online and the forums. Other learners comments turned out to be a lifesaver. This should not be the case for the entire course.

автор: David M

26 февр. 2021 г.

I felt i learnt quite a lot, However some parts of the assignments hadn't been explained at all in the course videos. I didn't feel the assignments were well explained.

автор: Javier e p

23 дек. 2020 г.

Regretfully, this course has not kept the pace of the rest in the specialisation course. The learning material is not good and I have to look for external material in Internet to understand the matters. Also I had to spend too much time just figuring out how to get the assignments passed by the autograder, instead of spending the time solving good assignments.

автор: Suhas A B

30 янв. 2021 г.

Take this course only as part of the specialization. It has good introduction to NLTK but tends to jump to advanced concepts without much teaching. If you are new to the topic you may struggle. If you are not familiar with the concepts in course 3 of the specialization you may not know what is expected of you.

автор: Carlos F P

3 окт. 2019 г.

Autograder is a disadvantage that sometimes can take many hours to figure out. Also, this course was a let down compared to the previous in the specialization. I wish there were more examples.

автор: Moustafa S

10 авг. 2020 г.

the materials are out dated like hell, but meh at least i got the basics

автор: Aaron V

19 февр. 2021 г.

The course could be much better if somebody would read through the discussion comments and make appropriate changes to the wording in lab assignments.

I would not have completed the lab assignments without reading through several of the course discussion comments. Many of these comments have been there for years, yet no improvement to the course material.

автор: Sudhakant P

3 июня 2020 г.

Week 2 and Week 3 are OK. But Week 1 and Week 4 are Horrible. All the other courses in this specialization are amazing. But this one, I don't think so. If you really want to learn NLP, go for other sources. This course is just like a revision for the ones who are already pretty good with NLP.

автор: Gerrit v W

21 нояб. 2020 г.

Compared to the first three courses in the specialization (which were all excellent) this course is total shite. The instructor just glosses over concepts at a very high level and clearly put little thought or effort into planning them. The only thing about the course that was remotely positive were the assignments. They were all poorly worded but by completing them I did learn several interesting/useful applications of Gensim and NLTK. Unless your goal is completing the specialization I wouldn't waste my time with the course. It's by far the worst Coursera course I've taken. Shame on the University of Michigan for putting their name on this course. It reflects poorly on them. I recommend they either remove it from the specialization or redo it.

автор: Saeed V

19 сент. 2020 г.

This course is a real waste of time! They try to teach you how to swim without water involvement!!

I like the lecturer and his still in the first and second weeks. But, starting from 3rd week, the lecturer teaches nothing. He explains some basic concepts and you should answer the detailed/technical coding assignments. The assignments have nothing to deal with the lectures. The lectures have zero to very limited coding explanation, even though the course name has "APPLIED" and "PYTHON". I learned nothing from the lectures but I passed both 3rd and 4th assignments with 100, thanks to StackOverflow and online resources. Plus, outdated auto grader and material!

I am wondering who gives this course 5 stars. Fake reviews?

автор: Vladimir V

14 авг. 2017 г.

A complete waste of time. You are better off Googling the concepts as the explanations are absolutely inadequate. The homework is nice and challenging but the material covered in the lectures does not prepare you to complete it. You are pretty much on your own. Too bad that you need to take this course to complete the specialization. Definitely not worth the $80. Very disappointed!!!!

автор: Markus M

24 сент. 2017 г.

One of the worst courses I have ever attended. The subject is treated on the surface.

The exercises are sometimes not covered in the lectures. The auto-grader is badly configured.

It was annoying and frustrating to do the exercises. Sometimes an untold oderering of the results was expected. Sometimes an untold normalization has to be done.

автор: Nathan R

16 окт. 2017 г.

The professor is wooden. The quizzes are ridiculously easy. The programming assignments nearly impossible. Beware the hidden workings of the auto-grader. If you're very lucky, one of the other students will prompt the TAs to action in the forums. This is, by far, the worst course in this specialization.

автор: usama i

7 янв. 2021 г.

Other courses of this Specialization are very good but not this one. The main Instructor of this could have done a better job and grading of assignments has too much issues i would have chosen any other NLP course if it wasn't for this Specialization.

автор: Will W

23 авг. 2017 г.

Honestly, I was pretty disappointed in this course. Assignments consistently took much longer than indicated, in large part because of recurrent problems with the autograder and unspecified requirements in assignment instructions.

автор: RAUL G & F - L & R E

13 апр. 2018 г.

The professor needs to prepare students better for exams and assigments. Too few lectures.

автор: Xing W

28 окт. 2017 г.

The video is still in python 2. Very limited instructions.